We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle del Bosque 200 Mètres Au Nord De L'école, Ojochal 60504 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (223)
Pool & Beach (69)
Room & Suite (18)

About

#1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Phidjie Lodge is located on the south Pacific coast, in a charming village called: Ojochal. This B&B, owned by a French couple gives you the opportunity to hire a fully equipped and self contained bungalow. Wanna fancy surfing? diving? going to the beach or on a boat ride to see whales and dolphins? Everything is possible here! If you would rather relax by the swimming pool under the gaze of the toucans and parrots, you can do that too. Phidjie Lodge is above all a peaceful and relaxing place but also a wonderful base for many activities such a horse riding in Marino Ballena park, do kayak, snorkeling and/or diving to Cano Island, go for a whale and dolphin tour, do canopy, meeting Indians, discovering the rich fauna and more, even Manuel Antonio and Osa peninsula! with it famous Corcovado NP ! Besides booking excursions for you, we can also provide you with a rental car and give you advices and information to make your stay even more enjoyable. So, come and join us to discover wonders of Costa-Rica southern Pacific!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Boating
Canoeing
Car hire
Solarium
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
356Reviews4Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 20
  • 1
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bergziege S wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
The Phidjie Lodge was our best and most beautiful lodge we had on our 3 weeks holiday. The garden and the houses are well maintain and everything is very clean. The shower hat the highest waterpressure on our trip and the water was warm. The houses are decorated with love. The pool area is also very enjoyable. Olivier and Isabelle made our stay very familiar, peaceful and they were very friendly and helpful and gave us good information about the region. Olivier showed us the birds and monkeys which visited the garden. He also explained some plants to the children. Thank you, Olivier and Isabelle, for this quiet and wonderful place and stay. Franziska and family
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier et Isabelle DESPORT, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Whouah !!! Thank you so much for this nice review. You made my year, not only my day. What can i say after reading a such review. Just thank you ! Once again it was a pleasure to get you there with your 2 childs. As i told you, you're very interesting people, sweet and so cool. We really appreciated you. Have fun in Costa Rica and see u maybe in France ! why not ?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pascal L wrote a review May 2021
Bern, Switzerland37 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We just loved everything about this place! I stayed with my friend for 1 night and loved everything about our short stay! The place only has two bungalows, so you will have a lot of privacy. The property is just beautiful, you feel like you in the middle of the jungle. The pool is super clean and refreshing, the bungalows are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable and the owners, Olivier & Isabelle, are the most lovely people we met on our entire Costa Rica trip! They will read every wish from your lips and are just a delight to talk to! Go to Phidjie Lodge - you won't regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier et Isabelle DESPORT, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 4 May 2021
Hello Pascal, I already replied to you, in private, and thus you know what i'm thinking about this amazing review. Thanks to you and Jamie. You didn't make my day, but my whole year ;-) See you soon, you know where ! Olivier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alizée S wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Very nice stay at Isabelle & Olivier place. The bungalow was very clean and the host very welcoming (lot of tips to give to visit beautiful places). I recommend definitely this charming location (the garden is amazing, full of animals and generous vegetation). See you soon! Alizée & Max
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Beatrice wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions
+1
Two very lovingly and practically furnished bungalows by Olivier in the middle of a beautiful garden and a dreamlike Pool. little paradise perfect to relax after trips or just to let your mind wander. never on our travels have we found an accommodation in which so much love has been invested. olivier and his lovely wife isabelle run this lodge with a great deal of warmth and hospitality. we felt at home. They help you plan trips, have great tips for restaurants and help you wherever you can. Several ylang-ylang trees exude an enchanting scent in the garden in the evening and when it rains. you can discover many animals with a little time and patience. butterflies, many species of birds, monkeys, bats and and and ... we will never forget it and wish all guests an unforgettable time. thank you olvier and isabelle for this wonderful time😍
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DSandFS wrote a review Feb 2020
The Netherlands40 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Olivier and Isabelle have created a true piece of paradise!! The room we had was very nice, clean and comfortable. Olivier is very creative and made most of the furniture himself. We’ve enjoyed the swimming pool and the funny conversations with the owners and even with our neighbors. If we ever would have the opportunity again to visit Costa Rica, we certainly would come back at that exact same place and enjoy the nice talks with Olivier and Isabelle.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DIDJIE, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Hello DS and FS ! I like this "nicknames". Thank you so much for this nice review, couldn't be better ! It was a huge pleasure also for us to receive you there in our little paradise, even if it was too short ;-) Hope to see u there or elsewhere ;-) Once again for choosing us and your stay there. Have fun, Olivier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roderick wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
We had the most excellent time, Oliver and Isabel We're The Best of the Best, very helpful in every turn, even drove us down and showed us around uvita, delightful conversation The Perfect Host I would recommend to anyone Pura Vita. I would rate them five stars way above all the other places and we stayed quite a few places in 3 and 1/2 Weeks
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matthew B wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions
Bungalos in the jungle! Yes! Great place,so well decorated. The rooms are truly original and hand crafted. Hidden gem! Private and unique! The owners are awesome and full of life! They're cute and so accommodating. Such an experience! It's private and very quiet. Ojochal is a great town with tons of restaurants about a half hour from Dominical.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DIDJIE, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Hello Matt, Thank you so much for this kind review ! very appreciated. Here we do everything with our heart. It was a true pleasure to get your there with your father. Stay like that, you're a great guy ! Cheers, Olivier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SmartViajes wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We spent a lovely and memorable week at the Phidjie Lodge in Ojochal. It's a zen-like location with two clean bungalows and a garden filled with brilliant red, orange, and pink flowers, and the scents of Jasmine and Ylang Ylang. The occasional tucan and iguana add to the atmosphere. Isabelle and Olivier have artisan touches in all they do--and they spill with tips on the best French bakery, memorable tours to Drake Bay in the Corcovado National Park and the ideal beaches for sunsets to swimming. The bungalows are particularly valuable for the kitchen, stove and fridge because many outdoor excursions are enhanced with your own picnic. Would happily come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kliu wrote a review Jul 2019
New York City, New York5 contributions5 helpful votes
We first though the hotel has nice swimming pool and garden by the photos online. After checking in , we found the room were dirty, smelly and full of bugs, and no wifi. We didnt complain, because we were visiting the forest. After checking out, the owner send me messages to complain the room was left messy and attacked me. I know that I cleaned the room before leaving, I left something like a empty water bottle for recycle. Cleaned the kitchen and dishes. Then he followed more messages with racist comment. I agreed with previous comment posted by another guest, that The owner Oliver hates everybody. Many local people told me that owner Oliver had very bad reputation. I want to share my experience to warn others. Some beautiful photos taken by a professional won't capture the dirty and dark side of the owner and the hotel. The hotel has two rooms in total. This is a small town, there is no way he can earn more than 300 real reviews here. On Google review, it has 20 reviews, and others have 100.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DIDJIE, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 18 Jul 2019
Dear Customer, As I said before, if you knew how much I expected your negative opinion! You are so predictable! If you have not enjoyed your 5-night stay with us, then why stay so long? Upon your arrival, you asked me if you could leave overnight, when you had booked a week. I answered you, yes. So why did you stay ??? Unless you liked the cockroach company, as you say! Before coming, you sent me dozens of Whatsapp at indecent hours that I answered to help you! I organized the rental of your car, because you were unable to, etc., etc. When you call me a racist, my dear, sweep in front of your door. Just arrived, you told me "But why are people happy in this country?" They have nothing! We, Chinese Americans have everything! " What a shame to be so rude to a country! But apparently, shame, dignity, education and especially cleanliness are things you seem to ignore. Indeed, after your departure, we found our bungalow in a state of dirt like never before. Plastic bottles on the floor, papers and even food. But the trash was empty! Maybe you did not know what it was for? Maybe you live so at home? You were accompanied by your 2 girls of 4 and 7 years old. This is a very good example of education, I congratulate you! When to Wifi, it worked perfectly. Indeed, one day, you arrived with your "friends" 2 parents and their 4 daughters to enjoy the pool. You are so poorly educated that you did not ask for permission when these people were not customers at our place! And as luck would have it, the Wifi worked perfectly with their phones. I even came with my phone to prove you the right connection. Our establishment is in no way responsible for the mediocrity of your phone. Adapted to your small needs. In short, during your stay, you have only been critical, hypocrisy and dishonesty! So, I leave you to what you are, a little person who thinks he is not! Finally and finally, if we have so many positive reviews and people happy about their stay, it is because they have appreciated our services. And what's more, know that I will never pay and never pay! This surprises you, but it is so, another world exists, you still have so much to discover and learn! Finally and as I always say, when our customers read comments like yours, they laugh at the sight of so many other excellent ones! Moral of this story: respect people and behave as a human being if you want to be respected as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eyemallrt wrote a review May 2019
Seaside, Oregon27 contributions26 helpful votes
After reading the reviews for this place I had high expectations. Unfortunately I wish we would have stayed somewhere else. The lodge is located on an extremely busy, noisy and dusty road and rush hour begins before 6 am. The dust wafts into the rooms and grounds continuously. Next time we will stay in a more secluded mountain location where we can listen to nature instead of dogs, roosters, heavy equipment and traffic. After being in Ojochal, we love the area and town and now know there are a multitude of better places we could have stayed had we looked around a little more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DIDJIE, Propriétaire at Phidjie Lodge
Responded 29 May 2019
Hello, After a careful reading of your comment, I am just as disappointed as you ! Why will you tell me? Because I would have liked to remember you. Welle after an even closer check, you've never been one of my hosts !!! it would have been very interesting to add some photos to prove your stay, but of course nothing ! So, whether you've been a ghost client or you've made a mistake, even worse, you've written this review just to destroy. Pitiful ! Nothing positive in your opinion, I am really sorry that you had such suffering at home ! But be serious 2 minutes. We have so far 337 reviews, of which only 9 are average or mediocre. So, if I read your comments well, does that mean that 328 of my past hosts have had the same discomfort ? Or I bought their reviews ! And then write a negative opinion 3 months later, what a memory ! Come on, I'm going to take care of my adorable current hosts and leave you in your mediocrity. I honestly complain of being so bitter and acidic. Just one last thing: when my customers, friends or others read comments like yours, they laugh and say it takes everything to make a world ! Yours truly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOjochal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PHIDJIE LODGE: See 92 Reviews, Price Comparison and 259 Photos (Ojochal, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Phidjie Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Phidjie Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Playa Ventanas (3.1 km), Cascada El Pavon (3.4 km), and Stam Café (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Phidjie Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Phidjie Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Phidjie Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Phidjie Lodge?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Phidjie Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ballena Bistro, The Bamboo Room, and Citrus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Phidjie Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Phidjie Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.