We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostel Villas Boas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostel Villas Boas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 9: English reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights at the Hostel Villas Boas at the end of a three weeks Brazil trip. The overall Hostel was very similar to other hostels we stayed at during our trip. Nice,simple architecture, cosy design, good looking interiors overall creating a welcoming and hostel-typical atmosphere. Surprisingly the Hostel was mainly frequented by families, rather than travellers, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelerTHE90
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

I've stayed at this hostel three times and love it. Safe neighborhood and a short walk to either beach. The Main Street is only a five minute walk away with its stores and restaurants if you want to get away from the tourist feel near the beach Pros- price, location, quiet, great breakfast, clean grounds and great landscaping inside. Con-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This hostel is overrated for the price even in high season, u will low quality. It is not nearby everything, we expected that, because they presented it in that way. We were a little disapointed. I think there are more better options. Atmosphere in the hostel wasn't bad, there is a pool ad more than one place to hang out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anu J
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Hostel is just Ok, but quite expensive for the money offered, even if we take into consideration that today this counts for most of Brazil, it was still quite simple for a mark-up price. I would not recommend this hotel. It appeared quite far from the city centre, not really close to the beach, low availability of shops, not providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michel339
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place reminds of the houses described in Gabriel Garcia Marquez's novels. Go read one of his books and you will find what this place looks like. Except in the center there is a pool instead of a garden. Very relaxing stay. Two or three nights will allow you to do everything there is to do in Arraial do Cabo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hostel Villas Boas, responded to this review

Hi, Charlie. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. It's a pleasure to be praised by you and thanks for the comparison with the works of Gabo! We hope to always provide our guests a good time. Come back soon to another visit!

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Gostei muito. Fui muito bem acolhido. Se houver alguma coisa que você precise os funcionários atendem com muita simpatia. Parece muito com uma pousada, mas é hostel, então não se engane de pensar que está em um 5 estrelas. Os preços são muito justos e tem piscina!!!! I was attended so well. If you need something done the employees will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edgard F
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hostel Villas Boas, responded to this review
Google Translation

Olá, Edgar. Obrigado por compartilhar sua experiência em nosso hostel. Nossa equipe está sempre preparada para ajudar no que os...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place is very walkable to the centre of a pretty boring town, but a handy and good value place to stay if you are visiting to see the beaches or scuba dive, although the closest beach is pretty smelly in parts. It's well set up but our room wasn't cleaned during the day, and when you can't flush the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davo W
buenos aires
Reviewed 20 December 2010

arrail do cabo is a great place with a lot of incredible things to do. this hostel had clean rooms, staff helped us organize our travel plans, bus schedules, flights etc. nice breakfast. pool is dirty. 4 bed dorm rooms are really nice pay a few dollars more for air conditioning. nice computer, fast internet. not much of a party...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank averylwhite
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hostel Villas Boas, responded to this review

Hi! Thank's to shared your experience with us. We always works to provide a good stay to our guests. We await your return.

London
Reviewed 4 January 2010

There was no electricity or running water in our room, and no air conditioning. The pool is essentially a cess pit. Absolutely filthy, terrible breakfast and they wouldn't even give us a discount for the lack of electricity and water, which we tried to argue until they called the police!!! Not a friendly bunch at all! Please, of you want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bea_UK
Luiz N, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hostel Villas Boas, responded to this review
Google Translation

As informações não procedem. Tal cliente esteve hospedado sim no Hostel. Se desentendeu com a namorada e quiz antecipar o...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arraial do Cabo hotels
0.2 km away
Pousada Terra do Sol
Pousada Terra do Sol
#3 of 4 in Arraial do Cabo
136 reviews
0.7 km away
Pousada Caminho do Sol
Pousada Caminho do Sol
#1 of 4 in Arraial do Cabo
452 reviews
0.8 km away
Varandas ao Mar Hotel
Varandas ao Mar Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arraial do Cabo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hostel Marina dos Anjos
Hostel Marina dos Anjos
#3 of 40 in Arraial do Cabo
146 reviews
0.3 km away
Pousada Porto Praia
Pousada Porto Praia
#6 of 56 in Arraial do Cabo
154 reviews
1.9 km away
Pousada da Prainha
Pousada da Prainha
#2 of 56 in Arraial do Cabo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Hostel Villas Boas

Address: Rua Vilas Boas 440, Arraial do Cabo, State of Rio de Janeiro 28930-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Arraial do Cabo
Price Range: RM151 - RM481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Villas Boas 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Villas Boas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Villas Boas Arraial Do Cabo, Rio De Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Villas Boas staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Villas Boas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles michel339, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Se estiver um grupo de 4 pessoas, fechem o quarto 10 ou 13... os melhores e mais baratos.”
 of 5 bubbles EdgardF_13, 14 May 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay