We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 827: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Great location and easy to access including large car park. I had No issues in deciding where to stay based on the reassurances of the brand. However I was wrong. This place was really average, with only one staff member who gave a little effort to the service- the receptionist was bubbly and cheerful. She gave us a great welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence A
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a 2 night stay with our 5 month old baby and because of the time of year the pool and leisure facilities made us choose this hotel. 1. The standard room we originally booked was really too small to put up the travel cot so we had to pay extra to upgrade to an executive room 2. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for contacting me directly. I have responded directly to your email. Sincerely, Jim

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. On check in we were pleasantly surprised with the room which although traditionally furnished looked comfortable and clean with a massive bathroom. We made use of the gym and swimming pool which were fantastic. We had booked in to the restaurant but because there was only one other booking we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MFife
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my apologies for the mattress. We are currently in the process of replacing these so I will add this room to the list. Although the restaurant menu is fairly compressed, the larger, traditional Tavern menu is also available to those guests who book on a dinner, bed and...

Wigton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in a beautiful location with views of Skiddaw and Lake Bassenthwaite from the beer garden, the Tavern Bar of this hotel never disappoints. I live nearby, and frequently pop in for the special lunch menu, and a pint of local ale. Being a local I haven't stayed here, but its parent group has an excellent reputation. An added attraction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmellor0
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am obviously delighted that we are popular with locals as well as those visiting the area. Our aim is to keep the offering of quality at a decent price. Having at least 2 real ales on is also attractive and the Senior Citizens lunch is excellent value. I hope you keep coming back. Thanks....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on the sunday night dinner bed and breakfast offer. Staff were helpful. Room was nice but a little cold and draughty. Pool was ok but shame Jacuzzi not working. Food in the restaurant was lovely and the bar was nice. Breakfast was great. Would go again on this offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie C
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The room heater should have been left on for your arrival and I am sorry for this lapse. The spa bath will be replaced during the refurbishment of the leisure club this year. Thank you for the recommendation nand hope you will visit again soon. Best wishes Jim

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night for an event in Keswick the next day. Very comfortable hotel but the room was very cold on arrival. The reception staff could offer a warmer welcome but the staff in the bar were extremely helpful and friendly. Clean pool facilities, sauna and steam room. Would recommend this hotel for short breaks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AbSat1
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, but sorry to learn of the lack of warmth extended by my receptionist. I will have a word.... Thank you for your recommendation. Best wishes Jim

england
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch here. The food was very nice. Service a bit slow so don't be in a hurry. A good lunchtime menu. Even had a pensioners special menu. Two courses for £8. Can't be bad. Was worth the detour, will be back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pollengland
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lunch review. I am sorry that we were a little slow but I can find no obvious reason why. I am pleased that yiou found it good vakue for money and will see you next time. Kind regards Jim

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in the lodge retreat up the road for a couple of days and decided to stop here for a spot of lunch. We were ignored when we walked in, the staff walked away from the the bar when they saw us decide what to eat! Didn't appear again for another 10 minutes. Decided on a sandwich, chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasha H
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to learn of the poor service you received when viviting The Tavern. Please accept my sincere apologies. I am investigating who this could have been, and I am unsure as your day and time of visit and would be grateful if you could email me any additional details. jim.murray@castleinncumbria.co.uk This is completely out of character for...

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We went for a wedding, the room seemed ok when we went in but then realised the double room we payed for was two single beds pushed together which made sleeping as a couple very uncomfortable. The room was at the front of the hotel and the traffic outside kept us awake most of the night and to top it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samthorpe1990
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. My apologies about the room allocation for you, although I am surprised at such a price variance. I can see the rate you paid but cannot see another rate, that over the 2 nights similar to yours, was £40 per night cheaper. I believe the rate you were on was the preferential wedding guest rate,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We came to Bassenthwaite to visit the Lakes Distillery. IN our party was 2 adults and child (aged 8). The family room was large but I would say a little dated. It was clean. There was a games room available to use. After the visit to the distillery (Reccomended Highly) we went for a swim in the pool, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casson
jimmurray2017, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. I am sorry you didn't find everything you needed from the breakfast buffet for your child, and I take on board the feedback and will look to make alterations and additions. Sincerely, Jim

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.9 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,551 reviews
29.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
3.6 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
445 reviews
3.4 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
505 reviews
39.5 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Price Range: RM385 - RM872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
manchester
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 25 unless they replace the mattress”
  • Lumpy old mattress
 of 5 bubbles MFife, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The other side of the hotel to the road”
 of 5 bubbles samthorpe1990, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful cosy room with Lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles 174bleu, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Booking on line was a lot cheaper for the offers.”
 of 5 bubbles T4457VOmarkr, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All good but assume rooms in original part of building the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles thetowers2016, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5