We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 239 East Lake Road | Box 211, Maynooth, Maynooth, Ontario K0L 2S0, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 613-338-2330
Website
Today
09:00 - 05:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 05:00
Description:

Guided tours by snowmobile, atv, horseback and dogteam! Open all year for...

Guided tours by snowmobile, atv, horseback and dogteam! Open all year for wilderness excursions - also children's horse camps, full horse boarding, and riding lessons. Near Algonquin Park - great trails, fabulous scenery! Our dogsled tours run on 10 kms of private trail system that is groomed for your enjoyment - our snowmobile tours run on the thousands of hectares of OFSC trails for unlimited experiences. Our horseback riding accesses BOTH of these systems for a comprehensive tour! Hope you can join us in the wilderness!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 51 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Great experience, great fun

If you are in the area, then this trip is a must. My daughter and I have just spent over 4 hours driving a skidoo through the forests around Maynooth and Lake St Peter it was a... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Tim G
,
Bratton, United kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Bratton, United kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are in the area, then this trip is a must. My daughter and I have just spent over 4 hours driving a skidoo through the forests around Maynooth and Lake St Peter it was a great experience. The scenery is wonderful. We saw evidence of Moose and saw red squirrels in the trees. It was well below freezing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim G
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review! I will make sure to pass it on to Matt. So glad you enjoyed your day! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I did the four hour snowmobile tour, we found it well worth it! The trails we rode on were very well maintained, and very scenic. Riding out onto one of the frozen lakes (I forgot the name) was just amazing! We rode over 100km in total. The machines were quite new and very comfortable to ride. Jeff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

Hey thanks so much guys! I know Jeff really enjoyed it too! Come again! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

My partner and I decided to try dog sledding for the first time -- and this place was awesome!! About an hour and a half trail ride through acres of winterland beauty! The dogs did an amazing job! Bob was our tour guide and he was very conscientious and helped us tremendously. You get to ACTUALLY drive your OWN sled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nadanne H
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We always love to hear that everyone had fun! I will be sure and pass the review on to Bob, our guides work hard and always love to hear good things! More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I booked an afternoon of dogsledding with HWT during Christmas Holidays and had the time of our lives!! We will be back, but will likely book a private tour next time, as more dogs equals more stop & go on the trails.

Helpful?
Thank workmom1
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

HI there and thanks for your nice review of our place! Hope to see you again sometime. Come through the week, it's much less busy! Christmas is always a bit full, and we hate to disappoint anyone by turning them away. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

I was disappointed in the Adult Horse Camp I attended in September. While I wasn't expecting five star accommodations, a few simple touches would have gone a very long way toward a more pleasant experience. Though the bunk house didn't have electricity, adding a few camping lanterns, or solar/battery powered touch lamps in the bedrooms would have helped a lot.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BondyCO
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed at camp this past year. We have already fixed the lighting and I appreciate your suggestion in that regard. The only reason there was a problem is that we had just gotten a new lamp with a western themed stand, and I was unaware that the lampshade was actually leather, so it wouldn't throw... More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

I attended the Adult Horse Camp this past weekend. The owners, Penny and Matt, were very nice and truly seemed to want their guests to have a good time. Unfortunately, the program wasn't set up well, and it wasn't the getaway I expected. I feel that the website information didn't properly represent the experience. The quality of the accommodation, food,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bug20000
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

For someone who thought we are 'very nice and truly wanted guests to have a good time' you sure didn't waste any time publicly eviscerating our company. I CANNOT control the weather, and the fact that the fall colors were not here yet (third week in September) is a function of the extremely warm fall we are having. I could... More 

Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016

Thank you so much for the unforgettable experience you gave our daughter at Equestrian Camp. When we came to watch her lesson, we brought with us our friend who is also a horse person. She was impressed with how well cared for your horses were and the obvious patience you and your instructor showed with the girls and their lessons.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ohcarey
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2016

My dog sledding experience was absolutely amazing! The guides were kind and supporting. After my daughter being at the camp section, we all went for a sled ride. So breath taking and Matt was an amazing guide!The horseback riding section my daughter attended however, was not so successful. The campers were rude, and worst of all the instructor was disappointing.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank atred2016
missmutt, Owner at Highland Wilderness Tours, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of our dogsledding business. We try hard to make sure everyone has a good time. As for the review of our horse camp, this review was very surprising, and felt more like a character assassination than anything. I am finding it hard to comment, as I have no idea who you are, or who... More 

Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2016

We had an outstanding experience at Highland Tours, we booked last minute for dog sledding and they were able to accommodate us without any problems. The activity itself was wonderful, better than other dog sledding excursions. We had our own individual sleds, were able to interact, play, and required to help harness the dogs. The other animals on the farm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016

Me and my Fiancee had the opportunity for the first time to experience a snow mobiling trail in Ontario with Highland Wilderness Tours. Snow suits, helmets and boots were included. Being inexperienced riders, our trail guide Jeff made us feel comfortable and safe while riding on the trails, it was an absolutely fun and exciting ride. I highly recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe f

Travellers who viewed Highland Wilderness Tours also viewed

 
Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario
 

Been to Highland Wilderness Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highland Wilderness Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?