We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Glenorchy

The Glenorchy Hotel

Save
Traveller (22)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good37%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“power cut”(2 reviews)
“dart river”(2 reviews)
“paradise”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (69)Write a Review
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
14
23
14
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
23
14
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspower cutdart riverparadisequeenstowndrivescenerybeautylakehosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove to Glenorchy while we were staying in Queenstown. A beautiful sunny afternoon, nothing better than enjoying a couple of beers in the garden out the front of the pub. What made it more special was the lovely lady from Doncaster, South Yorkshire served...More

Thank MAXINE B
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy HotelResponded 5 days ago

Hi Maxine, Thank you for coming to our hotel for a few quite beers and enjoying the food and the views. It was great that you had the opportunity to talk to Lisa about life back home. Please call again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed lunch here after our Dart River jet boat experience. Such a beautiful day so was nice to sit outside and soak in the awesome views. Lunch was served quickly. Menu was extensive. Prices were on the expensive side though.More

Thank Mewett_Family
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing to visit our establishment and dine off our extensive menu and enjoy the views and good service. Unfortunately in this world of quality and service there is a price to pay for it. We appreciate your comments but realise that this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was actually nice although not pub grub prices; but to be honest it is a tourist attraction. If you come in the bar from the street before you order there have a look around the corner as there is a sandwiche/cafe counter to look...More

Thank ctravla
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to our Hotel for lunch. You are right we do not serve Pub grub and our prices reflect this. We pleased that you enjoyed the food and garden bar and the views. Please call again. Cheers.

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We came across this place after a long drive around the lake and loved the charm of it. We had one of our best meals here. Saw an unusual funeral, but typical of the bush. Worth the drive and stopping for some lunch.

Thank Dianne F
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy HotelResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel for lunch and taking the time to visit.The drive to Glenorchy is very pleasant with great views.Please call again.

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We dropped into the Glenorchy Hotel for lunch after driving down from Queenstown. It was lovely to find the hotel opened & still serving lunch. For lunch we ordered the warm beef salad & buffalo chicken wings. Both were tasty & it was pleasant to...More

1  Thank Ellemay
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy HotelResponded 16 September 2017

Thankyou for choosing to visit our hotel and have lunch by the fire.Thanks for the comments about the food. Please call again.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Glenorchy Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Inside the hotel itself are the better rooms. There is shared bathroom facility."
Read review
"Paradise room or Earnslaw. I think they are all probably very good"
Read review
"Worth it to pay more to stay on the hotel side if you're looking for more luxury"
Read review
"Recommend requesting a room with en-suite unless you're OK with shared facilities."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite