We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Retreat

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Togian Islands
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Thonon-les-Bains, France
Reviewed 29 November 2013

About 7 dogs and as many cats, some in a very poor condition. Some dogs scratching, stinking as very rarely washed, often howling at night, sometimes fighting.Denied the minimum veterinary cares. At night, some howling, sleeping on the tables of the restaurant, licking the table-clothes. Those animals, hens included roam the kitchen where they have free access and try to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JacquesERARD
islandsylvie, Owner at Island Retreat, responded to this review

we are surprised that Jacques had written such a review, as he had stayed at the retreat for FOUR MONTHS, at over 50% discount because we had sympathy for him, an older, lone traveler. his review, we are sure, may have been motivated by other factors (perhaps personal) which he was "driven" to write. this year, one year after his...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I think you may be paying for the location. Food was good, but pancakes and bread heavy and salty. Needs to be a option to buy other stuff, crisps/chocolate besides just fizzy drinks. But was given pizza and pasta which is a change from Indonesian food. Also quite far from jelly fish lake and bomber dive wreck. So think about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FoodieLDN
London
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I spend here 7 nights with my boyfriend for a week of relaxing and enjoying the sun. Unfortunately, the sun didn't shine much. The retreat is lovely and the cottages a bit more basic as expected with only a bucket 'shower' and the room a bit drafty (which you notice when the sun isn't shining all day long) However, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Belle_Dutchie
Buelach, Switzerland
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We did not stayed in Island Retreat (but in the close Puyalisa Cottages) but dived twice with Jez, Island Retreat's dive master. All gear was in perfect shape and Jez had always everything under control so we felt very safe. The dive site (Taupan Island) is also great and we had a very good time. And as a nice unexpected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jschriber
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed 10 days - Sylvie is wonderful host. The grounds are spotless, the staff took us on an adventures everyday we requested, and there was still lot to exploring on our own. The diving was the best I had seen, probably ever. Bring mosquito repellent. We are eager to return with our family one day! The food was surprisingly delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zoe Z
Davis, California
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My Coral Reef Ecology class (19 people) stayed at Island Retreat for 6 days and nights. The resort is absolutely lovely. The local staff goes out of their way to be helpful. The food was amazingly delicious and healthy. Phillip the divemaster was familiar with and knowledgable about the divesites. While we had mosquito nets we never needed them. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Earl B
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I was staying at the retreat for a month and a half, had lots of fun. All the staff was very friendly and helped in any way they could. One just needs to realize that this is not your regular beach resort, just take things as they are and make the most of it whilst being there. The owner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estonian1977
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 16 December 2012

What a wonderful place! The resort is lovely on a perfect stretch of beach close to the village of Bomba. The bungalows are well taken care of, very nice, basic, but there is all you need: bathroom with fresh water, mandi, western style toilet, double bed with moskito net, tables, chairs and a nice balcony with hammock looking right onto...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katja1270
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Nice, basic bungalows, very friendly staff and good food. However, the owner (Sylvie) was not nice at all. She pretends to need nothing at all, but she is overcharging and unfriendly to her staff. When we were there, Vladimir (diving instructor) did not have time to give lessons, besides he used the only...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Nienke1970
Wetzlar, Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2012

YOu have to pay 37US$ per Person fo a simple room without a fan, a aircon or even a SHOWER. The put smelly water out of a river or something like that and put in in your room, where you have to wash yourself by using a big cup The american girl who is running the resort simply want's to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Butterflytours2012

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Togian Islands
0.0 km away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
202 reviews
0.0 km away
Black Marlin Dive Resort
Black Marlin Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
193 reviews
0.0 km away
Pulocinta Ecoresort
Pulocinta Ecoresort
#2 of 10 in Gorontalo
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
Patuno Resort Wakatobi
#1 of 3 in Wangi Wangi Island
122 reviews
0.0 km away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
166 reviews
0.0 km away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Address: Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Togian Islands
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Island Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beach front.”
68msf, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Beach Side bungalow is a must here. If available, take the honeymoon suite to have a bit more space, furniture and an upper level in the bungalow.”
  • Bathroom with mandiri
  • Beach bungalows
  • View from the balcony
nicon258, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Honeymoon Bungalow suitable for families too.”
renate205, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“all rooms except the garden rooms are waterfront,but even the garden cottage is ten big steps to water”
markozzienewdehli, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are exceptional with high balconies.”
  •                   Sunrise from my balcony
EarlB686, 17 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5