We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya

Pool & Beach (170)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... from GL Jungle to GL residence so we had our own plunge pool. We spent so much time in our room because it was just...
... a wonderful stay. There was plenty of room at the beach, pool, and outdoor restaurants to stay at an appropriate safe...
... The beds were comfortable. We especially liked the plunge pool on those hot humid August nights. The staff was amazing. I...
Most popular question about the pool
Staying at the Grand Luxxe Jungle in early Nov. What is the process to rent a cabana or chair at the Beach club? Would like one day at pool and one day on beach!
Answer from bssybil
25 Sep |
We reserved the cabana upon check in at the Grand luxxe lobby. The cost was only $52.00 for the basic cabana up to $220.00 for the...
Read more

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Audrey W wrote a review 15 Sep
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania3 contributions7 helpful votes
My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at the Grand Luxxe. I know many people are apprehensive to travel and have a lot of questions, so I will try my best to cover everything I was worried about before we left.

We traveled via Delta from PHL with a layover in ATL. We encountered zero issues while traveling. There was a short form to fill out between ATL and Cancun but other than that, no COVID holdups. Mexico does not require any testing, either, and there were no quarantine requirements before or after leaving the country.

When you arrive at the Cancun airport, head straight outside and look for someone in a bright pink shirt for your transport to the resort. When exiting, there will be a million people trying to talk to you. Just keep walking and find your ride.

Once we arrived at the resort, check in was a process, but everything went smoothly. Transport from the airport will drop you off at the central lobby where your luggage is taken from you to be sterilized. Then, you will be transported to the lobby of the particular building you are staying at (Luxxe, mayan, bliss etc) for check in. You will be asked to attend a timeshare presentation. We did agree to attend (more on that later). After that, we were transported to our actual residence.

Our room was UNREAL. Beautiful, huge, and super clean. We were upgraded from GL Jungle to GL residence so we had our own plunge pool. We spent so much time in our room because it was just spectacular. We had a huge soaking tub, full kitchen/dining/living room and separate bedroom. Way more room than we needed but it was fun to have the space!

Everything - in our room and throughout the resort - was SPOTLESS. Every single staff member wore a mask, some with a shield too. You will be given hand sanitizer constantly, and the buildings also have a mat you step on to sanitize your shoes before entering. The tables were spaced out for dining, and we never found any of the eateries to be overcrowded. The pools/beach space are also huge so you will have no issues at all social distancing. Transport was sanitized between rides. We had temp checks at the spa and waterpark (I think). One staff member told us they are tested every other week. We felt VERY SAFE the entire time.

The resort itself is stunning. The place is HUGE so you will need to rely on transport to get around. We walked 50% of the time and took the trolley the other half. The resort is connected with these wooden pathways which wind through the jungle and you'll get to see so much wildlife. Sometimes getting around was annoying, but just think Disney - yes you have a park hopper and can bounce around, but it takes time to do so! We packed a bag with dry clothes and only went back to our room one a day to get ready for dinner (and sometimes we never left again because the room was so nice and.. room service! lol)

We spent a majority of our time at the beach club. SHOUT OUT TO ORLANDO!! He made us feel like family and we were so well taken care of. Unfortunately, Orlando wasn't working our last day so we didn't get to say goodbye - but if you see this, YOU WERE THE BEST!!!!

Ok now for the presentation. My husband and I were gifted this trip for a wedding gift and are in zero position financially to opt in right now. We were very upfront about this when we were invited to attend but were told to attend the presentation anyways to look at marketing materials and there would be no pressure. We decided to go for it, and were pleasantly surprised. We were honest about our situation from the start, and were treated with nothing but respect by the presenters. We were given information, but never pressured. I was extremely apprehensive to attend based on the reviews I read, but I can personally say my experience was positive. Just keep an open mind, be honest, and say no if it's not for you! It's that simple :)

You will be able to check out the night before, which makes things so much easier! We took a taxi to the airport so we could be on our own time (I had a really hard time saying goodbye to the beach haha) and we were back to Philly!

Overall, I'd give our COVID travel experience a 10/10. Vacation hits different after you've been inside for six months, and we were blown away at how easy it was to travel and how safe we felt once we arrived.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Lisa G wrote a review 7 Sep
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We love the Vidanta Riviera Maya resort. This was our 6th visit here in the last 4 years, so we obviously enjoy it. This was our first time staying at the Grand Luxxe, and it definitely lives up to its reputation and name. The precautions taken on the resort to prevent the spread of COVID made us feel safe and comfortable, until we went to the sales presentation.

We own a time share in another company that allows us to trade to stay here, so this time was the first time we agreed to attend the sales presentation. Since we come often and have sent many other friends/family on trips here, we wanted to hear what they have to offer. On first meeting our sales person, Susanna, she extended her hand for me to shake. I declined, as shaking hands during COVID is definitely not recommended, and she appeared offended, motioning to the hand sanitizer nearby. We then sat at a booth with her to do the initial introductions. Susanna was wearing a mask, but it was below her nose the whole time, and she often pulled it away from her face while speaking. Since the booth was closer than what is recommended for social distancing and she was inappropriately wearing her mask, I began to feel uncomfortable with this, knowing we would spend the next several hours in close proximity to her. The next part of the sales pitch was breakfast. When we got there, we were sat with her and a very nice and professional man who was shadowing her from Puerto Vallarta, at a small table for 4. When I realized that we would all be eating together at this table, I began to feel more uncomfortable. I am surprised that Vidanta is continuing this as part of their sales presentation during COVID. Talking, eating and drinking in close proximity without masks is considered close contact and not something they should be asking of people to attend the sales presentation. At first, my husband and I asked if we could at least sit at a larger table where there was more distance. Susanna became defensive, and as she was explaining this to me, she again pulls her mask away from her face and comes closer as she talks louder. After the intervention of the man who was shadowing her, they walked away to ask the waiter about a larger table. My husband and I discussed this while they were gone and decided we were not comfortable with the safety precautions during this sales meeting, and we wanted to stop the meeting at this point. When Susanna approached us again, she was clearly irritated. She said we had to come with her to sign a form that we declined the sales presentation and we forfeited any of the bonuses that we were offered for attending. We had no problem doing this. No bonus felt worth the risk at that point. However as we were walking back to the sales building, Susanna began yelling at us that she would still have to pay for breakfast and if I was that uncomfortable, I should not have come. I have never had anything but wonderful experiences at Vidanta over the last few years, so the lack of precautions, professionalism and courtesy we found in Susanna was very disappointing.

That being said, we left the sales pitch that morning and continued to have a wonderful stay. There was plenty of room at the beach, pool, and outdoor restaurants to stay at an appropriate safe distance. As always, we had a wonderful trip and will definitely return. I just would not recommend the sales presentation in general, but definitely not during COVID.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grupo Vidanta, Owner at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear G546YFlisag : We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are grateful for your preference as we always like to welcome back guests. On the other hand, it is disappointing to learn that your experience at the sales presentation was not satisfactory. This will all be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have clear communications with our honored guests and members. We truly appreciate you sharing this with us, as your feedback helps us continue providing outstanding facilities and services. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back. With all best wishes, Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayBony wrote a review Aug 2020
Cornwall, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Grand Luxxe Residence Club in August. We were a bit apprehensive because of Covid. But I have to say they did an amazing job making us feel safe. The room totally blew us away. I was huge. The beds were comfortable. We especially liked the plunge pool on those hot humid August nights. The staff was amazing. I have to recognize Katy Polo. She was are concierge at the pool. She made us feel warm and welcome. She is a gem and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Unfortunately the finer restaurants were not open due to covid So we ordered room service most nights. The food was very good - we were surprised.

It was an amazing trip and we can't wait to return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
bssybil wrote a review Aug 2020
Noblesville, Indiana185 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
I must say that we are so impressed with the kind of precautions Vidanta has taken to insure the safety of everyone, staff and visitors. All staff are wearing masks, hand sanitizer everywhere, shuttle drivers sanitizing the shuttle after each visitor rides. The property is clean and everyone is so friendly.
This is our 4th time staying at this resort. It’s the best visit yet. Right now the resort is at 10-12% capacity, which is nice for us but I’m sure isn’t good for the staff.
The room was beautiful! It had a large balcony with a cooling pool. It took me a few days to realize that the toilet paper smelled like baby powder! What a great little touch.
This is a large resort so expect to do a lot of walking, or simply take the shuttle. We don’t mind the walk, as you can see a lot of different things while you walk along the paths.
It seems that they are starting to remove some of the rocks from the beach to make it easier to get into the water. This is a plus. The other times we have been here, it’s been a trick to get in.
The parking has also changed since we have been here last. You used to be able to self park near the resort, but now once you come in you are directed to the central lobby where they will park your car for you. For a daily fee. And then they will shuttle you to your lobby to finish up the check in process. We arrived around 3 and were able to get right into our room. The first three nights were wonderful until we got some noisy neighbors who felt the need to play loud music on their deck until 2 in the morning. Didn’t bother me, because I sleep with ear plugs. But my husband was woke up every night with loud music, singing and laughing. I get it. They’re on vacation too. But I wish other guests would be a little more courteous to everyone else around them. Or maybe I’m just getting old and enjoy my quiet. Who knows.
The food was great every where we chose to eat. I recommend downloading the app they have available for the resort. It gives you the menu options at all the restaurants, times they are open and also allows you to make reservations if needed. The app also gives you directions to each of the spots.
On Sunday we went to Jungala, the water park that is attached to the resort. It was nice. I also recommend booking at the resort because you will receive a discount. The entry for each of us came to $32.00 USD each. The lazy river was super relaxing and we really enjoyed spending the day on that. The slides and the wave pool were also quite enjoyable. When we got tired we went back to our cabana that we had rented. The cabanas started off at 52.00 for the basic cabana then for the luxury option it was about $220.00 USD. The luxury option came with a basket of fruit, a cold appetizer, water, passion fruit juice, a hot meal and a desert..
All in all, it was a great visit and much needed vacation from all the stresses that 2020 had brought us. Wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Colleen wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at the beginning of August. We are members and come to the RM Grand Luxxe 1-2 times per year. We decided to write the review we wish we had before we left home. Hopefully this gives you some idea of what it’s really like there now. We are extremely happy we went. It was a nice vacation, as usual at Vidanta RM.

Staff all wore masks and around 75% wore addition face shields. Let me be clear, ALL OF THEM wore masks. While it was 50/50 in guests wearing masks (not counting eating and swimming, which obviously you don’t wear masks).

Southwest states that there is a required questionnaire to travel to Mexico. Questionaire is only on way home where you attest to not having symptoms. They took your temperature as you arrived at the airport and got your bags.

Temperature checks at the resort were on arrival and at “specialty” places like Jungala, Nectar/Joya or the spa.

We normally get groceries at Mega once we arrive, but we did not feel comfortable doing that this time. I called the concierge before we arrived and they said that you can go to Jade and get groceries delivered to your room for around $3 USD. However, when we got there, there was no food delivery from Jade except through app, which has minimal selections. Head of security Arturo got us a private transport from jade to grand luxxe when we saw us trying to lug our groceries back to the room.

Monday night was the only time we got concerned about distancing. It was Mexican Kermes at Salem. Generally, I love it. Mariachis and dancers/dancing... they were in the large open area on the sand. It quickly filled with people. Mostly, no masks. People were dancing around, likely with their family members. Others, around the sides of the dancing with zero social distancing. They were about 10 people deep surrounding the band. Then, people started leaving. The transports were packed and we were stuck with some very loud, likely drunk, quite large extended family. They did not wear masks, we wore our cloth masks. The family was yelling and laughing the whole way back, which is fine in general, but they should have had the entire transport to themselves. This was the only time on the resort that I felt like I didn’t have the ability to keep our distance. That and any timed transport, like going to Joya/Nectar. These transports can get pretty crowded at show times (which makes sense).

Jungala:
We normally go on excursions, but this time we decided to stay on the resort and try Jungala. We went on Monday. We went to the back corner by the jacuzzi area, hammocks, and pool bar.
There was waiter service where we were.
We arrived when it opened at 10am. We were the only people there. After a couple hours, other people arrived, but none sat in our area. Some people sat at the pool bar in the water, but not on the chairs. The wave pool was the most crowded. Eduardo, our waiter, and Raphael, the pool bartender, were amazing and helpful. The only bad thing I can say is that it’s only open Sun-Wed. We really wanted to go back later in the week.

Restaurants: way less options than normal. Limited beach club menu and it is not the Chiranguito menu. Our favorites were closed: Chiranguito, la Cantina and Azur. Also, Nectar was only open the second half of the week. Quinta was closed Friday and Saturday, but the app says it’s open daily. They said they adjusted the hours during our stay. The only options that was open everyday Salum and Havana Moon. To us, all of this is 100% reasonable and understandable during the pandemic.

Specific staff kudos: Head waiter at Quinta got hockey game on TV at Salum (different restaurant!).

Ricardo, a bellman at the GL main lobby, always knew our name, same with Ricardo, the GL concierge in our building.

Anselmo, Orlando and German at Beach club — great service everyday including day it POURED from 10am-3pm. German managed to smile the entire time!

Maria Luiza is such a wonderful lady. She works in the weddings and events section, but has been “reassigned” to other duties, including being hostess at the beach club. I am getting married at Vidanta RM next summer and wanted to meet with the planners (and meet the people I had been emailing). She took time out of her busy schedule to go over the details of our wedding and make sure we were getting the exactly perfect wedding we want! God bless her!

I really hope this review helps those of you concerned with how it “really” is at the resort right now. The staff is truly amazing and we can’t wait to go back!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Answer from bssybil
25 Sep |
We reserved the cabana upon check in at the Grand luxxe lobby. The cost was only $52.00 for the basic cabana up to $220.00 for the deluxe cabana,,,(four small meals, drinks, you can trade the bottle of champagne for a bottle of your favorite liqueur. Not a ton of slides but very fun. The lazy river is super long with float up bars along the river. It was a great day for my wife and me. enjoy.
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from David U
May 2020 |
Yes there are chairs on the beach. And there are loungers on the Beach at the Beach Beach Club. Also lots around the pools at the Club.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234569