We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Glenorchy Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenorchy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Glenorchy Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I popped into Glenorchy for a few days in order to avoid the chaos that is Queenstown. There are only a few budget accommodation providers in town, which is perhaps unfortunate because the setting is stunning. I opted for the "backpackers retreat" at Glenorchy Hotel, the hotel arguably being the social epicentre of town. Unfortunately there wasn't much to it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The Glenorchy Hotel is charming and has fantastic views out towards the mountains and Valley. The staff were all friendly and attentive . Our room in the hotel had plenty of room and it was warm... and we loved the mohair blanket. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked well. Once we settled in , we had a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sars355
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel.The views are very special in Glenorchy and it was good to see that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We were pleased that the arrangements we made for you ended up being to your liking as travelling so far and organising such a trip is not easy. We were honoured to have...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We stayed in the backpackers cabin which looked nice and quaint. Lots of clean cutlery and dishes available, but unfortunately the stove wasn't working. It was a bit late in the night so we decided not to bother the staff and just used the microwave and kettle as well as we could to make dinner. Glenorchy has the loveliest views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annefrost
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your comments.I checked the stove and the hotplates are working so maybe ask our staff next time when you are here so we can show you which button/switch to push. We dont have single beds in the cabin they are bunks so not sure where you stayed,Maybe in the main cottage which has all been renovated. The...

seattle
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Since Glenorchy was one of my favorite locations in New Zealand it's tough to see anything negative. This hotel was standard. The rooms and shower were a bit small but that didn't stop me from sleeping well. The location is fantastic! The staff were friendly and willing to offer recommendations when we asked questions. I cannot speak for the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeneMiles
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to stay at our hotel.Nice to see that you slept well on our new great beds! We are in the Centre of town so good to see that you enjoyed the location as well. I will pass on your comments to our staff as we think they are friendly too. Thankyou.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Glenorchy is a wonderful place to be, with stunning scenery surrounding Lake Wakatipu and in the Dart and Rees River valleys - Lord of the Rings "territory". Glenorchy Hotel is a good base - with great food in the dining room, but rooms are a bit spartan for the price. I had an en-suite room, with thin walls between adjacent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mycophile
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel. Our lighting is Eco lighting as we are all trying to help save the planet.The lights do light the room enough once they are on as most guests leave them on. The wall heater has a thermostat on it and yes being winter it is better to be warmer than colder...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Scenic drive to Glenorchy from Queenstown and a great little pub. Great range of beers ciders and wine. Restaurant with both indoor and outdoor dining. Great friendly service and certainly a place to pull up and rest a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter y
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi,Thanks for taking the time to call in for a beer.Nice to also see that our staff looked after you. Thankyou.

Roleystone, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We took a drive to Glenorchy and arrived at lunch time. This hotel looked very appealing with a natural stone wall and glass windbreak around the front garden. We had lunch looking at snow topped peaks and waterfalls, magic spot. We both ordered beer battered fish and chips, which were done to perfection. The hotel caretaker was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemini2261
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for choosing to visit us and have lunch.The beer battered fish n chips are fresh and well worth trying. Our views from the beer garden area are superb and well sheltered. Thankyou.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Glenorchy is a very small community located at the northern tip of Lake Wakatipu in the Otago province of the South Island of New Zealand. It is a small township with limited accommodation options so do book ahead. We pre-booked and stayed at the Glenorchy Hotel, which is not very big, and rather quaint. It is a back-country hotel, older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winston018
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Winstone, Many thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel. It was nice to see that you enjoyed our deserts which are rather special. The road trip is rated as one of the best in the world and can be quite exciting at times, with different nationalities interpretation of the NZ road rules! Thankyou for your honest comments.It is...

kitchener
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The Glenorchy Hotel was not the worst place we have stayed in but it was close.. There is one toilet for 14 people and it was not clean.. There were men shouting and carrying on in the parking lot and garden area most of the night.. And we woke up to a kitchen sink full of barf and food strewn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khigginscc
TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

There are three toilets and four showers you only have to look.At busy times when trampers are all checking in facilities are always used to the max. You left your food on the floor in an open container and also left chocolate on the window which melted leaving a mess.You also left food in the fridge without your name on...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Stopped for lunch after a drive from Queenstown to Glenorchy. The garden bar at the front was nice. We had lunch here and weren't terribly impressed. Presentation was very disappointing and there it was nothing more than okay. I'd definitely try somewhere else next time. I expect more for my money than got here and some of the meals on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKerry53
TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel, responded to this review

Guests like you are so rude and "'Nothing special'' either Pump up your tyres and on your bike smiler.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
29.0 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,219 reviews
29.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
2,867 reviews
29.3 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
189 reviews
3.0 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
223 reviews
0.0 km away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenorchy Hotel

Address: Mull Street, Glenorchy 9350, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: RM89 - RM356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Glenorchy Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Paradise room or Earnslaw. I think they are all probably very good”
 of 5 bubbles sars355, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Worth it to pay more to stay on the hotel side if you're looking for more luxury”
 of 5 bubbles annefrost, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Recommend requesting a room with en-suite unless you're OK with shared facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Mycophile, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Lots of other places in town”
 of 5 bubbles khigginscc, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles NBB58, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5