We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at L'Illwald

Pool & Beach (3)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
US$137
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$135
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$137
View Deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.comUS$137
TravelocityUS$137
CheapTicketsUS$137
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... by name. As for the food and wine, wow, amazing. Also the pool was perfect and clean. When you walk about the place you...
Loved our stay for one night, nice room, nice garden and pool . Easy to park, very good restaurant. It is a very beautiful...
... stylistic features. There is a very good swimming pool and spa area which helped with several days in the high 30s....

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
danieljohnbeard wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
I stayed at L'Illwald for three nights on a business trip, I must say the service which I received from Christian and the team was first class, the real personal touch. His staff were all lovely we all knew each other by name. As for the food and wine, wow, amazing. Also the pool was perfect and clean. When you walk about the place you can see that a perfectionist has put the place together, the fixtures and furniture is very high-end and it is very tastefully decorated.
There was only one problem with Hotel L'Illwald, it's missing a few stars...
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from 111christians, Propriétaire at L'Illwald
Responded 2 Oct 2019
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel. It is always a great pleasure for our team to read the good reviews of our customers. Thanks to share your satisfaction. We remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you back. Yours sincerely. Hotel management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singka2015 wrote a review Aug 2019
Brussels, Belgium21 contributions5 helpful votes
Loved our stay for one night, nice room, nice garden and pool . Easy to park, very good restaurant. It is a very beautiful renovated place.

great ambiance, beautiful terrace, but you really need to be a dog lover just like the owners, as they let their dogs walk freely around the property, the pool...
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christian S, Propriétaire at L'Illwald
Responded 25 Aug 2019
Dear guest. We thank you very much for your nice comments. Regarding our two lovely Labradors, we normally take all measures so they do not importune customers. If this was the case, we ask you to please accept our apologies. Yours sincerely. Hotel management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn W wrote a review Jul 2019
San Carlos, California133 contributions172 helpful votes
We stayed 4 days here during a hot part of June 2019. The hotel is beautifully maintained and our room and the others we saw were elegant and included interesting stylistic features. There is a very good swimming pool and spa area which helped with several days in the high 30s. Our room had a loft (#9) which although beautiful I cannot recommend if the weather is hot, as the loft stays very warm at night. There is air conditioning, but it cannot cool the loft effectively. We actually pulled our bedding and slept on the floor below the loft level to stay cool one night. There are also a lot of stairs to reach this room. Breakfast is very good and presented in a lovely room off the "front desk". It is on the expensive given limited hot offerings. The restaurant is near exceptional and the chef is the owners son. It is beautifully decorated, and service is efficient. We had three different main courses as well as entrees and all were very good to excellent. Wine choices were very good and reasonable. On several of the nights there were organized get-togethers in the courtyard outside the restaurant. These sort of "took over" the area from the guests, but it is a beautiful setting and I can imagine its popularity for organizations. The location is outside of Selestat and on a main road, but it is very quiet at night. The owners-operators are very nice people who do all they can to help you with their stay. When we were there we appeared to be the only english-speaking guests.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christian S, Propriétaire at L'Illwald
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Dear guests. Thank you very much for your long and very nice comments. We are pleased that you have been seduced by our hôtel and our restaurant. We remain at your disposal to fully satisfy you on a next stay. Yours sincerely. Hotel management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottishbint wrote a review Aug 2017
London, United Kingdom36 contributions5 helpful votes
Lovely place to stay for a night on a long journey through France back to the UK. Very close to the main road but you wouldn't know it. Quiet and if the noise bothers you rooms have air con so you can shut the windows. Close to the motorway which is a bonus - easy to find and not far off the route. Good rooms - we had a Chambre Elegant - spacious and great bathroom (fantastic bath!!). But the food is outstanding - sublime. Huge portions, and fantastic. Wine is amazing - we found the producer of the wine we had the next day and bought another 24 bottles - sommelier knowledgeable, helpful and charming. Breakfast great too. And the pool - glorious pool at the end of a long, hot drive. A real gem, a real find, recommend it wholeheartedly.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are quiet
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christian S, Propriétaire at L'Illwald
Responded 15 Aug 2017
Dear guest. We thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you have been seduced by our establishment and that you had a nice stay. It will be a real pleasure to see you again. Best regards. The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristine V wrote a review May 2017
Aalst, Belgium4 contributions2 helpful votes
Luxury; spaciuos & clean rooms, top quality good in restaurant, unique breakfast and great service.
Sauna, swimming pool, terrace, fitness, nature, all you need to relax after a long working day is present
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Christian S, Propriétaire at L'Illwald
Responded 24 May 2017
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are very pleased you had a nice stay in our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again in our region and so remain at your disposal. Yours sincerely. Hotel management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
12