We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$26
          View Deal
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          Overview
          • Excellent70%
          • Very good21%
          • Average6%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “surf lessons” (33 reviews)
          “coffee shack” (143 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Pets Allowed
          Laundry Service
          Shuttle Bus Service
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (319)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          There are newer reviews for Coffee Shack Backpackers See the most recent reviews

          51 - 55 of 319 reviews

          Reviewed 7 April 2016

          Amazing Scenery, Helpful Staff... Absolutely do not miss this place when visiting South Africa or the wild coast. Careful in the rainy season for the roads, however they will make your adventure seem more worthy. awesome staff with awesome value.More

          1  Thank Danger L
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 8 April 2016

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a great stay. Thanks for highlighting that you need to drive even more carefully down from the National road (N2) when it rains, and that...More

          Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

          This was a great backpacker I really enjoyed my stay here. Got the shuttle from mthatha which was late but we all got free dinner and drinks which was generous! This is a bit of a party backpackers and great place to meet new friends....More

          Thank Angela L
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 8 April 2016

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack and great to hear that you had a fun stay. Sorry about the shuttle being late that day, but unfortunately there was a problem with the brakes of the vehicle and obviously...More

          Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

          The Coffee Shack is an absolute gem. I was on my way home from Cape Town on a solo road trip and the Coffee Shack was the second stop on my journey. I planned an overnight stay but when I got there and got into...More

          Thank Jewell4u
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 April 2016

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. The hike to Hole in the Wall is a "must do", but as you mention, it is a proper hike and does...More

          Reviewed 26 March 2016

          We arrived late in the evening and were glad to find it. If you come with your own car make sure to arrive there by daylight. During night there are lots of people and animals on the street. If you come by baz bus you...More

          Thank Fabian A
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 April 2016

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you had an awesome time. Thanks for commenting on the drive down from the N2, as you suggest, it is preferable to try and arrive in the...More

          Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

          If you are thinking weather to go to Coffee Bay and Coffee Shack Backpackers you really should. Especially if you're interested in surfing. This place offers probably cheapest surfing lessons in entire world. If you don't like surfing still go. There's plenty to do in...More

          Thank Anna-Liisa P
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 3 April 2016

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and glad to hear that you enjoyed our little paradise. Thanks for commenting on our surf lessons; we also believe that at R50 for a two hour lesson (including equipment) they are...More

          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          154 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$19 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 13
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Eastern Cape >
          • Coffee Bay
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (89)
          Family and Play Areas (3)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
          110 reviews
          6.08 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Delicious Monster
          85 reviews
          51.24 km away
          Panarottis Mthatha
          27 reviews
          57.11 km away
          Friends Wild Coast Cafe
          35 reviews
          .15 km away
          Wood n Spoon
          32 reviews
          53.00 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Hole in the Wall
          160 reviews
          6.81 km away
          Nelson Mandela Museum
          23 reviews
          55.73 km away
          Offshore Africa
          9 reviews
          56.64 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Amanda M
          Kings house vs rondavel? We have the opportunity to stay and are super excited. We can't seem to choose between sharing a place with another couple at kings house or getting a rondavel and sharing the communal bathroom. We are a couple and kind like our privacy but want the authentic experience. Also scared about communal kitchen how can we be sure our stuff will be safe?
          19 April 2017|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from David M | Property representative |
          Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
          0
          Votes
          Cindy7ZN
          how is the road to travel with a small car how far is the walk to the hole in the wall would there be Skype connection anything else I need to know thank you
          16 September 2014|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
          Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Rooms by Kings House"
          Read review
          "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
          Read review
          "Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception."
          Read review
          "Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing