We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Crown On Darby Newcastle

Room/Suite (42)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$100
Expedia.comUS$95
Hotels.comUS$95
CheapTicketsUS$95
eDreamsUS$100
Trip.comUS$101
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
Several good points Room was large and clean Excellent mattress Quiet location Reasonable price One very bad point ...
... apartment. It was spacious with a kitchen and separate bedroom. All was clean and suitably appointed and the bed was...
Stayed here for two nights in the one bedroom apartment. Exceeded all our expectations with room size, cleanliness and...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
SYDHIKER wrote a review Jul 2020
Australia117 contributions31 helpful votes
Several good points
Room was large and clean
Excellent mattress
Quiet location
Reasonable price

One very bad point
Reception closes at 4 pm "due to COVID 19". I arrived at about 5 pm. Keys were waiting as arranged. Went to room and settled in. Looked for lounge TV remote and bedroom TV remote. Couldn't find either of them. Rang after hours number at about 5.15pm. Was answered by an answering service, not by anyone from the property. That person had no idea. She contacted the property manager. The manager gave her this message to pass on to me "The remotes are there. If you can't find them, you can change rooms". No hint of where to look or an explanation of how I could change rooms with no staff at the property. I asked the answering service to be called directly by someone from the property. That message was passed on, but nobody called. Later that evening I accidentally found the lounge TV remote on the side of the lounge sofa cushion. I guess the previous guest had left it there, which means that it hadn't been cleaned. I never found the bedroom TV remote.
When checking out I asked Kate the receptionist if she had been on duty the previous evening.
Kate replied that nobody is on duty after hours.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Wynn, General Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 8 Jul 2020
Alan This was not the series of events that happened on the evening you stayed at all we have our after hours service record all calls for billing purposes. You were very rude and unreasonable to our out of state on call after hours service being sarcastic causing unnecessary escalation of the situation stating its not in the fridge" or anywhere. Our head housekeeper had cleaned the room the day you checked in and all remotes were present at this time. I am the front office supervisor and as stated we are not 24 hr reception so that is why we offered the option to move rooms to stop the issue escalating further however you insisted to stay. We employ the call center so that staff members are not disturbed after hours in our own time it is most upsetting that in this instance you felt the need to be so rude to our committed service the girl was simply trying to do her job. Maybe it would be wise to stay at 24 hr occupied premises in the future. Kate Wynn Front Office Supervisor Crown on Darby
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizanne P wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia50 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed in a king studio apartment. It was spacious with a kitchen and separate bedroom. All was clean and suitably appointed and the bed was comfortable.

My only complaint was the lack of fresh air and the overall absence of natural light in the space. There is a slightly odd enclosed balcony with louvre windows however the noise from the street below meant we couldn’t keep them open when sleeping resulting in a stuffy room. (The bedroom itself has no windows at all)
I would stay here again for its convenience but not in this front, street facing room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Staff O, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review we appreciate it ! yes please contact us next time to discuss different room options.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarah wrote a review Jan 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here for two nights in the one bedroom apartment. Exceeded all our expectations with room size, cleanliness and location. Great staff who were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Parking was also convenient and reasonably priced.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Staff O, Reception at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagootsy wrote a review Oct 2019
Greater Sydney, Australia15 contributions6 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Crown on two occasions previously. One when the hotel first opened and one particular weekend getaway. Both stays were very enjoyable,staff friendly, rooms spacious and comfy.

This third stay unfortunately was a disappointment. This was due to two pairs of previous occupants underwear were left hanging on bedroom door handle when we checked in. Also, one of the bath towels had red streaks all over it. Off putter no to say the least.

We advised staff and the came right away to clear the offending undies and apologized.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CrownonDarbymanager, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 7 Oct 2019
Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay on this occasion failed to meet your expectations we are so sorry and will be bringing these issues to the attention of our cleaning and Maintenance staff we hope to be able to make amends if you should choose to stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stavie wrote a review Sep 2019
Gulgong, Australia43 contributions24 helpful votes
Stayed to take grand kids to event at civic centre. Perfect location, 10 min. walk. Reception quick and easy, very helpfull staff, Park out front, pay $20 per night secure parking.Access is around back of building. Stayed in 3 bedroom appartment, just wonderfull,spacious and more, plenty of bedding options Rooms very clean. Tastefully decorated, good sized balcony, high ceilings.Good lighting, natural and artificial. Darby street has become somewhat trendy so plenty of dinning options.Light- rail is also a 10min walk 3 stops to Merewether beach.Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: be careful using stairs between apartment levels in bare feet. carpet can be slippery
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CrownonDarbymanager, Front Office Manager at Crown On Darby Newcastle
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Thank you for your detailed fantastic review we will see you again when you are next visiting the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous