We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan at Stoford
 Click to rate
Bristol
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night in Feb 2017 on a business trip and sadly found the carpeted floors leading to and in my room quite grubby. I stayed in room 2 which is a quite small double, the bathroom was modern but also quite small, the window faces the busy main road and has primary and secondary glazing to minimise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oebep
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived in the evening after a very long journey. Staff extremely welcoming. Evening meal was atrocious. I ordered a prawn and avocado salad. There were about 6 prawns, I had to ask for more avocado as there was only half of one on my plate. They also forgot to bring out the chilli dressing. My husband said his pie was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
Ferryside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a chirpy welcome we went to our room and found it to be adequate; the extra heater proved useful as we settled down to choose our evening meal. Feelingpositive we referred to the two menus and the choice was promising; but nothing was to prepare us for the poor meal which we unfortunately encountered. The omens were not great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philferry
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all constructive feedback very seriously and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, and I am glad to hear that the staff compensated you for your food. I am sorry that the manager was confused when she took your order - you asked for the venison and she assumed...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived the staff were super friendly, and we were happy with the room. It was comfortable, clean and tidy. We went down to the restaurant, but were disappointed.with the food. Not only is it highly over priced, the quality is very poor, and the burgers were seriously under-cooked. My daughter couldn't eat hers, and the chips were soggy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 270christinec
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Swan. I am glad you found the staff friendly and liked the room. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your meal. We have spoken to our supplier regarding the quality of the burger, especially as we usually get good feedback on our burgers. I am also sorry that you did not...

Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found the Swan online, and stayed for 4 days for a break from our own pub. Although the weather was dreadful we arrived to such a warm welcome. All the staff were lovely and friendly, nothing too much trouble....Food was nice, especially the traditional Engish breakfast...Our room was lovely and clean, it was on a busy road but with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the inn and hope you come back and visit again one day. We always value feedback from fellow landlords as you know the complexities of the trade. Thank you again. Liz

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to have reasonably priced food, but not anymore. Prices have increased by 10% - 20% and it no longer a pub offering good value. Steak and Ale pie had a "Soggy Bottom" and the peas were hard and tasteless. Enjoyed the chips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgriding
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you think our food is no longer good value, and am disappointed to hear that. Certainly, the prices of food has gone up a lot over the last year and we have had to reflect this in our menu. However, we still have some great special offers - such as our...

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An 18th century inn, the website says it “offers the perfect riverside location amongst the rolling hills of Wiltshire, yet conveniently located on the A36”. Both parts of that statement are undoubtedly true – the location is picturesque, but the car park is on the opposite side of the road to the pub and you have to dart across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smileycat16
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am pleased that overall you like it. I am sorry that the staff have forgotten the two minutes warning - I will remind the team about this. You can always go back for more veg, potatoes and Yorkies so don't feel like you have to pile your plate, it...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place. Arron was on duty the night we arrived and was an awesome host and conversationalist. The cozy English pub feel was exactly what we were looking for and The Swan didn't disappoint. We had a great little room with a double bed and a shared bathroom (although we were never aware of anyone else using it)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Paul - I am glad that Aaron looked after you and that you enjoyed our traditional old inn. Liz

Weston super Mare
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday carvery. Warmly welcomed we had a pleasant table in this small hostelry. The carvery was in the skittle alley next door although other meals were available. Choice of three meats and several vegetable dishes. If you're after plain and simple vegetables, this isn't the place for you. Carrots in orange juice and leeks and mushrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweeperman
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback - I am glad you enjoyed our carvery (we can always rustle up peas and sweetcorn etc for those less adventurous). Thank you for visiting our inn. Liz

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

In the beautiful country side, not far from Salisbury, you will find the Swan at Stoford. I had a wonderful stay which is walking distance, only 6 miles from Stonehenge, through the Wiltshire country side. The staff were extremely lovely and helpful. Really nice place for a solo traveler, the staff around the bar are always up for a chat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmySquares
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star rating. We very much enjoyed your stay with us and meeting interesting people like yourself is partly why we enjoy working in hospitality. I am really pleased you enjoyed your trip to Stonehenge and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Liz

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 15 in Salisbury
236 reviews
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
693 reviews
8.1 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#11 of 15 in Salisbury
361 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
9.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: RM272 - RM661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Advise against room 2”
 of 5 bubbles oebep, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher numbers not so near the busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles Philferry, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don.t eat in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 270christinec, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's old, I would guess all rooms have seen better days. The bed, was fine!”
 of 5 bubbles r0binellis, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room not near road”
 of 5 bubbles jenniferkevis, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5