We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Blue Bell Hotel

Room/Suite (15)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
US$55
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$54
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/20
Expedia.com
US$55
View Deal
Free cancellation until 09/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$55
Agoda.comUS$55
Orbitz.comUS$55
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... so I'll forgive a bit or wear and tear in the corridor. The room is a different matter. Easily on par with Marriott and...
The room wasn't too clean. Extractor in the bathroom didn't work so I had to open the bedroom window to let the steam out. I...
... bar with 60 inch TV and fruit machines or in carvery "dining room" another name for a barn with 4 separate doors all open and...
Most popular question about the rooms
hi can you tell me are there any hairdryers in room
Answer from TheBlueBellAcklam
May 2017 |
Hello Gylnis, at present we do not have hair drying facilities. Thanks, The Blue Bell Hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Paul W wrote a review Aug 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom23 contributions25 helpful votes
If you look at my profile you will see that I have stayed in some very high end hotels over the last few years but this is a different experience. I was travelling to Teeside for family reasons and I selected The Blue Bell because it was the cheapest place in the area that didn't look like I'd check out with a rash.

It is a large, urban 1920s/30s pub with a hotel annex just on the outsirts of Middlesbrough. Checkin is as you would expect for a combo pub-hotel.

The Staff.
Everyone has been attentive and friendly.

Accommodation. The hotel block is a little tired in the public areas but to be fair is no worse than many major hotels in the United States so I'll forgive a bit or wear and tear in the corridor.

The room is a different matter. Easily on par with Marriott and Hilton's budget chain offerings. Clean, modern and pleasent. the room has a kettle, tea and coffee, a decent bed and clean bathroom.

The hotel block is round the back so has no disturbance from the main building which is a pretty lively pub.

For £45 a night it is a great deal.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Coop wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions7 helpful votes
The room wasn't too clean. Extractor in the bathroom didn't work so I had to open the bedroom window to let the steam out. I also had trouble opening the bedroom door as the lock was dodgy and had to get the staff to open it for me.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Sorry to hear about the room if you email in we will look into this for you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pnbourne wrote a review Dec 2019
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom40 contributions20 helpful votes
Went here for convenience as it is near to where I live. Have not been for 15 years and won't be back! Carvery meal all overcooked and mostly tasteless. You can either eat in the bar with 60 inch TV and fruit machines or in carvery "dining room" another name for a barn with 4 separate doors all open and a continuous stream of people going in and out. Dishevelled and grubby furniture adds to very poor ambience. Staff appear to have a take it or leave it attitude and they don't even bother to dress as you would expect when in service and handling food. Tables are not even laid for you it is all DIY and the cutlery on offer is only one step up from plastic i.e. very poor and light weight metal and, as everyone is dipping in to get them after getting gravy and food all over their fingers from the carvery service, the cleanliness is very dubious.
Yuk. Used to be a good mid range hotel but seems to have very much degraded in quality over the last few years. A number of other reviews seen would seem to confirm this and I should have read them before going this time.
P.S. Web site states FREE PARKING but beware you are required to PAY and then claim a refund at bar when you are being served???? Never come across this before and you could get caught out!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2019
Good morning, Should you of raised any of these issues during your visit we would of done everything we could to ensure they were rectified. We will look into all concerns raised. Kind regards The Blue Bell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedpipes g wrote a review Nov 2019
Beverley, United Kingdom24 contributions20 helpful votes
For the price it’s obvious this is not going to be a great experience
Room is tacky and not the cleanest
But the miserable bad mannered manager epitomises the worst of British service culture. If you are not a people person you shouldn’t be in the job.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2019
Good afternoon We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us, should you of expressed this during your stay we would of done everything we could to rectify any issues! If you could give us a call or send us an email I would be more than happy to look into the issues with the 'bad mannered manager' Kind regards The Blue Bell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiffydog wrote a review Apr 2019
Peoples Republic of Teesside28 contributions25 helpful votes
What a hovel , we had a wake in the hotel and they put us in a back room with filthy chairs , broken furniture and served us sad sandwiches and warm tea and coffee . The place is a tip. They admitted they had made a mistake and doubled booked so we were shoved into the rear room and the marriage reception had the nice lounge. No mention of compensation . Give this place a miss zero customer service .
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel
Responded 21 Apr 2019
Good afternoon, I do apologise that you were disappointed with the room you were given and the service you received. On the day of the wake when asked if everything was OK we received no complaints from yourselves and actually received lovely feedback. When our receptionist approached a lady included in your party and explained the situation the lady explained she also worked in hospitality and was more than understanding, she also said she preferred the room you were given because there was much more room for yourselves and that it didn't feel as 'cramped'. Should we of received any complaints on the day we would of done everything we could to rectify any issues. We hope you visit us again soon. Kind regards The Blue Bell Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Glynis H asked a question Aug 2015
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
hi can you tell me are there any hairdryers in room
Answer from TheBlueBellAcklam
May 2017 |
Hello Gylnis, at present we do not have hair drying facilities. Thanks, The Blue Bell Hotel
0 votes
PreviousNext
1