We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Village Inn

Certificate of Excellence
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Village Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of The Village Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are tired but the lady is ploughing her money back into upgrading the BnB and it will be a stunner when complete. To be honest here it's the service and wonderful breakfasts that makes the place there really is nothing that's too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night en route to the Highlands. We arrived quite late, and had intended to go straight to bed. However, the warmth of the welcome tempted us back down to the bar. In the bar we had a great time chatting with other guests, locals and our hosts. Good selection of drinks on offer, reasonably priced and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary h
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Village Inn and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Alison.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent stopover on trip up to the Highlands. Alison the landlady was extremely accommodating as we arrived later than expected and had to leave again early the next morning. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Absolute bargain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StudentBum
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Alison

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant and welcoming! Such a lovely peaceful environment and exactly what we needed after a long journey. Lovely rooms and excellent service throughout. Thank you Alison for ensuring our stay was very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Village Inn and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Alison

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2017

My son and I stayed overnight and were very pleased with the hospitality, rooms and breakfast. The host is in the process of renovations and is quite clear about this when you book, but nevertheless, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. This is an excellent stop-over on the M6 and an excellent base for exploring the countryside south of Glasgow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1746
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Alison

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

A truly wonderful home-from-home with a bar and ideally situated to explore the Scottish Borders south of Langholm and into Dumfries and Cumbria. Alison, Fraser and the ever-engaging Dylan (the dog) are doing a remarkable job in transforming a village pub into a welcoming B&B with comfortable rooms, food, great breakfasts and a cosy "locals" bar. I was particularly taken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SoupbonePew
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Alison

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing stay at this great place with my other half and doggy. Rooms are spacious and clean, beds comfortable, amazing food and super dog friendly so much they we wanted to stay and extra night but unfortunately it was fully booked. 10/10 for service, Alison, Fraser and Dylan were great and so accommodating letting us arrive early and have breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashleigh M
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Many many thanks for the fantastic review. It was lovely meeting you both and your cute dog. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I was so sorry I didn't have any free rooms for you to extend your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Kind regards Alison Shortreed

Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I came across this place by accident when looking for somewhere to take a break through a long journey - this is so close to the motorway I wonder how I missed it! I arrived early but found a friendly greeting from Fraser. I was offered assistance with my luggage, taken to and shown my room - Room 3. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan B
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Village Inn and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Alison Shortreed

Withernsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

They do have a limited menu for residents and pub goers alike but have to say that after a meal last night the food was absolutely fantastic and the service was personable and attentive. If you are passing call in for a smack you will be pleased that you have.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul m
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed the food. Although the menu is small, we find it meets the requirements of the residents. Hope to welcome you back the The Village Inn sometime in the future. Kind regards Alison

Lancashire
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Rooms are comfortable if a tad dated but they offer the guest everything they could ask for. The service is what makes the place as the food is great quality and a very good price. The locals are a hoot too... certainly an enjoyable way to spend a Saturday evening!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulnpaula
Alison S, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have noted your comment about the rooms and can advise you that we are in the middle of a total refurbishment. Hopefully should you return in the future, the rooms will have been updated. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Alison

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirtlebridge
0.0 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
190 reviews
0.0 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.0 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
275 reviews
0.0 km away
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ecclefechan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ecclefechan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Village Inn is situated in the small picturesque village of Kirtlebridge. Ideally situated being only 1 mile from M74. Edinburgh, Glasgow and Newcastle all just over an hour away and the many delights of Dumfries and Galloway are on the doorstep. Savour the home from home atmosphere whilst enjoying a drink in the bar. Full cooked breakfast included in price. Well behaved dogs welcomed and free internet access. Newly opened within pub - The Village Pizzeria. Pub and restaurant closed Wednesdays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: | By Lockerbie, Kirtlebridge DG11 3LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirtlebridge
Price Range: RM233 - RM305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Village Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is en-suite”
802janb, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is only a small establishment with four guestrooms which are all basically the same”
loul831, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 for the view/ lightness”
cynthiarob, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful scenery,lovely restful place can't recommend this place enough,home from home”
848elainer, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Opt for the ensuite if it's free. looks like they are doing up the rest so, may be more soon”
M1kiboy, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates