We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Olifants River Safaris Day Trips

Features Animals
Farm Shiela, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
+27 82 889 4797
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Olifants lodge

Wonderful site with best views Lots of animals good food and excellent service. Wonderful boat ride... read more

Reviewed 22 May 2018
ravingareeb
,
Mozambique Island, Mozambique
via mobile
Relaxing

Great breakfast provided, very relaxing cruise for a couple of hours. Unfortunately we didn’t T see... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2018
martinwarnette
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good38%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Farm Shiela, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 889 4797
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"olifants river"
in 4 reviews
"bird life"
in 3 reviews
"a great experience"
in 3 reviews
"steak"
in 3 reviews
"big animals"
in 2 reviews
"crocodiles"
in 6 reviews
"board"
in 7 reviews
"game"
in 7 reviews
"safari"
in 6 reviews
"lodge"
in 3 reviews
"cooler"
in 2 reviews
"beverages"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful site with best views Lots of animals good food and excellent service. Wonderful boat ride in the sun set

Thank ravingareeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olifantsriver, Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Ravin, Thank for the for your review. Please come and visit us again. If you have pictures please share them with us. Regards Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

Great breakfast provided, very relaxing cruise for a couple of hours. Unfortunately we didn’t T see many animals on our cruise but other traveller haveMore

Thank martinwarnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Dear Martin & Warnette, It is a pity that you have not seen any animals. In the last 2 weeks we have had Cheetah's and Lions roaming around here on the other side of the river. Hope you will visit us again and who know...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

After a long drive through an open cast mine, on a poor road, we arrived at the embarkation point located next to a spoil heap from the mine. Saw nothing, as there is nothing to seeMore

Thank Terrydxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Terrydxb We appreciate your honest review. It is unfortunate that you did not have a good experience with us. As you know wildlife can not be ordered from the menu, it is their unpredictability that makes the experience exciting. We would like to invite...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We booked the river cruise for the final day in South Africa. We wished we had done something else instead. We ordered food before the cruise which was very poor - and then we were informed that there would be a bbq on board. We...More

Thank burton12120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Guest Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Burton Thank you for your review we always welcome reviews good or bad as these give us an opportunity to communicate with our guests. It is unfortunate that you did not have a good experience on our Boat Safari and we would like to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked the morning river safari hoping we see things we would not normally see while driving. We did see a small amount that we would have seen if we were driving. We were very lucky to have spotted a leopard. But...More

Thank nicholaj401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Nicholaj401 Thank you for submitting your review. We would like to thank you for submitting your review. Our animals have different moods everyday as most other things in nature, that is why their unpredictability is what creates a true safari. You were so lucky...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We did the sunset cruise, and it was wonderful. We enjoyed a cold beverage and saw a lot of wildlife. Back on dry land, we had an excellent bush dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

1  Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Skyhoosier Thank you so much for your amazing review! We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again soon!! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Already on arrival we noticed a loud company having quit some drinks, turned out they were celebrating some birthday. So after a short visit to the bathroom and ordering our on board dinner and non alcoholic drinks( alcohol was prohibited on board) we boarded the...More

4  Thank on4ajt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear on4ajt Thank you for submitting your review. It is unfortunate that you did not have a good experience on our Boat Safari and we would like to thank you for honest feedback and for bringing this to our attention, Although these types of occurrences...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were very lucky to be on the boat with a very small group. During the 3 hour trip we've seen more animals than during the longer game drives we've had so far. I've never been so close to elephants, crocodiles and buffalos. An amazing...More

Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you for your review. It is always pleasure having guests that appreciate and enjoy what we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Don't waste your money ! Expensive , the few animals you might see are terrified of the boat ! Water is dirty and nasty ! Just go to The park , or a zoo!More

1  Thank rainbowtawas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, Public Relations Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Rainbowtawas Thank you for your review, and for taking time to share your experience. We would however like to invite you back to Kambaku Olifants River Safaris for a complimentary boat cruise. It rarely, but sometimes does happen that the animals are not close...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

After a couple of days in Kruger we did the Olifants river cruise. 1058 rand for two people, including hotel pick up and drop off. The river itself was peaceful and made for a beautiful sunset, but for 3 hours we saw as many elephants...More

2  Thank fjmf1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie H, General Manager at Olifants River Safaris Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear fjmf1994 Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy the Kruger Boat trip experience. We would like to invite you to visit us again. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Phalaborwa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
98 reviews
12.53 km away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
383 reviews
13.78 km away
Cajori Hotel
17 reviews
14.00 km away
Casa Leitao Lodge
2 reviews
14.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Buffalo Grill & Bistro
248 reviews
14.06 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel - Restaurant
122 reviews
14.45 km away
Gholovan Pub & Grill
57 reviews
13.18 km away
Calabash Grill Restaurant
42 reviews
13.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Amarula Lapa
97 reviews
13.03 km away
Bushbaby Adventures
40 reviews
29.21 km away
Camp Jabulani Elephant Experience
104 reviews
36.35 km away
Thornybush Game Reserve
110 reviews
37.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
greylingrene65
24 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from greylingrene65 |
Thank you !
0
Votes