We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 291: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Hotel is old and inviting, not many parking spaces and not easy to find where to park. Rooms were clean and were tidied every day. Furniture was old but not shabby. Had dinner on the Saturday night in the bar. Ordered whole sea bass, it took 1 hour to arrive. I did ask why it was taking so long twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay. we apologise that you had to wait so long for your food but we are glad that you enjoyed. we hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at The Crown Hotel a couple days ago and totally loved it... We booked 3 rooms (2, 4 and 20) and loved the traditional decoration. The staff was always there to help with a smile and the breakfast was great! Totally recommend it! Brackley is a lovely small town and we also enjoyed visiting Oxford which is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goncalo R
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your comments i will passing them onto the staff and we hope to see you again if you visit the area in the future

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Myself and a friend stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised, after reading all the negative comments made on this website. We were given a warm welcome and the room was clean, spacious and inviting. Had a few drinks in the bar, great beer at a fantastic price. Spot on shower, great sleep, followed by a slap up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dandridge_12
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments and for taking the time to write in , i will pass them onto the staff. With regards to other comments unfortunately not everyone takes the time to write in we have had 203 reviews in 6 years ( thats two weeks worth of customers) therefore the ratio of negative comments are very low if you...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I wonder what organisation awarded this hotel 3 stars - Laterooms website indicates this was the AA jointly with VisitBritain. I find it hard to believe any inspector has been here in the last year. Staff were friendly, accommodation was poor, breakfast was OK in parts (good coffee from a self service urn, so as many cups as you like),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review all comments both good and bad are taken very seriously however in this case the bathroom has recently been refurbished, the fitted carpet is new as are the beds. Yes there is an extension cable there this is for guests that require multiple sockets for laptops etc. Yes there could be noise if you are...

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Mi and my husband stay in this traditional hotel as we want one night away really good rooms clean bath and room, friendly staff and nice comun areas what you want more ? :) i will recomend for all my friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulkingf
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we hope you visit us again if in the area

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Pros - Staff are lovely, very friendly & professional. They are dressed as if it's a 5* establishment, which is a nice touch. - Hotel is bigger than it looks, and has a lot of character to it. Cons - The whole place needs a refurb. Rooms are very dated. Creaky floorboards everywhere. Hallways smell of cigarette smoke. - Mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJ_LJ2015
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments both the pros and the cons. With regards to a dated hotel it is a historic coaching inn therefore the floors will creak and decor would not suit plain modern furniture as is found in modern chain hotels, however bearing that in mind all bathrooms have been refurbished. When you check in as the hotel...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

We booked in here because we were attending a function just up the road in the village. It was a bit pricey but we thought it was close and would save on cab fares. (Double room with breakfast £75.00) Well, on reflection we'd have been better off at the Premier Inn a few miles away and paid for cabs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptmn
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your key ring there are two keys as was explained on check in one for the front door and one for the room. The reception is not manned 24 hours however there is a duty manager available 24 hours ( as was explained on check in) The beds are brand new as is the...

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Brackley is a lovely town and this lovely coaching inn right in the center off brackley have a nice accomodation with a beautifull restaurant and bar areas i Will be back as soon as i visit the area. The staff is so helpfull and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaK12345
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Than you for your comments

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly and helpfull staff, spacious room comfy bed, looks like i hace a diferent experience comparing with all this tripadvisor reviews as in booking.com they are well rated, i will return to this lovely coaching inn

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jhonwn
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night, tiny grubby room, with awful pictures on the walls, no sound on itv channel, the bed slopes backwards (room 10) so spent the night with my feet higher than my head, breakfast not too bad but the water for the tea was only just tepid

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shikondave
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments the room you stayed was intact a family room so quite large, with new fitted carpet and brand new beds. The bed is not on a slope. The tv channels are fine but sometimes guests try and tune to get extra channels however if you had mentioned your concerns during your stay we would have...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
533 reviews
16.1 km away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
373 reviews
11.5 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
11.0 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Crown Restaurant
Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Price Range: RM259 - RM442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid over air conditioning units”
 of 5 bubbles joyc157, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay only had Christmas lunch”
 of 5 bubbles artistoxford, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont book a room at the front the clock chimes every hour through the night!”
 of 5 bubbles Yarco3, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before accepting it”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJennywren, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Spydog007, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay