We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marine Dynamics

#1 of 5 things to do in Kleinbaai Features Animals
5 Geelbek Street, Kleinbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
+27 82 380 3405
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$151.18*
and up
Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
More Info
US$382.93*
and up
Private Tour: Cage Dive with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Marine Dynamics shark tours is the industry's leading white shark cage diving operator - dispelling the myths about sharks one client at a time. Not only can you expect a 5-star service start to finish, Marine Dynamics shark tours contributes directly to local white shark research by being the primary sponsor to the accredited non-profit, the Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics is the preferred operator for National Geographic, Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, the BBC, South African Tourism and many more internationally recognized organizations. As you will see from our reviews, our staff are not only the most knowledgeable in the business but equally the most passionate about great white sharks and providing you an excellent experience you will never forget. Marine Dynamics operates out of The Great White House in Gansbaai, South Africa, where you will be treated to our 5-star hospitality underneath South Africa's only privately owned Southern right whale skeleton! Our custom-built vessel, Slashfin, was launched in 2010 and comes with all the modern amenities expected in a top quality vessel. Marine Dynamics guarantees a marine biologist, a videographer, and best value for money on every trip.
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great whites” (238 reviews)
“hot chocolate” (56 reviews)
“cape town” (230 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
5 Geelbek Street, Kleinbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 380 3405
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We booked a cage shark diving tour with Marine Dynamics in May 2017 and it was great. I chose Marine Dynamics for their environmental commitment and was not disappointed as they do a lot to protect the great white sharks and the ocean. Staff was...More

Thank Mel D
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very professional staff and attentive and well run operation. Great experience from start to finish we wren a family of 4, parents and 2 college students. Everyone enjoyed it..

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aif100
Reviewed 1 week ago

An amazing trip that changes the way you look at these amazing creatures. I went from raw fear to amazement and pure respect of these amazing creatures. The entire operation is professionally run with great hospitality. Saw 7 different great whites that beautiful sunny day....More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank feldmei
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasn´t sure if I should really do shark cage diving. Because you hear so many bad things, like because of shark cage diving there are more shark attacs. So I hesitated a long time and then did a lot of research in advance. I...More

1  Thank Breena06
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

PG Tops tours booked us a shark diving experience through Marine Dynamics. Prior to the trip, 3 of the 5 of us in our family were unsure if we would even step foot in the cage. After a very informative ride out- our worries and...More

Thank Theatricalmama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a group of 10 people, mostly from the USA, that joined my husband and I on our honeymoon in South Africa. Shark Diving was definitely one of our highlights. We enjoyed it very much. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lieschenb2016
MarineDynamics, Online Community Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey there lieschenb2016 Thank you for choosing Marine Dynamics as your preferred shark tour operator in South Africa! :) Cheers Team MD

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

June 1st 2017 The activity provides a lot of adrenaline and happiness. We saw 6 different sharks, they were beautiful and what a pleasure to see them free ! Thanks to the crew for the organization

Thank Ana11e
MarineDynamics, Online Community Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ana11e Thanks for your feedback. Please do join us again. Cheers Team MD

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I decided that we would take a risk and hang with the Great Whites. We could not have picked a better, more professional company to take us on this adventure. The crew made sure we were well-fed, well-educated, and completely safe for...More

Thank Ashley F
MarineDynamics, Online Community Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ashley F We are pleased to hear you and your partner had a great time with us and most importantly, that your experience was educational too. Thanks for choosing Marine Dynamics Cheers Team MD

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

It was an early start with a pick up from Cape Town at silly o'clock. When we arrived at the venue, everyone was booked in and offered breakfast and drinks followed by a short video. Shark information everywhere. We walked down to the boat after...More

Thank Steve C
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I've seen grade one children behave more responsibly than some of the staff (marine biology students working as volunteers). Its a waiting game with no guarantees that you will see a shark, thats how nature works but when one is seen you dont expect these...More

1  Thank Blanche F
MarineDynamics, Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you for your feedback. To explain the situation, a few months ago our shark activity slowed down and we had few to no shark sightings on our shark trips for about 25 days. This was the first trip to see a shark after all...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Serendipity
44 reviews
5.76 km away
Kloeksathome
321 reviews
6.85 km away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
569 reviews
3.92 km away
Blue Goose
397 reviews
3.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.02 km away
White Shark Ventures
251 reviews
.23 km away
Great White Shark Tours
1,141 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
NJscubaDiva
Hi - I just a your post about the showers - can you explain more? We are going in August/September - I am so excited - would love to hear more about the shark dive!!! Thanks - Linda, Wayne, NJ
20 June 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from MarineDynamics | Property representative |
Hey there NJskubaDiva Thank you for your question. We do have showers available at our facility at R50 per person.
0
Votes
artisteaucoeur
Dear Marine Dynamics, please include a place on your website for the correct format for a telephone #. I attempted 6 times, with varied formats, my own number and that of our hotel, and each time it said there was an error. Perhaps you should allow that to be optional for booking enquiries? Please respond with the format for a US number. Thank you.
7 April 2017|
Answer
Response from DandL1590 | Reviewed this property |
Hello. When calling a foreign country it is up to the caller to determine what the "exit code" is for the country they are calling. Many countries have different formats for their phone numbers and they cannot be... More
0
Votes
artisteaucoeur
Hi, we have only one unscheduled day in Capetown, and we'd like to shark dive. I see that it says allow for 2, but that just isn't possible. should we not? Is there a refund if the day we have (May 4) doesn't work due to weather? Also, we would want a pick up from Capetown hotel, is that possible? How much is the transfer to/fro? Thanks in advance!
7 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Lori B | Reviewed this property |
They picked us up (at 0700) and dropped us back at our hotel. We were back by 6ish. A long day but worth it. Check with the company about the refund if canceled. They seemed to be pretty fair about things.
0
Votes