We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crab & Lobster Inn

TravelocityUS$75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$77*
US$75*
Great Deal
US$77*
US$77*
US$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crab & Lobster Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Start your review of The Crab & Lobster Inn
 Click to rate
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the food here. I had a roast which came with a variety of vegetables as it came with broccoli, carrots, parsnips and red cabbage. It also came with a lot of beef, a yorkshire pudding, stuffing and roast potatoes. I enjoyed my meal a lot minus the potatoes (but I have found at any restaurant I have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmullender
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear mrsmullender, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback,. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. If you wish to book a table on your next visit, please call us on 01983872244. We look forward to seeing you again, Tracy

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited last year and had the Platter, came again the same time this year and ordered the £68 platter again. Ultimately felt totally short changed!! The platter was lacking the whole lobster cut in half (now you just get half of a small lobster cut in two!!), missing the mussels in sauce, missing the scallops, missing the scampi/fish bites and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jason S, Thank you for writing your review, and providing us with feedback from your visit. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with some of the dishes you ordered from us. We have recently taken over the Crab and Lobster, and have put a new menu into place, which will be later reviewed from customers feedback. Our...

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived earlier than we had booked but it was not a problem and we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were very attentive and courteous. We had eaten there before it was taken over and we all agreed that the food, service and attention to detail had not changed and was still a very good standard. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anne T, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's good to hear how much you enjoyed you're visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind Regards

Shanklin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited last weekend with the intention of eating. The place inside was empty and on entering the barman ignored us, then said he would be with us in a minute, then proceeded to enter into a discussion with the chef that was sat in the bar, they went on to talk to another member of staff, which he seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blcoltd49
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear blcoltd49, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I can only apologise for the way in which you were treated. This is not our normal standard. All customers should be greeted and served as a priority. If you could please contact me on 01983872244 to provide some more details of when you visited I would like to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called by as we used to come here years ago. Since then it seems to have lost its way a little. Dressed crab was some crab meat stuffed in the shell on top of a lot of lettuce. The prawns my wife had were sweet and lovely but the salad was uninspired and eggs might have been booked days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loubreak
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Loubreak, Many thanks for the review. It's good to hear you enjoyed the prawns, just a shame the rest of the meal wasn't to you're liking. We do try to serve great food and deliver a great experience to all our customers, unfortunately this has not happened on this occasion. I will pass on the comments regarding the crab...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 6 at 6:30pm for dinner and by 8:30 we left as we had still not received our food. Had been recommended to The Crab & Lobster. The pub was very busy but there is no excuse for the lack of organisation and appalling service. The pub was very busy with bank holiday weekend customers, which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I would like to apologise for the service you experienced on your visit. This is not our normal way of operating, this was just an extremely busy day and we were not prepared for the level of customers. We have learnt from it and it will better prepare...

Norfolk, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly, buzzing pub with a great menu on offer. Unfortunately we had booked elsewhere for a meal later so did not sample all that was available. Definitely return when we are next on the Island. Seating outside available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flosephine
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Flosephine, Thanks for posting such a nice review. Hopefully we will see you next time you are over. Regards

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a spontaneous dinner a few nights ago and was extremely satisfied. Food was great, not too pricey, and was served quickly ☺ I'd definitley come here again and woukd recommend it to others travelling around the island or living locally.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anthony W, Thanks for the great review. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This used to be one of our favourite places on IOW to come for lunch but they have changed the menu this year so now you have a much smaller choice, everything is very fussy and very very expensive. We had to wait ages just to order our food although they were not that busy and were advised there would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodin2009
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear goodin2009, Many thanks for your review. We have had very good comments about our new menu and will carry on developing it with the customers feedback. I'm sorry that it wasn't to your liking. Regards

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Have been here plenty of times in the past for first the class food cant say the same this year, like many other I have been very disappointed since the owner/chef change. Food was very poor, the £68 platter was total garbage compared to last year, over cooked fish badly cooked prawns tiny lobster and no scallops or crab as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley A
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kingsley A, Thank you for you're feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with the food, we do sell a lot of the seafood platters and have had great feedback. It should've contained a crab ramekin also. I have passed this onto the kitchen to help with future visits. regards

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bembridge
3.8 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
433 reviews
13.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
792 reviews
19.2 km away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pilot Boat Inn
Pilot Boat Inn
#3 of 10 in Bembridge
106 reviews
0.1 km away
Mulberry Cottage
Mulberry Cottage
#2 of 10 in Bembridge
68 reviews
0.7 km away
Harbourside View
Harbourside View
#1 of 10 in Bembridge
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster Inn

Address: 32 Foreland Road, Bembridge PO35 5XW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Price Range: RM321 - RM551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crab & Lobster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crab & Lobster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab & Lobster Hotel Bembridge
The Crab And Lobster Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crab & Lobster Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have never stayed there as it is local. We have only used it as an Inn/restaurant.”
Hpendragon, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Restaurant review get there early for lobster as they can run out.”
Y6220IPsharonb, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Have never stayed at this inn”
373june, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Nab is a large room with the best view”
PeterandYvonne, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“stay in the Ned room , great views And plenty of room.”
Madnana22, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$77
Orbitz.comUS$75
Expedia.comUS$75
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates