We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Four Mile Beach Inn

Room/Suite (7)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... do in the area since my plans had to be put off. I was in room #2 and although it doesn't have a great ocean view (Which is...
... again on this visit in October 2019. The parlor and game room were cozy places to read, visit, and even get online to...
... doors that do not close properly... we stayed in the bayview room on the first night if you can see past the trees you'll get...
Featured room amenities
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Melissa C wrote a review Aug 2020
Sydney, Canada234 contributions71 helpful votes
I stayed here for two nights to do a hike and some whale watching and although my plans fell through due to weather the accommodations didn't disappoint. Janet and John were both friendly and helpful. Both tried to give me some other ideas of things to do in the area since my plans had to be put off.

I was in room #2 and although it doesn't have a great ocean view (Which is why I picked it) it is a nice room. I only mention the ocean view because if you have your heart set on that and it isn't available you'll be just as happy in another room. The room it self was clean and comfortable and it was nice to have the ensuite bathroom. I have MS, a bad back and a spinal cord injury and I slept just fine - not sure why some people said it isn't comfortable. Complainers is my only guess.

The house in general was pretty charming. I grew up on the island with family in the highlands and the house was very nostalgic for me. Anyone looking for culture during their visit should be pleased with the Inn. I loved the decorations - and oddly enough I loved they had no TVs. My phone and tablet worked fine both for making calls and internet (Although I used my data, which is what I always do).

The beach is about a 1min drive away and its a beautiful beach for a swim, picnic or a walk. They also have a nice little water area at the back of their property. I would have swam there but again weather wasn't ideal.

There are places to eat. Most close early due to the location however I found a take out place in Neils Harbour opened until 10pm 😊

You'll need transportation (car or bike) to get around but if you're travelling in Northern Cape Breton you should already know that 😉

Breakfast was fine. Janet also let me put my water in a small fridge in the general store so I'd have it cold.

I could hear gaelic music playing my first night stay which put a huge smile on my face.

If you're looking for old country charm this place is perfect.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
kay e wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I throughly enjoyed my stay in Oct 2014 and was delighted with my 3 day stay again on this visit in October 2019. The parlor and game room were cozy places to read, visit, and even get online to catch up essential work. The bedroom (#3) was quiet and the bed & bedding was very comfortable. The shared bath was spacious. Breakfast was a treat - John does all the cooking and the homemade breads & muffins and eggs were excellent. Janet and John are gracious delightful conversationalists, as were all the other guests. Four Mile Beach Inn seems to attract well read, well traveled, go with the flow people of all ages, parts of the world, backgrounds and interests. Sometimes the conversations with the people you meet are the best part of the trip (or at least tied with the gorgeous scenery).

Four Point Mile Inn is a great base camp from which to take day trips on the Cabot Trail or further north to Meat Cove. I highly recommend it!

One last comment on the a few of the previous reviews: John and Janet try to set expectations appropriately on breakfast and check in times on their website.They have early bird coffee set up at 7:15am in the general store (a window into the history of Nova Scotia in and of itself) and their front porch is a restful place to sit and take in the scenery while waiting for everything to be ready for check in. RE: ants it sounds like a one off experience but I feel for you!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Thank you Kay for your lovely review. It was a delight to have you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!! Keep well!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lil fish wrote a review Jul 2019
8 contributions2 helpful votes
We were so looking forward to staying here...upon arrival which is 4:30-6:30 check in time... don't show up before. We did and left to come back later...(I would have been happy to be offered to sit and wait)...the house is as agreed by another reviewer cluttered, dingy and in need of repairs especially the doors that do not close properly... we stayed in the bayview room on the first night if you can see past the trees you'll get a view of the water the room was not at all what we expected. The second night we were in room #4 I wouldn't have thought we would have to wait again for our room seeing that we were there the night before but we did, the is no wifi access in that room at all.. I ran out of water during my shower in the morning. We had been told that breakfast was at 8:30 sharp you do not have access to the breakfast area before 8:30 and was nothing more than boiled eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt not at all what we've had at other b&b's.The owners were informative I will say that. I also think the owners were a little shocked to see people sitting on the back porch in the afternoon having a couple drinks, I wish the atmosphere would have been different maybe a little more laid back, we are not partiers to say the least but enjoy having fun ... there could be a lot of potential here if it was done right...will definitely look for somewhere else next time
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Thanks for the review, Anne. And, thank you for your kind words on our informative approach. I thought we had a nice conversation about your job as a forklift operator and you didn’t mention any of these points ..... so we had no idea you were unhappy about your stay. We had a full house turnover the day you stayed at the inn for the afternoon ( usually people are out and about in the day when it is sunny)and to be honest we are not used to having people in the house when we are cleaning. We know we rush around, vacuuming, washing floors, etc. We have to do this to be able to finish by 4:30. It’s a big house and we lost our staff person due to an illness. We are clear about the timelines in our confirmation email. Regarding breakfast, we always have four or five freshly baked items in addition to eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt. We are usually complemented on our breakfast. We will review your items further to these points. I feel you may have felt slighted by us during your stay and if this is the case we are are truly sorry. The inn is our life project and while we know it is not a fancy lodging we generally have a great response from our guests and have a lot of fun in helping them to see the real Cape Breton. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle wrote a review Jul 2019
5 contributions
My husband, grandparents and I stayed here together for a 2 night stay. We were quickly disappointed. The house was cluttered with a dark and dingy feel. There were spiderwebs collecting on the clutter sitting on the window sills. There were ants crawling on the walls in the dinning room, all over the bathroom walls, and all over my grandfather's room. He also had black gunk lining the inside of his window sill. Not one door stayed closed when shut, and my grandmother had to get help daily just to open her door. We had the previous guest's hair left in the shower. There was no running water for the shower on our second night. The furniture looked like it had been picked up from the side of the road, and the matresses felt like they were well beyond used. We had to rig up something to stop the squeaky headboard so it wouldn't wake us up while we moved in our sleep. There were no places to set toiletries. Luggage bags had to sit on the floor, which was upsetting with the infestation of ants. Janet and John were quite welcoming and kind and did give us a list of things to do in the area and they did provide quite a bit of food for breakfast, however their idea of a bed and breakfast is not something we'd like to experience ever again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet C, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Thank you Michelle for your review. We are happy to see you liked the way we are helpful with “tips on things to see and do” in the area. We work hard at that part of our hosting. We are also happy to see you liked our breakfast and that you made the point that we are generous with our offerings. We are sad that you were unhappy with a number of details in the house. We will look at each the points you made and we will work to correct them. Some of them are an easy fix. The house is older and we work at it constantly but you do help us to focus on certain points. Thanks for that. The ants were a product of someone leaving something sweet in their waste basket and it lasted about two days.Sadly, they were the days that you were here. Your group appeared very tired when you were here as you had spent a lot of time driving. In future I would suggest to you that you slow down and take in the beauty and experiences that are out there. A note to future guests: please read some of the positive reviews below to get a full picture of our historical inn and the wonderful people who visit us here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie wrote a review Oct 2018
Ottawa, Canada6 contributions
My friend and I cycled the Cabot Trail, and after a long day were greeted with a warm welcome from Janet. She was nothing but kind and riddled with amazing facts about the area and her authentic inn (I won't write any as to not spoil it!) My favourite was the old store that they kept filled with books and maps of the area.

The room was cozy, and after a great sleep we ate a big breakfast full of baked goods and fruit. I was especially happy with my own personal coffee pot, which was offered to all the breakfast guests by John, the other half of the amazing team.

Both John and Janet were kind to offer any advice for things to do in North Cape, and prior to arrival in Nova Scotia Janet answered all of my questions over the phone.

Would highly recommend staying at this inn if you're looking for an authentic maritime experience. I hope to go back for some hiking and stay at the inn in the future!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous