We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National Park Visitor Centre

Libanus, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
+44 1874 623366
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Large Cafe, Shop (isn't there always) and Toilets

The car park is £2.50 all day and I think a £1 for 1-2hrs. Unfortunately the car park machine does... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
john h
,
Aberdare, United Kingdom
really lovely spot with great walks, views, helpful staff and cafe

the staff were great and printed out some walks i couldn't down load properly. The cafe is good... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Andrew W
,
Brighton, United Kingdom
Read all 192 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
You can fuel yourself for the day at the Tea Rooms which offer full breakfast, lunch and snack menus, along with a great range of tempting cakes and desserts. The Tea Rooms are licensed, so you can also relax and unwind after a rewarding day in the hills with a local beer or wine. There is a full range of teas, coffees and soft drinks too, to quench that well earnt thirst. Our shop is also open during the summer season and is also well worth a visit. It stocks those all-important maps and guides, along with a number of essential items that will help make your day go smoothly. During the winter months we have an unstaffed Information Point in the Tea Rooms for your basic information needs. With an outdoor play area, wildlife garden and trail for the children, you could spend the day with us! Come and visit, you will not be dissapointed.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pen y fan” (21 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:00
LOCATION
Libanus, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1874 623366
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

The car park is £2.50 all day and I think a £1 for 1-2hrs. Unfortunately the car park machine does not accept the "new" 5p coin - c'mon Brecon Park Authority the "new" 5p coin was introduced in 1990!!! Nor does it take the new...More

1  Thank john h
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, We ordered a new car park machine back in April, and will be August before it gets installed, which is very frustrating. However when it arrives it will take all coin denominations and cards including contactless. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

the staff were great and printed out some walks i couldn't down load properly. The cafe is good quality. And the walks up to the view points offer excellent views of the surrounding area. Worth a stop. Toilets too of course! The furthest view point...More

Thank Andrew W
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are glad we could help make your visit an enjoyable one. Hope we see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited on many occasions over the years and was very disappointed. There are works going on to improve the toilets but this is not an excuse for the rubbish strewn everywhere. The outside areas are in desperate need of picking up the crisp...More

1  Thank Edwin J
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We were quite surprised to read of the litter you mention, as the site is litter picked daily, but to be honest this is rarely a big job as our visitors are always very...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great centre with a cafe, toilets, shop, information area, educational space, outdoor seating area, car park and play area. It has stunning views of the park.More

Thank RPlow1
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of the Visitor Centre, and glad you were able to make use of all the facilities we have onsite. We have made significant investments this year in our Tea Rooms, car park and toilets, so its always satisfying to get...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a local to the area I was disappointed that the recent changes, especially to the catering, are a step down from what was previously available. The staff are as helpful as always though struggling with the comments from their regulars, who are leaving in...More

1  Thank Martin B
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments, and we do welcome all feedback in order to improve on the service we offer here at the Centre. I have responded to you personally on your comments, and I do hope that you will come back and visit us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another great place to walk the dogs on the "Common" next to the visitors center but again due to free roaming sheep dogs must be on leads. Iron age hill fort at the far end with amazing views. Clear ways to walk all over the...More

Thank Angela F
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Angela, Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Visitor Centre and your walk on the common. Thank you for your comment on keeping dogs on leads, very important to do so with young lambs on the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took friend and the dog as we had never been easy to find is a parking charge but not expensive and good coffee shop cream tea was lush

Thank odb30
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Glad to hear you had great visit to the Centre, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 June 2017

My cousin chose this as a meeting place close to their holiday cottage. Driving towards the Brecon Beacons, the scenery is fantastic and even better from the centre. We were fortunate to have dry, sunny weather so were able to sit outside for drinks and...More

Thank Margaret E
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review of the centre. Glad you had a enjoyable day with great weather. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Great new car park, although price has gone up, not sure where visitor centre is about now. Nice new toilets, cafe had a paint, but Contracted catering with what seems bought in food, £3.54 for expresso, rip off, Information staff unhelpful. Grounds however look nice...More

1  Thank St Harmon F
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. As you have spotted we have invested a great deal in our car park and toilets, but we have not put the prices up. The car park prices have remained the...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

The centre is excellent for short hill walking routes, or just relaxing and taking in the views. The car park at £2.50p is a bit overpriced for where it is, (£1 would be far more realistic); then if you eat in their cafe the food...More

3  Thank Brian W
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The car park is £2.50 for a full days parking, it is just £1.00 for a stay of up to two hours. I would add that ALL car parking money contributes to the funding...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Usk and Railway Inn
104 reviews
6.04 km away
Cobblers Tea Room
19 reviews
6.07 km away
Casa Cafe
111 reviews
7.13 km away
Cariad Cupcakes
191 reviews
7.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pen-y-Fan
605 reviews
5.78 km away
Brecon Cathedral
319 reviews
7.19 km away
Lower Blaen y Glyn
17 reviews
7.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris W
23 September 2015|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Beverley P | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your message. We offer some amazing walks directly from the centre and you can park here easily. On a clearer day you could walk to the trig point on the common which takes about 2 hours. Pop into the... More
1
Vote