We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed at Durbanville last weekend, from the 17 to 19 Feb 17. Was checked into room 225. Since arriving, there was a smell in the main bedroom en suite just as you step inside the bathroom. I reported it but it was not sorted. I've stayed here before with no issues. I may go back, but not to Room 225.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed S
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

it was our pre-honeymoon celebrations after the Traditional union of the families. They made our stay memorable. The staff all went out of their way giving us the VIP service to add to yet another milestone and precious moments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilly959
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Lilly959, Thank you for your kind review and we are wish you and your husband all of the best. We will pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After an initial hiccup with my room booking, all sorted with excellent front desk staff sorting out another room for us. Good quality rooms, neat and tidy as always. Most importantly all the staff are really great, from front desk, waiters, cleaners, bar staff etc etc. A special mention to Ashley that always goes out of his way to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mr Richard, Thank you for your kind words, we are sure to pass on your review to the TEAM. We are pleased that you continue to enjoy your stay with us. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Always a pleasure going here. Friendly staff, superb atmosphere and clean inside and out. The business rooms are great and well equipped with printing and scanning facilities. Pizza's are great as a quick snack.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville, we are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our original hotel double booked so we were asked to stay here for 1 night. Poorly designed hotel with no lift and tiny pool in middle which had do not cross tape wrapped round it. Looked like murder scene.i asked why - they wanted to get grass to grow. TV remote back missing, bedside la,p didn't work, only left 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to constructively provide us with feedback on your stay. Due to the drought and water restrictions, we have had so beacon off our grass section in order to protect the grass over the long run and do apologize if this caused any inconvenience. With regards to our room experience, we wish to...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and i always stay at this hotel when we in Cape Town and i must say we always enjoy our stay. They offer excellent service, be it at front desk or at the dining and lounge area you will feel like the most important guest. The hotel is also in a great location, its in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Makgomo
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Makgomo, Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville. We are elated that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a regular visitor, I've come to appreciate what I initially thought was average. They're a great bumch of people. Every visit I feel more at home. They build relationships and take note of your preferences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ria8653
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Ria8653, Thank you for your kind review, we are elated that you enjoy our service. Something the entire TEAM prides in. We are sure to share your lovely review to the rest of the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Columbia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really nice hotel in a great location. Accommodation was above average and the food really good - what was outstanding was the service and the staff. Always friendly and willing to help - they made my week long stay pleasant indeed - so good that I extended my stay. The drivers were always on time and professional and "went the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melvin O
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Melvin, Thank you for your kind review, We are sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the rest of the TEAM! Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We where booked in the two bedroom apartments. We traveled to Cape Town for December holiday with our 9 month old and 9 year old boy. We stated over for 4 days, breakfast included in our booking. We where met by friendly people. Our rooms where at a far end. Logistically not great for family with baby since you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally U
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Ally U, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback and giving us an opportunity to improve our GUEST services. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and will pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Springs, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Smooth check in and clean neat rooms with all the amenities you could possibly need to stay quite comfortable for a couple of days. Staff is friendly and service was excellent thus far. Still here till Sunday and hopefully this would be the norm rather than the exception... will most definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon F
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Leon, Thank you for your amazing review, we are sure to pass on the review to the rest of the TEAM. Enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbanville
18.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
23.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
298 reviews
20.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
20.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
714 reviews
20.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Address: 99 Jip de Jager Drive, Vineyards Office Estate | Tyger Valley, Durbanville 7530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Price Range: RM415 - RM745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“better to call or email to make your requests for extras”
 of 5 bubbles lilly959, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Main Hotel rooms are the best!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Makgomo, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a room facing the vineyard - very quiet and a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles melvino2016, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure you are given the room you paid for.”
 of 5 bubbles 836abbiem, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles JeanArnall, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5