We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opononi Hotel Limited

Share
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (7)
Overview
19 State Highway 12 Rd 3, Opononi 0443 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Casino
2.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
23
54
26
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
23
54
26
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the pub rooms are small glass of wine boar room was clean cooked breakfast friendly service hokianga harbour seafood live music great atmosphere large shower lovely location across the road stayed here for nights balcony
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 126 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Good Pub/Hotel. The rooms, although on the small side are well apointed, clean and well cared for. The Resatauarnt is only open during the summer months but the Pub Grub served in the bar is good value for money.

Thank Lincoln J
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing too flash here. Nice comfortable room, friendly staff and the views from the hotel across the harbour was really lovely..The bar had a good atmosphere with food served casually by friendly staff. Weather turned bad, as it does this time of the year, but...More

Thank Lodemark
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful views , great food ( best buffalo wings ) , friendly service , inside or outside dining , right in the little centre of town . Would have liked longer in the area one day and night didn’t seem to cut it. Will definitely...More

Thank Kerrie M
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We were not expecting for $100 to have a room as good as what we got and including a basic continental breakfast The hotel has obviously spent some money recently in renovating its rooms, which for the price are really good value. The location is...More

Thank scratchykiwi
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing view of the harbour,great food,great location very reasonably priced. The only thing to let it down was the barmaid. I’m Not sure if the woman behind the bar was just having a bad day or not but customer service maybe isn’t her forte.

Thank Shayne M
View more reviews
About
Description
The Opononi Hotel has 10 studios and 5 units. All rooms have sea views. Less than a minute's walk to the beach, safe swimming, information centre, takeaways, shop, jetty and boat ramp. The world famous Twilight More Encounter leaves from here and the boat to the dunes for sand boarding. Come and enjoy the beautiful Hokianga. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Casino and Gambling
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
15
Price range
US$82 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Opononi
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
15
Price range
US$82 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Opononi
Photos
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Opononi Motel Units
6 reviews
.09 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
640 reviews
3.44 km away
Waipoua Lodge
478 reviews
26.86 km away
Ahipara Bay Motel
102 reviews
43.22 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
The Landing Cafe
162 reviews
.12 km away
Copthorne Hotel and Resort
78 reviews
3.43 km away
Opononi Beach Takeaways
97 reviews
.05 km away
Boar & Marlin Restaurant and Cafe
59 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Arai Te Uru Heritage Walk
54 reviews
3.94 km away
Hokianga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
32 reviews
.09 km away
Hokianga Express Charters
21 reviews
2.02 km away
Opo the Dolphin Statue
37 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JANDC47
10 July 2018|
Answer
Response from DeborahP2273 | Reviewed this property |
The hotel is in a fabulous location . Fantastic views and the surrounding area is just beautiful. The area has a lot to offer travellers either staying or passing through. Unfortunately the staff seem, in my opinion... More
0
Votes
585Rodney585
29 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lavinia832 | Reviewed this property |
The answer I received from the Hotel states that they do offer free WIFI however due to lack of service/reception in the Hotel it is only useable in the reception/dinning area sorry.
1
Vote
Sue V
21 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KittyK950 | Reviewed this property |
To be honest I can not remember if there was a hairdryer in the room, didn't see any laundry facilities but you could ask the staff as they are very helpful.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms 15 and 16 are the pick.......they front on to the road"
scratchykiwi
19 Aug 2018
Read review
"Probably only a good choice if everything else is booked out, you're young and into pub scene being so..."
Redheaded2
27 Jun 2018
Read review
"don't stay for breakfast"
leighj341
6 Mar 2018
Read review
"rooms facing court yard, better still facing the sea"
227gayeh
22 Jan 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing