We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Horseback Africa

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Horseback Africa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Horseback Africa
 Click to rate
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the accomodation, service was perfect. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. Respectfull to all animals who lived there, educational. The surrounding is wonderfull... and it is quiet! After a long flight and a drive of 2 hours... we ended up here... I closed my car door and said to my husband: Listen..... I don't hear anything...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guus M
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a great time. slept in the wonderfull bushman's cottage, had an excellent dinner and good lunch. The horsesafari was great, great leader and very well taken care of horses. I will gladly come again if I return to South Africa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sofia s
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

The Bushman's cottage is always a favourite! The horses come running down past your window every morning. Thank you for coming!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My two nights staying at Horseback Africa were a truly magical, inspiring and relaxing experience. The service was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble, including accomodating for my semi complicated dietary requirements. It's rare in Africa to be able to walk in the bush alone, however here its liberating as there are no predators wondering about and one is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 290susyj
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to be your host. We are honoured that you felt so "at home" with us!!

Harrogate, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We did the horseback riding and the lion walking tour. We also stayed for 2 nights in the lodge. The family and employees are very friendly, knowledgeable, and organized. This was a great place to relax after traveling for many days and miles. The lion experience is amazing but there are also a variety of animals on site that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Colin M, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

You realy get the "feel" of being here when you overnight in our lodge. Thank you for coming to share this with us. We hope to see you again.

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Hard to put this into words. Did the walk with the lion tour and was so blown away, did it again the next day! The staff were fantastic. Matt was superb in answering all of our questions about the lions and their release program. Theory and Colin were such wear hosts. Great chats around the fire at night after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Dear Terry, It was OUR pleasure to have you with us. WE look forward to having you here again as soon as you can! It was wonderful talking about our passions, and you will be going back to your after the mini-break with us.

Wettenberg
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay, best service, excellent meals (we are vegetarians!!!)!! The horse ride was perfect, we saw a lot of animals...it was a safe adventure! Also the lion tour was just great, Matt and Colin explained everything we wanted to know and now we can trust that all the lions are safe when they are released to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornelias200
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Your review means a lot to us. It tells us that we are meeting your expectations. Thank you for visiting us!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Hi Tanya I just recently returned back home to Australia after an amazing trip to Johannesburg. The high light of my trip was visiting Colin's Horseback Africa. I would like to give special thanks to yourself, Shannon, Matt, Brandon and Colin on making my visit there a special one. From the moment my group arrived you made us feel welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sydneylisa2017
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

Wow, it was an amazing time!! We look forward to the next time, right?

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We had a great time with the family and the animals. Unfortunately the place is overpriced for South African standards and the activities were to short. The place is not the small personalized family business as it was 10 years ago.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillianGaagje
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding value for money. We will do all we can to improve on this point. We are also very grateful for your input.

Pretoria
Reviewed 20 February 2017

On the About page of their website they state: "For the more energetic we have a number of well marked hiking trails that take you past scenic dams and quiet bird hides." One trail, well marked but not well maintained and no hides. I guess if you go for the other experiences, it can be a great place. But my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janabenson
781guestl, Owner at Horseback Africa, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry about the bird hide! It was washed away by the rains and not replaced. Since your visit, the Blue Trail has been cut again. With all the rain, the growth was more than we had expected. Yesterday when Colin and I went for a walk to the dam, we spotted the Giant Kingfisher, which was a...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I was traveling alone from Joburg to horseback Afrika. When arrived they made me feel very welcome immediately. Fresh pizza for lunch, drinks to choose from and when finished a walk with the younger lions but not before the instructions were given. I was happy to hear the lions are not here to be grown up and used as lions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey V

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cullinan
23.5 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 72 in Pretoria
137 reviews
31.0 km away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#18 of 72 in Pretoria
167 reviews
23.8 km away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 72 in Pretoria
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cullinan
120 reviews
6.9 km away
Abloom Lodge
Abloom Lodge
#3 of 17 in Cullinan
86 reviews
12.1 km away
Tranquillity Day Spa & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Horseback Africa strives to give our guests the best possible Horseback Safari and Walking with Lions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horseback Africa

Address: Portion 12 & 13 | De Tweede Spruit, Cullinan 1000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Cullinan
Price Range: RM499 - RM765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Horseback Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horseback Africa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room has a unique theme but I think any would be a great choice”
BenW22, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“From what we could see, all rooms were similar, yet comfy”
334terryg, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“NO wifi or cellphone signal so be prepared to embrace nature.”
michellehY4256BQ, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the main lodge. Rooms were clean, well cared for. Not necessarily luxuriously furnished or appointed but perfectly fine.”
Jill_and_Steve_Corv, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Let them know what you want: the Lodge is more luxurious but we preferred the Lion's Den, a small cottage next to the stables.”
Fincalostigres, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates