We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium

Pool & Beach (238)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Agoda.com
US$143
View Deal
Expedia.com
US$129
View Deal
FindHotel
US$143
US$104
View Deal
SAVE US$39
Booking.comUS$129
eDreamsUS$129
Hotels.comUS$129
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... place your orders, don’t sit and wait and then complain!! Pool area: good enough for kids & to sun bathe, but with the...
... downstairs is nice and cool. Awesome snorkelling and the pool is beautiful and refreshing. Clean and well maintained. Kids...
... a day with all facilities included, restaurants , swimming pools etc., So I disembarked the ship this morning and took a $40...
Most popular question about the pool
Is the pool heated? What are the pool hours? Thanks!
Answer from 205sueden
Apr 2019 |
Not heated but doesn't really need to be. but nice setting. the ocean is 30 secs away from it and the water is warm.
Featured pool amenities
Waterslide
Outdoor pool
Poolside Bar

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Ness Castell wrote a review Mar 2020
Phoenix, Arizona14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Kia Orana!!!!

Before I decided to book this resort, I read many reviews. Many bad, many were great. I booked this resort, and this was my experience:
From the minute my son and I walked in, we were treated awesome by Frankie. We were offered juice while checking in. He took care of all our needs. Since we rolled in around 8:30am and check in is at 3pm we had a chance to attend Sunday Service were we joined the local congregation for lunch. When we came back to the resort, I found out that management was super kind to let us check in early since our room was ready. We settled and immediately went snorkeling. Now onto ratings:

Front desk: always helpful and friendly. For those complaining about how they are not rushed to cater to you: they will always help! And in a timely manner, not big city rush manner. They took care of my transfers, dinner show and internet questions. If you decide to buy internet package, always re-log in, I had problems and was getting frustrated but the friendly staff called the manager who helped me and had NO further problems! Don’t get mad, just ask!

Room: Our room was spotless & very well kept, I love the fact that the resort took the time to add a twin bed for my son, even though we planned to sleeping on the king size. The room also had an outdoor shower to rinse off sand and the tub in our bathroom had a clothes line for bathing suits!
Microwave, fridge and glasses are provided. Alisa made sure our room was spotless when needed, and stocked. For people complaining about ants by the patio door... hmmm it’s a resort surrounded by nature, not a white room 😜 save $15 in resort credit if you skip room service per day, that can get you a couple of cooks lager!

Restaurant/Bar: all day limited items and specialties for certain times of the day, but overall a great selection, we loved the pizza & the hamburgers! Friendly and fast service! Advice: you need to walk up to bar area to place your orders, don’t sit and wait and then complain!!

Pool area: good enough for kids & to sun bathe, but with the gorgeous lagoon just steps away.... why would you be by the pool?!

Activities Hut: all the fun you need!!! I signed up my son for the night snorkeling: he loved it!
Crab hunt & races: super fun! It was our first time and we had a blast! You can also borrow snorkel equipment, wet suits, kayaks, paddle boards and towels here. For some reviewers that bashed the equipment: they do have some older equipment but they also have newer and you can always ask for something different, Mariah, Daisy and the rest of the staff are always smiling and there to help you out!

Gift shop: you seriously have all your basics here without the need to step out of the resort. Snacks, wine, beer, trinkets, sunscreen and great staff.

Beach/grounds: amazing beach!!! Beautiful setting to drink coffee early in the am, and beautiful sunsets! Snorkeling is awesome and we got to see a lot of fish, eels, and stars. With low tide is awesome to go and explore the tide pools. The staff takes care of the grounds all the time, I never once saw trash on the walkways/beach.

I cannot wait to go back to Rarotonga, and I thank the amazing staff at the Rarotongan for making our first time there unforgettable. Frankie I love your smile & humor!!! Daisy, save a giant yummy guava for me! Alisa, don’t ever change how warm and thoughtful you are. Mariah, you are such a hard worker & a great mom. And apologies for all the names That couldn’t stick to my head, but my bar managers, thanks for that lime wedge & salt for my lager without even asking! You absolutely rock! You make the memories for all of us traveling to your beautiful shores, you make the Rarotongan resort special 🥰
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
TarinaNZ wrote a review Mar 2020
Pokeno, New Zealand22 contributions11 helpful votes
We had our wedding at The Rarotongan on the 22nd Feb along with 30 of our family and friends who all stayed here also.

We had heard some average reviews so we're a little aprehensive and weren't sure what to expect however we were really happy!

The rooms could surely do with some touch ups to make them better however they are functional as is. We stayed in the grand beachfront room and it was ideal! We then moved to a deluxe beachfront room and was happy here also.

All the staff were awesome. Housekeeping staff were really friendly. Special mention to our wedding coordinators Tai and Joka. Bar staff Vani and Mama Lo and the ladies in kids club. We felt like we got to know many of the staff during our two weeks and loved the personal greetings we recieved.

Kids club is awesome. The main room does get really hot (no air con as big open windows) so make sure your kids are dressed lightly. Babies room downstairs is nice and cool.

Awesome snorkelling and the pool is beautiful and refreshing. Clean and well maintained. Kids lived in it.

Great to have a restaurant on site with a variety of options. We smashed the kids menu alot of the time.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire26035466177, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 30 Mar 2020
Hi Tarina, thank you for your review, and it is good to hear you had a fantastic time here, we would certainly love to welcome you back here in the future if your travel plans permit. Regards Bob General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean P wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, I had a very unpleasant and disappointing trip to your resort on the morning of March 11th, 2020, I had emailed the resort 2 days earlier regarding day passes and I received confirmation a few hours later that they did Indeed issue them for $100 a day with all facilities included, restaurants , swimming pools etc., So I disembarked the ship this morning and took a $40 taxi drive to the resort to be only told there were not issuing day passes today, I mentioned the email I sent but it did not matter, I was virtually kicked off the property, to say the least I was pissed off, so $80 later I'm back on the ship, needless to say I will never be back and I don't recommend this place to anyone, very poor customer service to say the least.

I'm including the emails to see for yourself
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire26035466177, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Kia Orana Dean, thank you for your review. The day you arrived was indeed the day we had over 70 guests from the ship come to the resort on an organised trip by the cruise company which you could have chosen to be part of, so for this day due to the numbers, we cancelled other day passed for that particular day. so we are sorry for the inconvenience. Regards Bob General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deacks wrote a review Feb 2020
Te Puke, New Zealand32 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
We had a great time here with our two kids 7 and 9. The place isn't flash but the beach, pool, activities that the resort provide are highly recommended. The girls in the activities hut were awesome with our kids. Highly recommend this resort if you have kids.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire26035466177, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Hi, Many thanks for your review, great to hear you all had a great time and that you staff in the activities hut treated you well. please come back again soon. Regards Bob General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agata L wrote a review Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada14 contributions
Little piece of paradise in the middle of South Pacific. It was an amazing adventure.
Our two weeks on the Rarotonga island were wonderful. Rarontongan resort was beautifully located with great staff and plenty or nothing to do; depending on how we felt each day. The beach was breathtaking and the ocean water was 26C! Daily temperatures were always around 26-28C and at night 22-23C. Amazing snorkeling and diving right on the resort’s beach. The Big Fish Diving offer a free diving lesson in the Rarotongan pool every Monday. Alix (from Australia) was a wonderful diving instructor and she helped us make our first diving experience a great success.
The island is cozy and the Islanders are very friendly and they really want you to feel welcome. They want to share their culture and their beautiful island with the tourists. Highland Paradise was a great way to spend time with the locals, learn about their culture and enjoy the traditional music and dancing, and of course their food. You will not leave hungry.
There are so many places to eat on the island and you can have a good meal for $10 or $50. Lots to choose from.
There are two buses going around the island, clockwise and anticlockwise. It takes about 40 min to drive around the island. The best bus ticket price is when you buy 10. It is easy to explore the island by bus. You can even take the bus from or to the airport - that’s the cheapest option.
We will go back. Rarotonga is a hidden treasure!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Inspire26035466177, General Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Lagoonarium
Responded 10 Feb 2020
thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor, we are so pleased that you had a fantastic time and also participated in some of the attractions that the Island of Rarotonga can offer. We would love to welcome you back to our piece of paradise should your travels allow. Regards Bob
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

jcanarella asked a question Apr 2019
California5 contributions
Is the pool heated? What are the pool hours? Thanks!
Answer from 205sueden
Apr 2019 |
Not heated but doesn't really need to be. but nice setting. the ocean is 30 secs away from it and the water is warm.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Shanna Morgan
Jun 2017 |
Rarotonga is well known for this, along with its relaxed and friendly culture....YES you can go to other resorts and use their services if you're not a staying guest. In saying this there may be some exceptions regarding use when it comes to the more exclusive resorts
2 votes
Show all answers
Answer from cookieabroad
May 2015 |
yes
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from cookieabroad
Jun 2015 |
Kia Orana Judy - that is fine for guests over 16 years old. We look forward to welcoming you to Rarotonga.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1