We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation

Room/Suite (8)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... but the view was marvelous. The house is beautiful. The suite was really just a bedroom with a small fridge and...
... is clean, tidy and spacious. We stayed in the Captain Cook suite, which has a comfortable bed, TV, refrigerator and its own...
... I had my 5 year old and had to try and figure out which room we had while 2 huge dogs were licking us the whole time we...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Wifi
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
travellermarg wrote a review Mar 2015
British Columbia, Canada47 contributions15 helpful votes
Brian and Holly were very congenial hosts who provided a lot of good advice about the area. They seemed to be more accessible on the weekend than during the week. We enjoyed their big friendly dogs. We slept to the sound of tree frogs singing and were awakened to birdsong in the mornings. The location is a bit difficult to get to and the drive to restaurants was a little longer than we'd have liked but the view was marvelous. The house is beautiful. The suite was really just a bedroom with a small fridge and microwave but it was clean and comfortable enough for 2 people. We would recommend Tiki Wa.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
FifiBojangles wrote a review Oct 2014
Bolingbrook, Illinois375 contributions821 helpful votes
We stayed at Tiki Wa Guest House for three nights and really enjoyed our time with our host. The guest house is a beautiful home that is clean, tidy and spacious. We stayed in the Captain Cook suite, which has a comfortable bed, TV, refrigerator and its own bathroom. We were the only guests during our stay and it was very quiet, except for the sound of coqui frogs, which we found enjoyable. There is no air conditioning on the property but it cools off at night and the ceiling fan helps. Each morning we received a nice breakfast which included some of the fresh fruit from their own property. We had white pineapple, macadamia nuts, star fruit, dragon fruit and rambutan. On our last night, Brian made us a real Hawaiian treat, Loco Moco. It was a perfect way to end our stay at the guest house. The guest house is in a good location in Captain Cook. High enough on the mountain to get some relief from the heat and a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean with its beautiful sunsets. The first night we were there Brian invited us to a restaurant right across the street from the property and we enjoyed live local music and he introduced us to some of the locals. Brian was very generous with his time, his advice and his home. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Captain Cook Suite is on the upper floor so you get a better view and more air flow through the...
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Ruth092014 wrote a review Sep 2014
Encinitas, California3 contributions5 helpful votes
I was very disappointed with Tiki Wa B&B. I had read all these great reviews and so happily booked 3 nights and paid my few hundred dollars.

The check in time was 3-7pm, I arrived at 3:15 to find no one was there. I had my 5 year old and had to try and figure out which room we had while 2 huge dogs were licking us the whole time we found the room and brought our stuff upstairs. The room was very small even though called a “suite”; there was no room for an extra kid’s cot and walking space with the queen bed in the room. The room had 2 windows cornering each other and was very hot (overlooking the roof of the rest of the house and a huge cable antenna.)

I opened the two windows to find out that one of the two screens was mostly gone, so half the window was bare. I went in the bathroom to find a mosquito which I took some effort to kill. I wanted to talk about the screen and the heat of the room (not being able to open window to ventilate) to the owners, but since no one was there, thought to wait until later.

I came back to the room a little after 7pm and no one was there again. I called - no answer and then sent a message - again no answer. After a little while I decided to go to the restaurant the owner had mentioned has good food to see if I can find someone. It was pitch dark at this time, and I could not find the place easily and could not see where to park (no lights on road). Finally found somewhere to park and found the place. It was a restaurant type bar with live, very loud music. I asked the staff about owner of B&B and they signaled who the owners were.

The owner looked straight at me, and I signaled him to come so we can talk, to which he pretended not to see me. I did not want to walk across the floor right in front of the very loud singer with my child to talk to him, especially since it would be too loud to talk there. Since I was repeatedly ignored I took my child by the hand walked across the bar (child holding his ears) and went up to the owners who were very defensive and rude. I immediately felt ripped off and that I would not be assisted to enjoy my stay there nor would I receive any kind of refund. It was 9pm and the owners assured me that they would refund me and I should stay the night since it was so late by then. I agreed and went back to the room and tried to rest (with one window open.)

The owner came in a couple of hours later and I could here swearing that was directed at me. I felt violated, trapped, with no where to go - an unwanted stranger in a hostile land. In the night the refrigerator was rubbing against the cupboard it was in, so I unplugged it to stop the noise. A few hours later very loud ice defrosting sounds began, so I there was loud noise either way.

As you can imagine, I did not sleep one wink and was exhausted by morning. I asked the owners to excuse me (refused to eat breakfast) and asked if I could have a refund so I can find another place to stay, to which they replied, “No way. This experience has made me very wary of booking any B&B in the future where I have to pay all my money upfront with no hope of a refund if the place/services turn out to be of the lowest order.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
oogachaka wrote a review Jul 2014
Toronto, Canada93 contributions64 helpful votes
This guesthouse is a great place to stay. It is located in Captain Cook, and is conveniently located close to the coffee plantations along Kona. The owners and their pets are super friendly. Brian & Holly are always there to share their advice on places to see, eat, etc. The breakfast is fresh fruit picked right off their own tree and usually some sort of baked goods are included. The only downside was that the wifi in the upstairs room did not work, but not a big deal as the signal was usually ok once you go downstairs to the breakfast area. Also, the upstairs washroom does not have a shower. All in all, a good stay!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from BigIslandCheesehead, Owner at Tiki Wa Guest House & Coffee Plantation
Responded 17 Aug 2014
Aloha! Thank you for the kind words! The Captain Cook Suite does have a shower we are sorry you did not see how to turn it on. Also you were on our neighbors internet, the signal is weak but it will connect. Our internet is Belken and is very strong property wide. Hope you come back again we enjoyed hosting you! Mahalo, Brian & Holly
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny H wrote a review Jul 2014
Walls, Mississippi1 contribution
Had a wonderful time! We stayed in the Captain Cook Suite. It was very comfortable and quiet. Brian and Holly were wonderful hosts, sharing great tips for beaches, shopping and sight seeing. They recommended a fantastic snorkel beach near their home and also provided us with snorkeling gear and beach towels, and a cooler. Holly breakfasts are awesome. We especially loved the coconut pancakes. Yummy!!! Oh yes and I had a wonderful massage by Ron who lives on the property. Great place!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Location
Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous