We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed here one Saturday evening along with our daughter and her fiancé. The building is a very old (historic) property in need of a lick of paint on the outside. Furniture in the rooms we had was rather ramshackle though the rooms and supplied linen was clean. We had front bedrooms on a Saturday night, and the noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

I had dinner with friends at this hotel and my quite expensive scarf was stolen from the clothes rack. No one seemed interested when I told the hotel. Food quality is variable. The hotel is well situated in the town and clearly has history associated with it, an old coaching inn and Silverstone formula 1 visitor stop over + magna...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your scarf was allegedly stolen, if a member of staff had been made aware whilst you were at the hotel or if you had contacted us after you had left we could have checked the hotels CCTV

West Sussex
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Checked in then asked to pay again, booked and paid via Expedia. Soon sorted. I was allocated room 12 which overlooks the staff smoking area, they also appear to socialise there. Terrible view on old furniture and rubbish. The room is was very basic, no phone, sockets hanging off the wall. It could really do with deep clean. Bathroom leaves...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sussex_Ashington
Manchester
Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very basic and needs a revamp but for the price that they charge you can't fault it. Breakfast needs to be a little more organised. The hotel is in a perfect location for pubs and restaurants and is highly recommended if you want a cheap nights sleep. We will always stay here when we are at Silverstone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

I was unfortunate enough to stay at the Crown Hotel in Brackley. I will keep this review short and sweet. Breakfast was cold, mold in the shower, peeling wallpaper and drafty rooms. Above all however, my colleague had her iPad stolen from a drawer of her nightstand. The management not only refused to admit any responsibility (which I can sort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ArchaeologistMike
ManagementTCI, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that the above happened. However i will make it very clear that the i pad was not stolen from the hotel. Once the lady in question informed the reception that she could not find her i pad both rooms that she had been in were checked by herself and the duty manager, nothing was found and...

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

I would not stay here again out of choice as the room I had was terrible , the mattress was unbelievable I would not expect anyone to sleep on as so old it had all springs showing through , wallpaper on walls and ceiling was peeling , TV had really bad signal which was impossible to watch , also when...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank david c
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not like your room. There was a very small bit of wall paper that was peeling which has since been repaired. We did explain to you that we only have the regular free view channels and not to try and tune in extra channels. We checked the mattress with you and there was nothing wrong...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

For the cost for three to stay overnight good. Staff nice but waitress found it difficult to speak English. On the negative side the mattress in room 5 you could feel all the springs and also the bathroom badly lit and the toilet seat would not stay up. As for my meal the rice i was supplied with seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eric b
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We booked two nights here as I had a day's work on the Saturday. After arriving on the Friday afternoon, we eventually found their car park. We were warmly welcomed and led to our room. Gosh the stairs were very steep but that's what you get with an old building. The room was more than adequate, a bit dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the crown and checked in rather quickly which was good after a 5 hour drive, we where handed our keys and told room 31, after 20 or so minutes trying to find the room up several winding narrow staircases we found it up in the eaves. I'm sorry to say that the room was very disappointing, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misscongeniality2014
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

The good first ..Staff - very friendly, Beer - OK, Sandwiches - lovely, Location - great, The bad .. Room 21, don't have, its small, cold, dim, bad lighting, no mirror in bedroom for ladies to get ready etc, so .. we moved rooms to room 10. This room was bigger, warm to start with, but it went down hill...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjh172015

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
519 reviews
16.1 km away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
365 reviews
11.5 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
388 reviews
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
7.8 km away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Crown Restaurant
Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Price Range: RM279 - RM386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont book a room at the front the clock chimes every hour through the night!”
 of 5 bubbles Yarco3, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before accepting it”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJennywren, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Spydog007, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try for one at the front overlooking the street.”
 of 5 bubbles sharpking, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't know of any, avoid 7 whatever you do.”
 of 5 bubbles Phil2407, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay