We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Liang Beach, Manado, Bunaken Island 95122 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$130
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (381)
Room & Suite (57)
Pool & Beach (55)

About

#4 of 21 Specialty lodging in Bunaken Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bastianos Bunaken is a long established company with two decades of experience in welcoming diving as well as non-diving guests from all over the globe in North-Sulawesi, Indonesia. We are located directly on beautiful Liang Beach with quick access to all dive sites of Bunaken Marine National Park. The protected area is a paradise for wall diving & snorkeling and offers one of the highest diversity of coral worldwide. The warm crystal-clear water is home for small critters as well as for bigger fish like sharks. And: For diving with us we give you a turtle guarantee! Our facility is composed of: • Different types of accommodation: beach-front bungalows with A/C & hill-side bungalows with fan only. Both offer a superb sunset-view. • PADI diving center with multilingual PADI instructors and 6 permanent diveguides, all fluent in English with thousands of dives around Bunaken. For the best diving experience our maximum guide to divers ratio is 1:4 and we have 4 diving boats. Enriched Air Nitrox is available as well as a camera room for your photo equipment. We offer rental of well-maintained snorkel and diving equipment. You can do up to 5 dives per day, including early-morning- & night-dives. • Spacious open-air restaurant with choices of local and western food in buffet form and we have tasty afternoon snacks every day. • Cozy lounge with satellite TV, free WiFi, billiard table, little library and stunning sunset-view. • Infinity swimming-pool where you can have a cocktail and enjoy the sunset. Also perfect for diver-training. • Spa & massage area with our local therapist with more than 10 years of experience. • Beach-bar for after-dive beers and cocktails. • We offer day-tours to the mainland where you can hike volcanos and visit traditional markets. Also we offer a dolphin-tour where we usually spot hundreds of dolphins. • A pick-up and transfer service from Manado airport is available as well as a transfer to our sister resort on Lembeh island.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snorkelling
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Lagoon View

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
1Restaurantwithin 10 km
3Attractionswithin 10 km
327Reviews6Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 186
  • 97
  • 28
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hermanto C wrote a review Oct 2021
Batam, Indonesia8 contributions
+1
Amazing hotel, good foood. Snorkling at 8 am many fish. Nice snorkling spot. Hotel surrounding sell local food. Friendly locals and staff. Good for family. Beach is clean with a perfect mountain view. 30 menit boat ride from mando terminal
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Julie T wrote a review Feb 2020
New Port Richey, Florida6 contributions1 helpful vote
Spectacular wall diving. Fabulous healthy colorful hard and soft coral. Abundance of marine life-eagle rays, whitetip reef sharks, countless turtles, gaint frogfish, etc-in 82F clear pristine waters. We were the only guests at the resort because it is low season and were treated like royalty. Over 6 days it rained a little bit the first day over short periods.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
elviatger wrote a review Dec 2019
Antigua, Guatemala110 contributions136 helpful votes
This rating of "Good" is based on a mix of "Excellent", for diving and everything related to it (information, organization, staff, dive sites, visibility, etc) and just "Average" for the hotel itself, except for its kind staff and nice location. So, in the plus side, we had very good wall dives with excellent visibility, and everything went smoothly thanks to the very good organization by Mike and his staff, from the care of our gear to the performance and kindness of the boat crew. On the other hand, our suposedly "superior" room was dearly needing a complete refurbishment, everything looked old and worn out. The door lock needed several tries to unlock, the door itself wouldn't remain closed unless locked from inside when there was a little wind, the air conditioning was very weak, bathroom was extremely basic... you name it. Food was disappointing, specially breakfast, too simple and repetitive, and fish and meat in other meals were usually so well done that they were really hard to chew and swallow. So, if your main interest is good diving and you don't mind those shortcomings, I would highly recommend this resort, but if some degree of comfort and pleasant food is important for your holiday, you might be somewhat disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Hi, Thank you for leaving Bastianos Bunaken a nice review. We do really have some of the best wall dives in the world as you say. As the resort is almost 30 years old it's a constant effort to keep the resort as maintained as it is. We're hoping that 2020 will be a year with some bigger renovations to deal with some of the issues you mention. Hope you have some great memories and that we'll see you back with us in the future. Kind regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
Ulf Wike Ljungblad wrote a review Dec 2019
Tonsberg, Norway270 contributions187 helpful votes
We are returning visitors to Bunaken and have been traveling a lot in Indonesia. This was our first visit on Bastianos Bunaken. We are a family with two children aged 10 and 13, all four divers. We choose to come back to Bunaken after many years to experience the easy diving with the children. The resort with Michael at the rudder really delivered! They catered for everything in a very professional manner, always willing to do a little more for their guests. It was true, personal hospitality which is not so common at bigger dive resort nowadays. The dive guides were very good and they made it easy and enjoyable to dive us a family. Also, Bunaken has improved divewise since our latest visit some five years ago. We can warmly recommend this resort and would love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 31 Dec 2019
Hi Ulf, Thank you for your kind review of Bastianos Bunaken. We're super happy to hear how much you liked it and we hope to so you back with us in the future. Kind regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
Peter Fong wrote a review Nov 2019
Shah Alam, Malaysia37 contributions59 helpful votes
Having dived in Lembeh before, I picked Bunaken for the wall dives. Our flight was 3 hours late so we arrived at the port at night. The resort doesn't normally provide boat transfers at night but they waited for us and we were thankful that we didn't waste a night at Manado. Check in was smooth and Mike and his team provided a very comprehensive review of the resort and dive operations. The resort is old, and the rooms show some wear and tear. We got the rooms facing the beach. Upside - great views. Downside - the air conditioning cannot cope with the afternoon sun. There is no tv in the room and wifi was at best spotty at the reception area. I recommend you get a local sim card if you really need to stay in touch. Reception can be stronger at sea. Boat and dive services were excellent and the rental equipment was quite new. The boat crews are very organised and our DM, Rio was excellent. Most dives are nearby and no more than 15 min ride. The blue seas and the visibility were fantastic but after a while, a wall dive was a wall dive. We went to a local muck dive area but they paled compared to Lembeh. The one downside was the limited food choices, which tended to be catered for western palates. The kitchen drummed up some local dishes for us which was good but I felt that smaller resorts in Indonesia were generally more generous in the food offerings. I would have otherwise given them 5 stars. This is a luxury resort, so it didn't come cheap. However service was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms can be quite far away from the dining and dive areas. Ask for a closer one if you don't...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 2 Dec 2019
Hi Peter, We're glad hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the kind review. Hopefully we'll see you and the family with us again in the future. Kind regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
angeladumont wrote a review Nov 2019
Bromont, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
Unless you are in a superior room, you will be disappointed. Standard rooms are in dire need of a new coat of paint and are suffocatingly hot despite the fan. After 2 nights in a standard room, we upgraded to a superior room that was thankfully available. Things got better! Diving is excellent with amazing walls and visibility. Nice small beach with outside bar and seating. Guests come mainly from Germany (it was German immersion for us). Resort managers and staff are very attentive and friendly. Overall, a nice place but a little bit too touristy for us (Chinese visitors come by hundreds every day to the nearby dock for day trips from Manado).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 2 Dec 2019
Hi, Thank you for your review of Bastianos Bunaken. We'll forward your advice of improvements to the owner. We're super happy to hear you enjoyed diving with us and we'll hopefully see you back with us in the future. Kind regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
Eamonn B wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom58 contributions25 helpful votes
What a resort and diving location. 13 years since our first visit this location has improved so well. The underwater life is much more prolific and plentiful. The Marine Park status has made a big difference. On the island, this resort is tidy and full of great people doing what needs to be done under the leadership of Michael and Cora. The dive guides are fantastic and are ably supported by the most helpful of captains and crew on the dive boats. Want to see critters and big stuff too, make sure you come here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have great views but go for air con.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 3 Nov 2019
Hi Eamonn, Thank you for your kind review of Bastianos Bunaken. We're super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our reefs are even healthier now then when you visited 13 years ago. Hope to see you back with us in the future! Kind regards, Michael General manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
alisono27 wrote a review Oct 2019
Portsmouth, United Kingdom83 contributions75 helpful votes
At last a dive resort which is fab for both divers and snorkellers alike. My husband had the same guide for the week and I had a guide for snorkelling. The dive crew were professional and really took care of us. The coral and sea animals were awesome, incredible. From the small to large. Cora and Michael are friendly managers and work really hard at this pretty resort with wooden rooms and great fresh food (everything comes from Manardo by boat). Water is in big reusable bottles so just take a bottle and refill. Wi-fi in the communal areas. So relaxing, loved our visit. We definitely want to return and also try the sister resorts. Just loved North Sulawesi, the locals, the coffee, everything :)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from CorinaS737, Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 27 Oct 2019
Dear Allison, Thank you so much for your kind words. We loved to have you here and of course we will be super happy to welcome you again in our little paradise! It was a pleasure, Mike & Cora And the hole Bastianos Bunaken Team
Read more
Sonia M wrote a review Oct 2019
Canggu, Indonesia2 contributions
Spent a few days there, and had the change to finish my Open Water with Michael - who was the nicest guy ever. The dives were amazing, the spots are great with a beautiful marine life. This is a fantastic resort, with a brilliant staff, were I would go back for sure! Highly recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 9 Oct 2019
Hi Sonia, Thank you for your kind review. try to be as nice as I can haha :) Keep diving it only gets better and better the more you do it. And hope to see you back with us in the future! Sunny regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
Caroline D wrote a review Sep 2019
Paris, France116 contributions16 helpful votes
Bastianos is the best spot to stay in Bunaken, for a few reasons. First, it is located on the side of the island where you have the beach (the other side is Mangrove, no beaches). We stayed also on the other side, and is is less nice. Second reason, it is the best value for money we found on the island (and we visited the whole island and stayed at 3 different places). Rooms are all sea view, food is very good, staff is so kind. Diving is amazing in Bunaken and at Bastianos we found the best scuba gear (all is brand new, including the west suits and booties), the best boats, the best dive guides. The management was also super friendly, professional, and very helpful. We were sad to leave this place, and for sure we will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelP11232, General Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Responded 13 Sep 2019
Hi Caroline, Thank you for that very nice review. We're super happy to hear that you and "the gang" liked your stay with us. Our staff are one of our biggest assests and they are the ones who give the personallity to the resort so they'll be super happy to see your review I'm sure. You're welcome back anytime for some more epic dives with us! Kind regards, Michael General Manager - Bastianos Bunaken
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bastianos bunaken diving hotel manado
LOCATION
IndonesiaSulawesiNorth SulawesiManadoBunaken Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Bunaken National Marine Park (0.2 km), Deco Stop Cafe N Bar (1.8 km), and Mahoro Island (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Bunaken Island.
Does Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.