We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Heron Cruises

Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
+1 855-596-2999
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Horrible management interaction

Well what was suppose to be Our relaxing wedding anniversary .... turned wrong real fast. We rented... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Haley D
via mobile
Nice service

The boats are nice. We took the glass-bottom one to Flowerpot Island and the Express back to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Nivin P
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 307 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
One of Tobermory's longest running businesses - Blue Heron Cruises has been operating boat tours through Fathom Five National Marine Park for over 45 years. Cruise through the crystal clear waters of Georgian Bay surrounding Tobermory taking in the vistas that include Big Tub Lighthouse and the Shipwrecks in Big Tub Harbour. Hiking trails, a historic light station, caves and the namesake Sea Stacks are waiting for you to explore on Flowerpot Island. Continuous departures from the bustling Little Tub Harbour daily (Seasonally and weather permitting).
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“jet boat” (37 reviews)
“glass bottom” (77 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 855-596-2999
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 296 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Well what was suppose to be Our relaxing wedding anniversary .... turned wrong real fast. We rented a cottage for The Blue Heron company and drove 5 hours to get here as we do this time of year every year. Upon getting to Tobermory we...More

Thank Haley D
Reviewed 2 days ago

The boats are nice. We took the glass-bottom one to Flowerpot Island and the Express back to Tobermory. Loved both. The 'Glassbottom' is just marketing. We thought the sights were better from the deck upstairs. The service was nice and they give you a nice...More

Thank Nivin P
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed both styles of cruise and that our staff helped to make your day a fun one! The glass bottom in our vessel is the largest that was allowed by Transport Canada at the time the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Well, this was the only company we tried but they seemed to have better prices, parking, options and service than the other...the people, especially Libby who booked us, were amazing...guy named Finn who gave us the low down of shipwreck history etc. was also amazing...and...More

1  Thank Tiffany M
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Booked two nights at the Blue Heron Motel. September weather was a very pleasant 25 degrees Celsius and even the evenings were warm. Some tourists but not crowded. This is an older place so the rooms are basic but the essentials were there: new comfortable...More

Thank Greenka2014
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for your review of our Harbourside Motel and its highlights. Glad you enjoyed the stay with us. Also, super pleased to hear you were able to avail of our autumn "Buy One Ticket Get a Second Ticket Free" offer on our boat cruises. Weekdays...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Tour and views; recommended. We took a trip to see underwater wreckages and then go around the island, it was very relaxing and the views were excellent. Tour service was good and prices were reasonable for what we saw and did.

Thank cls_yyz
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Great to hear you enjoyed your tour with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved our Blue Heron experience this past weekend! The booking process was super easy, we did it all online and received our confirmation immediately. We took the speed boat to Flowerpot Island from Tobermory. We hiked the island and had our fill of it...More

Thank jungl3tt3
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Thank you as well for that glowing recommendation - nothing makes us happier than happy travellers! We do our best to accommodate earlier returns than what a passenger has booked (but sometimes at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the noon cruise to Flowerpot Island. Very helpful staff, even gave us free parking on their property. The cruise itself was exhilarating going over clear waters whilst the guide gave us a history of the place. It started with a short airline type safety...More

Thank Bits n P
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

"Soul refreshing air" ... well, we couldn't have said it better ourselves! Thank you so much for sharing the highlights of your trip. We are delighted you had such a great experience.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we arrived for the cruise we got into town early to secure a parking spot. We arrived at the ship in time to board to discover that the cruise was cancelled due to high winds. Unfortunately it was calling for rain the next evening....More

1  Thank karen_w_laing
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry it did not work out on your recent visit! Wind direction as well as wind strength are determining factors. Sometimes in-land it can seem quite pleasant but an on-shore breeze makes that open expanse of water quite wavy. Also, our captains do a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took this cruise out to Flowerpot Island. On the way we stopped by 2 shipwrecks. They are under the water, but the water is so clear you can see them from the side of the boat. We took the Jet Boat both ways. It...More

1  Thank DawnRoss
BlueHeronCo, Marketing and Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great news! We're so pleased that you had a lot of fun on your day out with us. Thanks for that great feedback about our wonderful staff - we'll be sure to share!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some people think the price is too high, but I’m willing to bet that Blue Heron has a high operating expense. My husband and I thought the trips were well worth the money. Both the sunset cruise and the nonstop to Flowerpot Island were spectacular....More

1  Thank 466daria
BlueHeronCo, Marketing & Promotions Manager at Blue Heron Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to share the highlights of your two cruises. We're so pleased that you were delighted by all you saw! Happy too that you were able to avail of our free shuttle bus service (which runs daily in the peak...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Shipwreck Lee's Of Tobermory
280 reviews
.17 km away
Tobermory Brewing Company and Grill
363 reviews
.09 km away
Leeside Restaurant & Patio Bar
264 reviews
.12 km away
Bootlegger's Cove Pub
124 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
MS Chi-Cheemaun
459 reviews
.26 km away
Big Tub Lighthouse
236 reviews
.71 km away
Divers Den
312 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lily455
17 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
If you travel in a glass bottom cruise boat the outbound trip is 50 minutes and the return is 25 minutes. In a jet boat the outbound travel time is 25 minutes and the return time 15 minutes. And you can chose to go by one... More
0
Votes
Gabriela Z
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BlueHeronCo | Property representative |
Yes, the advice from other travellers is correct. September is off-peak and booking on arrival is fine. We look forward to seeing you then!
0
Votes
Sonia S
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michelle C | Reviewed this property |
It helps, in peak season. However, we booked it the morning of, and went in the afternoon. no problem. We were there the end of September last year, in what is known as the 'shoulder season' in tourist areas. The glass... More
0
Votes