We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bleak House Museum

Bleak House Fort Road, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
+44 1843 862224
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good location and could be so much better

Bleak House is an invented name. Yes, Charles Dickens stayed here, as he did in so many seaside... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Lissa C
,
London, United Kingdom
Quirky experience

On a wet day in Broadstairs we were looking to kill some time & stumbled on the Bleak House Tours... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2017
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Read all 79 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel "David Copperfield".
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Bleak House Fort Road, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1843 862224
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bleak House is an invented name. Yes, Charles Dickens stayed here, as he did in so many seaside towns all over southern England. You can see his desk overlooking the sea and the dining room where he overate and a few framed photographs and documents...More

Thank Lissa C
A TripAdvisor Member
124
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

On a wet day in Broadstairs we were looking to kill some time & stumbled on the Bleak House Tours. Tour is not the right word as we were greeted by a young lady in Dickensian costume & trainers & directed to Charles Dickens' study...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 April 2017

to be honest visited Bleak house as Dickens house was shut. Tourist info directed us to Bleak house. As were mainly interested in Dickens, the smuggler exhibition was fairly interesting but nothing special. The dickens study again was good to see but we felt the...More

2  Thank mick1253
Reviewed 18 April 2017

If you are in Broadstairs and are looking for something to do this is a good way to wile away an hour. Some of the mannequins have seen better days but the is some good stuff to make the visit worthwhile.

1  Thank julianeagle
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Smugglers museum in the cellar and tour of where Charles Dickens stayed. Original desk in study and writings framed on the wall.

1  Thank verity991
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House.

Reviewed 4 April 2017

£4 each is too much for what is on offer here compared to other venues around the country which have a lot more interesting exhibits

Thank penfolds_bin_95
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House.

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Visited this building with 'Great Expectations' - Sadly, the place is very run down and in need of plenty of TLC. We were drawn to Bleak House because of the Dickens Connection and expected it to be a wonderful experience - but it was not....More

2  Thank TOBScully
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

We are saddened to hear you felt this way. We do pride ourselves here a Bleak House in exceeding expectations of our guests and thousands visit each year giving us wonderful reviews.

Reviewed 16 November 2016

My wife had a cream tea here on an unseasonably warm day and sat outside overlooking the garden.We didn't visit the museum so can't comment on that but what we saw of the house impressed us and the service was excellent

Thank Mick853
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House.

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Food mediocre, bar and hotel ok. So pretentious it calls itself Bleak House Castle. OTT to say the least. Went for a meal, never again.

Thank martyn h
Bleak H, General Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2016

Dear Martyn, Thank you for taking time to review Bleak House, however I am bit confused as we do not serve meals here? Maybe you have the wrong venue.

Reviewed 22 October 2016

great little museum home of dickens and has lovely gardens also the bleak house is also a hotel so you can stay their.

Thank Suzi_Davison
Bleak H, Front Office Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon here at Bleak House.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wyatt & Jones
717 reviews
.07 km away
The Tartar Frigate Restaurant
717 reviews
.07 km away
Restaurant 54
491 reviews
.12 km away
Albarino Tapas Restaurant and Bar
417 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Viking Bay
628 reviews
.07 km away
The Little Art Gallery
40 reviews
.08 km away
Holy Trinity Church Broadstairs
10 reviews
.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Travelwise853
3 March 2016|
Answer
Response from shirley a | Reviewed this property |
Hi it's open Monday to Saturday 11.00 - 5.00 pm
0
Votes