We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Hayfield

The Royal Hotel

160 reviews
Save
Traveller (31)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(18 reviews)
“sit outside”(3 reviews)
“peak district”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (160)Write a Review
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
69
49
18
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
69
49
18
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsit outsidepeak districtpiechurch clockefficient servicelarge car parkcentral locationdecent selection of beerskids mealstraditional decorsunny dayfish and chipsfull englishnice lunchadults and childrencrusty bread
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is old and in need of some tlc, arrived, booked in room was on the second floor pokey is not the word. Got to say the staff are all lovely. Pity as we had an evening meal which had to be sent back...More

Thank Kathychaf
Response from Lisa M, Owner at The Royal HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kathy. Can I just check when you stayed at The Royal in Hayfield as we haven’t had any room bookings this last week, nor have I had any mention from staff of a complaint for me to respond to? Neither do we have any...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few nights Dec. 2017 - in a Front Twin room with a very stylish modern Bath/showeroom overlooking the spacious car park The bedroom was in a subdued traditional decor inc. sash windows ! Beds were comfortable but the duvets only just...More

1  Thank ray p
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to The Royal for a pint with my sister and her dog... The Royal was happy to let dogs in which is good for walkers and locals alike. Decent selection of beers, too. Outside in summer is nice but inside in winter is cozy.

1  Thank Chris R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lunch time food and drink next time just a drink for us On entering the smell of disinfectant was off putting but we had travelled in the fog so decided to give it a chance. The Royal Welsh Raebit....no cheese no fried onions and the...More

Thank mellor12
Response from Lisa M, Owner at The Royal HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy the Welsh rarebit when you visited recently. It does not sound up to its usual high standard and we apologise for that. Had you have kindly brought it to our attention on the day we...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

My husband and I booked this hotel last minute as we were travelling the Peak District. We arrived and were welcomed by extremely cheery staff who made us feel immediately welcome. The hotel is old and has so much character and our room was what...More

2  Thank mimmark1
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345632
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (31)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Bathroom (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Holidayholic54
23 July 2014|
Answer
Response from Lisa M | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We have spoken with the church warden regarding the possibility of retro-fitting a device to silence the clock during the night and hope to progress something with them. The clock chiming may... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Good elsewhere"
Read review
"Did not stay, only dined"
Read review
"any of room 5 or 6"
Read review
"A room at the front could be noisy overlooking car park and outside drinking"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite