We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mains of Taymouth Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We had an amazing weekend staying at The Farmhouse for my friends Hen party. It is a truly high end luxury large cottage, complete with large garden and hot tub. The living space was perfect for a big group of girls and the open plan kitchen and dining area was gorgeous too. There is an AGA but also a normal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We're glad you had a fantastic weekend! The Farmhouse is a great house for a family and friends get together. Thanks for a great review.

Lexington, VA
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We stayed in the Stables cottage for five nights, which was very nice and spacious. it easily held our group (4 adults, 2 young kids), and easily accommodated 12 more for a party one night. The whole place was lovely, and the area is gorgeous. My kids really enjoyed pony rides at the Mains Stables. We had a large take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5 star review, we're so pleased everyone enjoyed their stay in The Stables. Thank you for your understanding concerning the Hot Tub, We hope you will have the opportunity to return to Mains of Taymouth in future.

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Bruadair House was lovely and comfortable with extremely good facilities. The restaurant was welcoming as there was eight of us and nothing was too much trouble, in fact all of the staff were helpful approachable and friendly from our first contact over the telephone and when we arrived and during our stay. Our two dogs loved it too as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in Bruadair House and thank you for your lovely comments concerning both the accommodation, restaurant and our staff. We hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Darlington, England
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed in 10 maxwells for 7 nights. We received a warm welcome and they have obviously responded to previous feedback and dog rules! Our pooch was made to feel very welcome and loved her welcome biscuit. The accommodation is very good and the standard of furnishing and equipment provided for self catering was excellent. The location is lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuckthechimp
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We're glad you all enjoyed your stay in The Maxwells and thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review! Some great places to visit, please feel free to submit photos for inclusion in our 'Guest Gallery'. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Everything about mains of Taymouth is five star, The accommodation, surroundings and staff. To say the accommodation was immaculate is an under statement, there is every utensil, cup, saucer, plate etc you could ever need and I'm sure if there was something you needed the staff would be more than willing to get it for you where possible. Unfortunately I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiraandtessalina
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely review following your stay in The Gallops. Thanks also for the great photos! Hope it won't be too long before we have the opportunity ty welcome you back.

Scotland, UK
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Mains of Taymouth (MOT) is in a fabulous location with great facilities. This was our second visit having spent a great Easter in 6 Maxwell's. This visit we opted for a property with greater privacy; Rivard, Castle Gardens - HUGE mistake! This trip was spoiled, in our opinion, by the poor quality/extremely soft mattress resulting in me suffering excruciating back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulinejframe
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay in Rivard. We're extremely sorry you did not enjoy your weekend in this property and in particular the softer mattress in the master bedroom. We're pleased to advise that the mattress is not worn, or indeed of a lesser quality than others on the Estate (Rivard has just been awarded 4 star...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We had 10 family members across three generations aged from 20 to 86, and all enjoyed the facilities. There for a 'significant birthday' celebration long weekend we made full use of the house and all its equipment, including the ice crusher. Our mixologist niece was kept very busy spoiling us with mega margaritas.....thanks Lottie! The hot tub was excellent fun,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACKC_10
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Margaritas..... if only we had known!! We're delighted you all had a great time and many thanks for the recommendation.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The ultimate question for any review should be "Would you go back?" and in this case I would answer "Yes, definitely". The staff at the reception were friendly, helpful and efficient and they make you feel very welcome. The Maxwell 1 bed accommodation was modern, comfortable and well appointed. The location is exceptional with numerous outdoor activities nearby. What would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in a 1 bedroom Maxwell Villa. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. We offer free wi fi throughout the Estate, via our satellite system, as well as separate wi fi in our Courtyard Bar & Restaurant. We accept it is perhaps...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Ideally situated for a game of golf, boating on Loch Tay or riding a bike. Some great routes include: 1. Around Loch Tay taking in Killin (34 miles) 2. Kinloch Rannoch taking in Tummell Bridge and the breathtaking Loch Rannoch (36 miles) 3. Glen Lyon and Ben Lawers (38 miles). Great facilities at 2 Maxwells - perfect for a family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baggiboy
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

We're very pleased the family enjoyed their stay in2 Maxwells as well as some of the many outdoor activities available both on site and in the area. Thanks also for the cycling route tips which we're sure will be appreciated by future guest, much appreciated.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

My husband and I spent 4 nights in one of the Maxwell one bedroom villas at the beginning of August. The staff were very friendly and helpful both at enquiry and booking and also when checking in. Our villa, No10, was perfect for us. There was a small vestibule on entering with plenty space for muddy shoes and boots (we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia186487
ManagerTaymouth, Manager at Mains of Taymouth Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a lovely in depth review of your visit to Mains of Taymouth and No. 10 Maxwells. Sorry about the oversight with the coat hangers (you should have had more!) and this has since been addressed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next year and that the sun will shine!

816 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
5:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Castle Garden Houses (61)
Viewed
Cottages (265)
Viewed
Gallops (74)
Viewed
Maxwells (43)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
White Family House (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmore
0.4 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
827 reviews
9.0 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,137 reviews
39.7 km away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,686 reviews
14.4 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
359 reviews
0.3 km away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 120 acre private country estate set in magnificent Highland Perthshire with stunning self catering properties sleeping from 2 to 12, many with hot tubs, saunas and games rooms, all at either a high 4* or 5* STB standard. Our excellent onsite facilities include our own golf course, riding stables, delicatessen & gift shop and cafe bar & restaurant all within walking distance from each property. Stunning views, tourist attractions & much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mains of Taymouth Cottages

Address: Taymouth Taymouth Mains of Taymouth Country Estate & Golf Course, Kenmore PH15 2HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kenmore
Price Range: RM972 - RM1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mains of Taymouth Cottages 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mains of Taymouth Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Of Taymouth Cottages Hotel Kenmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mains of Taymouth Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mains of Taymouth Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Self catering but there is restaurant on site”
 of 5 bubbles mmraemail, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The old stable flat is attractive with private garden space”
 of 5 bubbles mmedin, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Capercaillie was beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles MacBEdinburgh, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor apartments are dog friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles LWLJP, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“'Calm Waters' Holiday Cottage is a must, without doubt.”
 of 5 bubbles ModernTraveller2016, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5