We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We looked for a venue for my fathers 87th birthday celebration and decide on the crown. Whilst it was more about the occasion than the food etc the meal we had was to a reasonable standard and enjoyed by all. The location was good and staff set tables for our group of 18 in the main restaurant overlooking the High...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davebw0lves
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Went for a New Year break first impressions were favorable.We were given our key by staff we couldn't understand so after eventually finding our first thing we noticed was that the room was freezing cold.After trying unsuccessfully to turn on the radiator I went to reception to be told we were unable to regulate our own heating as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff w
ManagementTCI, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed the new years party. The heating goes on as soon as you check in to the room so it might take half an hour or so to heat up and the temperature can be altered by the guests in the room, every room also has an electric heater if needed....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms. The location is excellent, right in the middle of town. The towels were clean and toiletries were provided. There was aTV and yes and coffee making facilities. One double was very small and cramped. The heating and hot water worked in the rooms but they were very tired and scruffy. The blinds didn't work in one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Medoin
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay you are correct the hotel is not a modern branded hotel like e.g travelodge we are traditional coaching inn all the rooms are individually decorated and every room different, if the room was not to your liking if you had mentioned it to reception we would have immediately rectified the problem...

Brackley
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Firstly we were sat in the bar and not the restaurant for our Christmas meal. The main meal didn't come with any vegetables. Lamb was fatty and inedible. When we asked for veg and gravy we were greeted with a frost reception. Turkey and potatoes were frozen. Pigs in blankets were not cooked. When we asked to speak to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nadine70Del62
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

All of our christmas day lunches comes with gravy vegetables potatoes all the ingredients are locally sourced and are not frozen products. what in fact happened was you left without paying and a member of staff had to follow you outside to get you to pay for your food and then still did not pay the full amount and were...

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Staff very friendly. Lovely open fire. Husband had the gammon chips and peas, very good. I had macaroni cheese with a few pieces of tomato on top suggest a smaller portion of macaroni cheese with a few chips peas or small salad and chips would be better, but tasted nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments i will pass them on to the team

Oxford
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We booked for Christmas Day lunch all sounded nice: we arrived and our table was in the bar not in restaurant so we were surrounded by locals drinking and noisy. Starters good, main meals very poor I had lamb and it came with two small potatoes cut in half and gravy, no vegetables so I 'pinched' broccoli from my husbands...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank artistoxford
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Our christmas day lunch was served throughout the ground floor the bar is exactly the same decor and set up as the restaurant. If you did like the table you were allocated if you had informed the staff we would have moved to an alternative one. Also if you needed extra vegetables and potatoes more would have been provided free...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We had booked 2 rooms for one night to attend a family wedding nearby. We arrived to check in between the church and the reception and despite ringing the bell no staff could be found! Eventually they bar woman arrived and informed us that she couldn't find anyone to check us in and we had to come back later!!! We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SB8903
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

When you made your reservation we explained that check in was only at 2 pm and we would do our utmost to get the rooms ready as early as possible for you we also offered you a discounted rate for the previous night to make sure the rooms would be ready for you which you declined. The breakfast was being...

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Staff all from eastern europe which seeems to be the norm nowadays poor english and the understanding was asked how i like my gammon steak much to the amusement of other diners food was very adverage the breakfast was very poor microwaved on our first night the mirror fell off the wardrobe during nigjht second night bathroom light stopped working...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim T
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel could be beautiful,but feels tired. The mattress was flat with springs pocking through and flat pillows,felt like it all needed a good deep clean. However bed linen was clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful, ordering taxis etc, It was only a one night stay after a party do was fine, wouldn't want to stay much longer.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cjw67
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I wanted to break my journey at a reasonably priced hotel with ensuite facilities. The Crown fitted the bill exactly. Very conveniently situated, it is by no means "deluxe" but it provides decent accommodation and food at very reasonable prices. Portuguese cuisine features on the menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
556 reviews
11.5 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
287 reviews
13.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#2 of 3 in Towcester
2,236 reviews
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
11.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Food & drink at the hotel
Crown Restaurant
Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Price Range: RM248 - RM545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“please avoid staying here”
 of 5 bubbles britnomadchris, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Drive past it”
 of 5 bubbles janeM9342XB, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid over air conditioning units”
 of 5 bubbles joyc157, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay only had Christmas lunch”
 of 5 bubbles artistoxford, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont book a room at the front the clock chimes every hour through the night!”
 of 5 bubbles Yarco3, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5