We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 16:30
Description:

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a...

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk.

If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.26*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 343 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 201
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Day out

Great way to spend a couple of hours viewing a wide variety of indigenous species in lovely native forest- saw kiwi, kaka, kakapo, Takahe, kakariki and kokako, piwakawaka, and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
MRA12016
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great way to spend a couple of hours viewing a wide variety of indigenous species in lovely native forest- saw kiwi, kaka, kakapo, Takahe, kakariki and kokako, piwakawaka, and Ghekkos, but the tuatara and Hihi were hiding. Heard lots of tuis and watched huge eels being fed! Take a warm jacket as it can be cold in the forest.

Helpful?
Thank MRA12016
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been meaning to stop here for many years, so made it a priority on our way back from Welly. Arrived just in time to hear and see all about the baby kiwi. Watched the white kiwi chasing the brown kiwi, certainly move fast. We agree with previous comments that it was hard to see some of the birds. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne F
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My brother resides by in Palmerston North took me to this wildlife centre and is well worth a visit especially if you are interested in Native New Zealand birdlife. It was fantastic to see saddle backs and a hand reared Kokako which one is unlikely to see in the bush. This is not just about seeing caged birds however. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnieMac16
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at 9.30am on the way to Napier, this was a perfect stop to stretch the legs and keep master 5 from going crazy. The smaller walk through the bush is beautiful, don't get your hopes up for spotting birds in the aviaries... but if you do see one it's a treat. The enclosed aviary you can walk through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwifire66
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely bush here but try to time your visit for the talks throughout the day to get the most out of it. In summer the birds are often very quiet.eels are a must see. Cafe food is dreadful.

Helpful?
Thank rodjaneduncan
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So many of our visitors agree that they love seeing the eels! Can you email me directly regarding the cafe food as I'm really keen to understand how we can rectify this - helen@pukaha.org.nz More 

Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The weather had been lousy and the girls were due to go back to Auckland so we went prepared to get wet. When we got there the weather wasn't bad afterall. We made sure we were there in time for the eel and Kaka feeding. People don't realise that you have to move quietly and it helps that you do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review -lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable time with your grandchildren here at Pukaha. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely day out at Pukaha, allow yourself plenty of time to look at the Aviaries, there are not hundreds of birds in the aviaries & your might not see the birds at first, so allow the time to look again later! We went into the Kiwi House at different times & saw the White Kiwi " Manukura"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare B
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha - and for taking plenty of time during your visit! We do agree that in order to get the most out of your visit that you allow plenty of time to go back if necessary if you don't see the birds immediately. More 

Wales
Level Contributor
376 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

probably my fault as I had heard so many good things about this place and they had built up my expectations. We wandered around the aviaries but several were completely empty. The free flight area was hugely disappointing as we could only spot bellbirds despite sitting quietly and hoping others would appear. We did see the white Kiwi but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank filligirl
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of PUkaha - sorry that you left us a bit disappointed. We don't have any empty aviaries at present but our birds can be difficult to see at times. It can be a tricky thing to balance enough vegetation in the aviary to allow the birds to feel at home and... More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We thought we'd spend about an hour at Pukaha, we ended up staying over 4 hours and only left because it was closing time. $20 entry price was well worth the experience. The walk is easy, on mostly flat and wide gravel pathways through the bush. There's an optional walk up the hill to a scenic lookout. Aviaries are only... More 

Helpful?
Thank dae11
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha - so pleased that you could stay longer with us as it can take some time to see all the birds in the aviaries. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were disappointed in this stop, but perhaps a combination of high expectations and unpredictable wildlife conspired against us -- perhaps can't blame the venue. The setting is lovely for a walk and the cafe provided decent value for lunch. We found the entry price a bit steep (we have 3 teens with us but they wouldn't give us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RebeccainGuelph
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us. While we appreciate your comments about the entry price we do have a childs price which goes up to 15 years old ($6) and after that either a student rate at $17 or adult price for non students. Our 7 daily talks are spaced from 10.30 until 4pm. Our kiwi will... More 

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?