We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Island Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Togian Islands
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Island Retreat
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Köln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2014 via mobile

The bungalow was basic with a nice sea view. The staff was nice and very polite. Especially our dive instructor (Indonesian guy, we forgot the name) was excellent. He showed us the best diving place ever. His english was good. We were so happy that he was so aware about the environment and always took care about the coral reefs.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank vanessa1233
Unterwaltersdorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We stayed for 10 days in late September 2014 in Island Retreat. For the journey we chose a private taxi from Palu to Ampana (about 11h) and the official ferry (2 1 / 2h). With the speed boat takes only 75 min. Once you arrive on the Togeans forget the arduous journey. A crystal clear water shimmers in the all... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank riwall
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We came there to check if this could be a good option for a bit more comfortable stay, but we left this place right away after talking to the manager with a sound belief we will never stay there and that we should warn other environmentally aware travellers about the way they handle their business. But first things first. It... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank NasiGorengPL
islandsylvie, Owner at Island Retreat, responded to this review

as owner and manager of Island Retreat, i have never responded to a review by a previous guest. but, in this case, i felt that it was necessary because of all the wrong information posested in this review. 1. the person from south africa is NOT the manager. she is a friend staying at the retreat. i am the only... More 

Travellers are raving about these Togian Islands hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We (couple) stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed every minute of our stay. Located on a lonely beach with literally nothing but jungle and wild nature around (the closest village Bomba is a one hour walk through the jungle or a 15 min boat drive away), this place is truly an amazing piece of paradise. We stayed in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nico N
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while traveling alone,which can be intimidating,but to say my time at the Retreat was a highlight is an understatement. Even the other guests were awesome! The place really is a little slice of paradise & feels like a home away from home after only a few days. I was more interested in snorkelling & swimming than lounging,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly W
Stafa, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A real retreat on a beautiful island beach with clear water. Bungalows are perfect - we enjoyed the very spacious honeymoon bungalow. Delicious food, rich in variety. The excellent dive instructor Jazz as well as Mally with her good humor, her stories and Sylvie with her personality create a very special and positive character of the place, a welcoming and... More 

Helpful?
Thank renate205
new dehli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just arrived back at home and just can't get the island retreat out of our heads.its not just the paradise that makes your time,but its the people you share it with.We were so inspired by those we encountered,from every background you can imagine and being there in the islands without any contact with the outside world makes table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank markozzienewdehli
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Island Retreat in early May 2014. We felt that it was the best accommodation in Bomba and although slightly higher in price, it was well worth paying the difference. The rooms are spacious and very clean with a number having a clear view of the sea and the beach and of course a hammock... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel Y
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very nice arranged Resort.The bungalows have bathrooms with beautiful handmade ceramic mosaic colored in blue and white. All the staff was very friendly. Food was excellent indonesian style as well as pasta and pizza. We had a great time with Jez, Island Retreat's very professional dive master. All gear for diving was in perfect shape. The house riff is really... More 

Helpful?
Thank mullrichm
Thonon-les-Bains, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

About 7 dogs and as many cats, some in a very poor condition. Some dogs scratching, stinking as very rarely washed, often howling at night, sometimes fighting.Denied the minimum veterinary cares. At night, some howling, sleeping on the tables of the restaurant, licking the table-clothes. Those animals, hens included roam the kitchen where they have free access and try to... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank JacquesERARD
islandsylvie, Owner at Island Retreat, responded to this review

we are surprised that Jacques had written such a review, as he had stayed at the retreat for FOUR MONTHS, at over 50% discount because we had sympathy for him, an older, lone traveler. his review, we are sure, may have been motivated by other factors (perhaps personal) which he was "driven" to write. this year, one year after his... More 

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Togian Islands
0.0 km away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
222 reviews
0.0 km away
Black Marlin Dive Resort
Black Marlin Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
184 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pulocinta Ecoresort
Pulocinta Ecoresort
#2 of 9 in Gorontalo
22 reviews
0.0 km away
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
#1 of 3 in Wangi Wangi Island
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Address: Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Togian Islands
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Island Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beach front.”
 of 5 bubbles 68msf, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Beach Side bungalow is a must here. If available, take the honeymoon suite to have a bit more space, furniture and an upper level in the bungalow.”
  • Bathroom with mandiri
  • Beach bungalows
  • View from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles nicon258, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Honeymoon Bungalow suitable for families too.”
 of 5 bubbles renate205, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“all rooms except the garden rooms are waterfront,but even the garden cottage is ten big steps to water”
 of 5 bubbles markozzienewdehli, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are exceptional with high balconies.”
  •                   Sunrise from my balcony
 of 5 bubbles EarlB686, 17 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5