We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tsala Treetop Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tsala Treetop Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 420: English reviews
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow ..what a fab place to stay..amazing accommodation (only 10 lodges )spacious with a log fire...completely private,surrounded by trees with your own small pool and outside shower.The staff welcome you warmly.There are lovely grounds to walk around and the restaurant was good. Our only disappointment was that we stayed there one night and also stayed a night in several other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brulynne
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is top notch with wonderful service views and special ambience as it is set in the trees. The veranda and pool are lovely. We had bad weather whilst there unfortunately so couldn't take full advantage of it. We were there early Jan

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa J
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent New Year at Tsala, the attention to detail in the rooms, the fabulous food and not to mention the staff and 'choir', made this a stay to remember. I would recommend the food and also in room service, the candles lit around the bathtub were beautiful. This was on my list of must stays and it far exceeded our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freda99
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! It was so nice to be able to welcome 2017 with guests like you staying with us and we hope it is not the last time we get to share Tsala and its magic with you.

Brighton, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights here and wished we had booked for three - after a busy year this was so relaxing, everything was taken care of and we were spoilt rotten. Thank you Karen and team. Hope to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank girlmusttravel
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

It was our absolute pleasure to be able to spoil you and hope that the year ahead will have more moments of relaxation and being spoilt. We hope to see you again so that we can take care of you again!

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an amazing spot in the heart of SA's Garden Route - from the time of arrival and the welcome at the gate, to our departure with a gift bag of goodies, this was a true 5* experience. One needs to spend a minimum of 2 nights to appreciate the tranquil surroundings & great service from every single member of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estelle_C1
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future again!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two wonderful nights here. Very comfortable and relaxing with beautiful views over the magnificent forrest. Very calming well worth a visit! The restaurant needs to get some atmosphere though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuneLondonUK
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We take all recommendations to heart and will be looking at ways in which we can ensure that each of our guests have the best experience in all aspects related to their stay with us.

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Nothing can prepare you for how amazing Tsala Treetop Lodge really is. It had been recommended by friends who visit SA, I had read all the reviews and seen all the photographs, and was expecting a lot. My expectations were exceeded by miles. Not only is the treetop location magical; the place oozes quality from every pore, and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and for the recommendation with regards to the tissues - we are following up with our suppliers to source triple ply! We hope you will be back.

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Be prepared to be amazed! Our lodge fits in perfectly with the surroundings and has elevated views from the balcony over the heavily wooded valley giving an almost surreal effect. The accommodation was very comfortably appointed with a sitting room / kitchenette and wood burning stove which is lit in the evenings to coincide with return from dinner. A nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mleytonsmith
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review of Tsala - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope that you will be back again.

england
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped for two nights on a trip across South Africa. Whilst we were lucky enough to stop at some great places Tsala was definitely the best. Amazing woodland accommodation, excellent food and faultless service. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dean079
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it contributed to your experience of our beautiful country! Hope it will not be the last time you visit South Africa or Tsala!

Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is the nicest place we have ever stayed! We were a little hesitant in booking Tsala as it is quite pricey but it is sooo worth it. We stayed in some really nice places between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth but this was the standout. The standard of service, food and accommodation is best in class. We booked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillyK89
TsalaTreetopLodge, General Manager at Tsala Treetop Lodge, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted that we were able to contribute to this special time for you and look forward to welcoming you back at Tsala for many more special celebrations in future!

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (498)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harkerville
6.9 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
481 reviews
5.8 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
623 reviews
3.9 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
115 reviews
6.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
726 reviews
19.8 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 30 in Knysna
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set amidst the treetops of an age-old indigenous forest, Tsala is a lavish celebration of the spirit of Africa. Irresistible to those who appreciate exclusivity, fine fare, romance and adventure. With beautiful private suites and villas, breathtaking views and forest seclusion, unique architectural design and excellent personal service, it is a fantastic get-away destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tsala Treetop Lodge

Address: PO Box 454, Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > Harkerville
Price Range: RM2,197 - RM4,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tsala Treetop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tsala Treetop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsala Treetop Hotel Harkerville
Tsala Treetop Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tsala Treetop Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Tsala Treetop Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any of the rooms are good I think”
 of 5 bubbles 248nerissaj, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the room where you view the forrest from your bed :-)”
 of 5 bubbles JuneLondonUK, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“any one because they are all superb”
 of 5 bubbles andycapetown, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room ( No. 2) was excellent - I understand that they are all equal.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmcb123, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Everything about this hotel is perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles U253LOangelap, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay