We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Apoyo Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Apoyo Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apoyo Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The resort is a mixture of great and not so good. The setting is wonderful. The resort is situated on a hillside that overlooks a crater lake and most rooms have a wonderful view. There are rooms, apartments and villas to choose from at standard pricing for the type of resort and amenities. The hill is steep from top to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
Nelson1462, Gerente at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for this inconvenience and we appreciate your feedback, we take your comments seriously as they help improve our service and we promise to you as our customer. Again we apologize and come back and give us another opportunity. PS. We offered a Buffet Service only, due to the large quantity of guest, it becomes impossible to...

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Poor service, decent rooms. Over priced, terrible food. The only activities are the on the lake and enjoying the sun - which you can do at any of the other, much cheaper resorts. DO NOT ACCEPT LIFTS OR ANY FAVORS BY LOCALS OR TOURISTS ALIKE.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Daniel D
Nelson1462, Gerente at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, I am sorry that your stay was disappointing. I hope you decide to try us again Nelson

Hulhumale Maldives
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

This resort is in the jungle at a crater lake. Three restaurants which are pricey. Check in was a disaster. First they overcharged, then gave us an apartment but we booked a villa had to go back to reception. Then they gave us a villa. We were travelling with our dog and it said that dogs were permitted upon request,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DarlingK767
Nelson1462, Gerente at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear DarlingK767: I am sorry about the entire pet issue. In our country pets are not allowed in hotels, unless they are seeing eye dogs. We do provide pool towels, maid service and in-room coffee. I know the pet issue made it all go down hill, I am sorry for that. I hope we can serve you again in te...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 November 2015

I had to make cancel my reservation due to work schedule. I call and call and finally someone pick up the phone, I inform them of the problem and was told that if I didn’t make it I would lose my money. I ask if I could change the date in order to not lose my money, I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carlos A
Nelson1462, Gerente at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carlos: I apologize for you feeling the way you do. I assure you that we are not in the business of taking people's deposits. My FB Page is a page for the Chef Nelson Porta and it has close to 100,000 followers. It is not a page for you to vent your claims in public, with the intention of...

Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The service at the restaurant was terrible. We order a Ceasr Salad and a Fish Filet. After 40 mins of waiting I went and ask at the desk for our food and they had the salad waiting write ther because the fish was not ready. They said it would come out ina few minutes. We waited and nothing. The salad...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diego M
Arodc170688, Reservation and Marketing Manager at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for this inconvenience and we appreciate your feedback, we take your comments seriously as they help improve our service and we promise to you as our customer. Again we apologize and come back and give us another opportunity. Apoyo Resort

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I was told that this was a Pets Welcome facility. So, I brought our 2 yorkies. We arrived and the front desk was more than welcoming and nice. Checked in then we went to the bus where the guard was to take us to our room. The guard started pointing and saying in spanish no dogs, no dogs, go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stbradensmom
Arodc170688, Reservation and Marketing Manager at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for this inconvenience and we appreciate your feedback, we take your comments seriously as they help improve our service and we promise to you as our customer. Again we apologize and come back and give us another opportunity. Apoyo Resort

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I have been to quite a few of the lagoon-side resorts and this one was probably one of the better ones. I wouldn't go as far as to say it was number 1, but it was certainly 2 or 3. It didn't cost a penny to be there for the day, but the prices of food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis J
Arodc170688, Reservation and Marketing Manager at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guy, We really appreciate your feedback. As you know, here in LA LAGUNA there are different businesses and everyone has pricing according to its quality. However, our prices are competitive around. Again thank you for your comment! Apoyo Resort

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We soent the day relaxing and swimming in the pool and the lake. It is more expensive than other options at the Apoyo area, but menu is good and drinks very diverse. My daughther loved the kayaks and pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
Arodc170688, Reservation and Marketing Manager at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback, we take your comments seriously as they help improve our service. Hope to see you again. Apoyo Resort

Fresno, California
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at Apoyo Resort. The staff, food, and ambiance was amazing! We stayed in a beautiful villa overlooking the wonderful views of the lake. In addition, we enjoyed the monkeys in the trees. We also participated in a few of the tours that are offered at the resort. Juan, the general manager, as well as, Nelson,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Epborch
Arodc170688, Reservation and Marketing Manager at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guy, Thank for for your nice comments; It's a pleasure to have customers like you at Apoyo. We will waiting for you again. Apoyo Resort

Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewed 3 April 2015

It was my second time to visit this resort. I came back because the view of the Laguna de Apoyo from this property is simply stunning and I believe it has the best place to enjoy watching birds and other animals like monleys and squirrles. The only difference might be that this time we went there during the easter holidays....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jasminemari
Nelson1462, Gerente at Apoyo Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for this inconvenience and we appreciate your feedback, we take your comments seriously as they help improve our service and we promise to you as our customer. Again we apologize and come back and give us another opportunity. Apoyo Resort

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
4.3 km away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
55 reviews
7.8 km away
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
11.6 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 42 in Granada
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#2 of 6 in La Laguna de Apoyo
119 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Selva Azul
Hotel Selva Azul
#4 of 7 in La Laguna de Apoyo
101 reviews
2.0 km away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 7 in La Laguna de Apoyo
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Apoyo Resort where Nature’s bounty awaits you. Nestled in a tropical dry forest Nature Preserve surrounding the limpid waters of the deepest Laguna in Central America, the Resort encourages you to luxuriate in an ambiance devoid of the stress of daily life. Swim and refresh in the 84 degree mineral waters of Laguna Apoyo. Loll in a hammock watching the antics of Howler monkeys in the surrounding trees while being serenaded by 150 species of birds populating the Nature Preserve. Hike nearby trails or practice in the Yoga Shala; then finish the day with fine dining in the Resort’s three restaurants. The many choices provide our guests with an utterly unique experience unrivaled in Nicaragua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apoyo Resort

Address: Km 37.5 Carretera Masaya Granada | Plan de la laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Price Range: RM408 - RM758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apoyo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Apoyo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Apoyo Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“relaxed, quiet connection with nature”
 of 5 bubbles ritharivas, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Individual lodges with attentive staff.”
 of 5 bubbles djjbrown, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“From what I could tell they all had a decent view and were situated far enough away from the other units for privacy”
 of 5 bubbles stevenw575, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not go to this place”
 of 5 bubbles R9158YUcarlosa, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
“No noise, it was off season.”
 of 5 bubbles stbradensmom, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay