We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehenge Aotearoa

51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
+64 6-377 1600
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
The acoustics are amazing

We visited this Stonehenge to do some filming and were astounded by the views and acoustics... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Barry D
,
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Surprising

Visited this place because it was on a list of top ten things to see near Wellington. So... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2017
Michelle H
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take a tour into the past and discover the secrets of lost civilizations. Although similar in size and appearance to the Stonehenge on Salisbury plain, Stonehenge Aotearoa is not a replica. It is a complete and working structure designed for its precise location in New Zealand. Seasonal so check the website. Generally as follows: Peak summer: everyday, spring and autumn: Wed to Sun, Winter: weekends. Open most public holidays.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour” (26 reviews)
“worth a visit” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Stonehenge to do some filming and were astounded by the views and acoustics. Located in the middle of nowhere in Carterton, there is plenty of parking and a movie at the beginning before you go to visit the structure. They hold concerts...More

Thank Barry D
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for writing a response. We really appreciate it. I remember you and your video and thought it was really good. Yes, the acoustics are amazing. We have a group of musicians who want to have regular jam sessions here so I am really...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Visited this place because it was on a list of top ten things to see near Wellington. So surprised, Alan was amazing and informative. Come see and learn.

Thank Michelle H
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your response. Yes, many people tell us that they get far more than they expected. Richard is an extremely good communicator and all his presentations are fascinating. There are enough different ideas to catch everybody into the presentation.

Reviewed 25 July 2017

On a cold misty mid-morning we needed to get out the cave. So where havent we been? On a morning like this we needed to have the appropriate destination. And Stonehenge was the best result. A lovely drive through the Wairarapa to Stonehenge Aortearoa. The...More

1  Thank Grant H
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for you review, we do appreciate you taking the time to write a thoughtful review. The lovely chap was Richard. Yes, we are passionate about what we do here but it is the people who come who keep our passion alive. Learning is...More

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Living local this isca place I pass regularly and i am always amazed at the numbers of tourists walking around and around looking for what I am not sure or have I missed something Anyway visited and the visitor center is ok some good bits...More

Thank Paul T
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your response. I think that perhaps you went around Stonehenge in England as we do not have a transfer bus. You could not build our henge with a mechanical crane. The English henge could be but the real interest not that we...More

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Having been to UK Stonehenge, just had to see our version. Was well worth the trip off the main highway. Kay spent time with us, we watched the slide show, [she let us in although it was a `rest day'] ... and I could have...More

Thank Ejay41
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every one. So many people tell us that they got so much more than they expected (in a good way). It is a lovely place to spend a summer's day, relaxing and thinking and sometimes just sleeping. Some...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

A real working stonehenge. I was glad I've learned more about astronomy because of the video. The place itself is not very beautiful on camera. It lacks the mystery and the ancient characteristic of the stonehenge found in the UK.More

Thank Dorothy G
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for your review. As to the ancient characteristic, we never claimed that. Ours is a teaching tool and frames the beautiful countryside wonderfully. As they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder and many seem to find beauty here. NZ is...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Very interesting. Go in the summer or at least when the sun is shining to make the most of it. Even found out the history of the spooky house on the hill

Thank Gogginc
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thanks for the review. Glad you made it. Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We did the guided tour with Richard and learnt so much. It's very reasonably priced consider the knowledge you gain. Both Richard and Kate were very helpful and happy to answer any questions. I would certainly recommend doing the tour as you will not get...More

Thank Diane C
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. Yes, Richard is a very talented communicator and also enthusiastic and passionate about what we are doing here. We keep the prices as low as we can and I really believe that everyone gets good value for...More

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

It is set in beautiful countryside. The video they play is interesting. The man that does the guided tours is very passionate about his job. We didn't do the guided tour, but we still could listen in to what he was saying.More

Thank catchfab
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time and effort. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Richard is very passionate about the topic and a very good communicator. It is a beautiful site with views out over the valley toward the...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

It's an interesting attraction not too far from SH2. Although you need some time to truly understand all the mechanisms of the Stonehenge Aotearoa. You want the weather to be fairly good (at least not cloudy) and if you're into the whole new age-thing you're...More

Thank justMondays
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for writing a review. It is much appreciated. Your impressions are interesting. I think it is hard for someone who just visits to realize how much effort and cost is involved in keeping something like this running and developing. We keep our prices...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Salute
267 reviews
10.08 km away
balter Bar and Kitchen
35 reviews
9.34 km away
French Bakery
129 reviews
10.06 km away
Cafe Mirabelle
130 reviews
9.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cobblestones Museum
69 reviews
10.44 km away
Poppies Martinborough
136 reviews
15.69 km away
Paua World
48 reviews
10.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stonehenge Aotearoa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit