We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
 Click to rate
South Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The new owners of Mt Lofty House have lofty ambitions to take it to a six star destination. If I take the Hotel side of our visit then there is a long way to go. The room was 3.5 star. They have employed some top staff and the focus appears to be on the very good Restaurant (reviewed elsewhere) and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CraigHW
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a 24 hour Manor Indulgence package for a special anniversary and stayed at Mount Lofty house in room 29 on Sat 22 April 2016. Our package was supposed to include an early check in (12pm) but on arrival at 1pm the room was not ready as they had had a wedding on the previous day and the guests...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claude_and_Sian
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the standard House Original room with a queen sized bed. Room itself was satisfactory, but bathroom was very small, shower was luke-warm at best, and lacked water-pressure (especially if one happened to sleep in a little). When room was made up - it was simply blankets pulled up and pillows straightened. Bathroom soaps were not replenished. No Lofty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Damien P
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights in late March as our friends were being married at the venue. We had a room in the Piccadilly wing that looked over the car park and hills. This was $239 per night and didn't include breakfast. The room was OK, nothing amazing. The bathroom was also OK but looked like it needed a really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tam13
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello Tam13, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay here at Mount Lofty House. We aim to provide an amazing experience for every guest and I apologize that we have let you down in this instance. I would like to discuss your experience further and would appreciate if you made contact with me at jesse.kornoff@mtloftyhouse.com.au....

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I has been looking forward to staying at Mt Lofty House as I have been there as a treat on 4 occasions over the years. However, I was disappointed. I had paid for a top room and although it was very large & had beautiful views, for some reason the bed had been repositioned so that it was straight next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jane255325
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello jane255325, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Mount Lofty House. We aim to provide an amazing experience for every visitor and I was very disappointed to read this wasnt the case on your recent stay. I am sorry that we dont offer the 50% Accor Advantage Plus discount in our signature restaurant....

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our overnight stay. The room we had is a garden view and I must say is nice, clean and wonderful. Had a nice breakfast with the view of the valley and waitress are very friendly and accomodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann D
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello Jo-Ann D, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. I am so happy you had a great stay and a great breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mount Lofty House next time. Regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't hesitate to stay here. We stayed overnight for a family celebration. Rooms were excellent especially the one overlooking Piccadilly Valley. The welcome at reception was friendly and polite with a welcoming glass of bubbly. We had the 7 course degustation menu as it was a special occasion. The food was exquisite as was the accompanying wines. Our host waiter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ereeca
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello ereeca, Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review! It was a pleasure to read about the service experience you had from my team and also your dinner in Hardy's Verandah Restaurant. I will be sure to thank Orlando especially for doing such a great job. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jesse Kornoff General Manager

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely room on the top floor with a view of the Adelaide hills. We had a really nice dinner at the Hardys restaurant although we felt it was overpriced. Spa there is nice too. Service at breakfast wasn't great as they were understaffed. But the food was good. Almost got overcharged at checkout too so lucky we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theluddys
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello Theluddys, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay here at Mount Lofty House. I am happy you enjoyed your dinner and the spa too. I will follow up with my Food and Beverage Manager to investigate what happened on the morning you had breakfast, however I am happy the food was spot on. Regards,...

Tamborine Mountain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed in our room but were happily upgraded for a small amount extra. There was a wedding happening so they were busy and the bar had run out of light beer. We chose to have room service dinner which was lovely and we sat our on our terrace. There was no compendium in the room so we looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello Richard W, Thanks for taking the time to share about your stay. I am happy you enjoyed your room upgrade and the room service meal. On the other hand I am sorry that we havent finished updating our compendiums and that you received out of date information on the hotel app. We have undergone many changes over the past...

Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a conference facilitator, I have been to Mt Lofty many times. I love it. Staff are fantastic and the rooms are comfortable and luxurious. Food at the new restaurant is superb although sorry they no longer take the Accorplus Card. Would thoroughly recommend Mount Lofty House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliverAustralia
Jesse K, General Manager at Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Hello oliverAustralia, Thank you for sharing such a great review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and recommend us so thoroughly. Sorry we cant take the Accor Advantage Plus cards in Hardy's Verandah Restaurant - we just cant offer that level of discount in a sustainable way in that environment. We do offer the discount in our bar,...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crafers
12.6 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
12.3 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
858 reviews
11.7 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
346 reviews
10.7 km away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
9.2 km away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the Adelaide Hills Wine Region, yet just 15 minutes from the Adelaide CBD, historic Mount Lofty House is the premier destination for luxury escapes, overnight accommodation, fine dining, boutique day spa experiences, conference retreats and weddings. Built in 1852 by Arthur Hardy, Mt Lofty House became a venue for the most lavish parties, where Arthur would take great delight in hosting Adelaide's high society. Relax in our Stables Day Spa, or indulge at one of the state's most exciting new formal dining rooms Hardy's Verandah Restaurant. Feeling more adventurous? Explore the 22 acre estate or maybe a glass of our own Sequoia sparkling while looking out over the beautiful Piccadilly Valley. We invite you to discover the tradition, heritage and beauty at Mount Lofty House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 74 Mount Lofty Summit Rd, Crafers, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Crafers
Price Range: RM577 - RM995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Mount Lofty House Hotel Crafers
Grand Mercure Mount Lofty Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 29 is lovely but ask for a full length mirror.”
Claude_and_Sian, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for the House Original - it appeared as though the staff were staying in these rooms too.”
damienp266, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the newer wing are great with balconies or terraces, the older part surrounds the pool and wedding venue and would be rather noisy.”
Wizz54, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room, off the library was very private”
8MotherOfPearl, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views, amazing food”
jessicapP3390ND, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5