We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Stoford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Stoford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan at Stoford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

An 18th century inn, the website says it “offers the perfect riverside location amongst the rolling hills of Wiltshire, yet conveniently located on the A36”. Both parts of that statement are undoubtedly true – the location is picturesque, but the car park is on the opposite side of the road to the pub and you have to dart across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smileycat16
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am pleased that overall you like it. I am sorry that the staff have forgotten the two minutes warning - I will remind the team about this. You can always go back for more veg, potatoes and Yorkies so don't feel like you have to pile your plate, it...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Arron was on duty the night we arrived and was an awesome host and conversationalist. The cozy English pub feel was exactly what we were looking for and The Swan didn't disappoint. We had a great little room with a double bed and a shared bathroom (although we were never aware of anyone else using it)....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Paul - I am glad that Aaron looked after you and that you enjoyed our traditional old inn. Liz

Weston super Mare
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for Sunday carvery. Warmly welcomed we had a pleasant table in this small hostelry. The carvery was in the skittle alley next door although other meals were available. Choice of three meats and several vegetable dishes. If you're after plain and simple vegetables, this isn't the place for you. Carrots in orange juice and leeks and mushrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sweeperman
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback - I am glad you enjoyed our carvery (we can always rustle up peas and sweetcorn etc for those less adventurous). Thank you for visiting our inn. Liz

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

In the beautiful country side, not far from Salisbury, you will find the Swan at Stoford. I had a wonderful stay which is walking distance, only 6 miles from Stonehenge, through the Wiltshire country side. The staff were extremely lovely and helpful. Really nice place for a solo traveler, the staff around the bar are always up for a chat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmySquares
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star rating. We very much enjoyed your stay with us and meeting interesting people like yourself is partly why we enjoy working in hospitality. I am really pleased you enjoyed your trip to Stonehenge and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Liz

Welland, Canada
Reviewed 6 January 2017

It was late evening when we arrived, and getting to our room was fast and easy. We went to the dining room for dinner, and I ordered the venison. It was a perfect meal, one of the best I have ever had! A lovely and character filled old establishment, maybe a little run down but, like I said it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0binellis
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4 star review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in our creaky old inn and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Liz

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

The Swan is a very nice, friendly place to enjoy just a drink or have a meal. We have eaten here a few time and have never had any cause for complaint. The staff are always welcoming too. The only downside is the fact the car park is the opposite side of the busy main road and sometimes it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angela w
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I am glad you had a nice Birthday meal. The road can be busy, but it quietens down now until summer - the nature of being a coaching inn I'm afraid. Glad you think we are worth crossing the road for. Liz

Farnborough.Hampshire
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at The Swan on a recent visit to Salisbury, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was just first class, very yummy. Our room was a good size with a four poster bed, which was lovely and comfortable, looking forward to going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemygadgets
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and food. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Liz

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Perfect accommodations for family of five. One bunk bed, one twin bed and one queen. The Inn accommodated our very very late arrival time and the included breakfast was delicious. We chose this Inn because it was very close to Stonehenge and Thruxton Racing , we were very pleased. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r5edmodo
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Swan - we are very conveniently located for the local attractions (just 8 minutes drive from Stonehenge). We appreciate your recommendation. Liz

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Food was expensive and not exceptional. The room was good and there was no noise from the road although there was some noise from the pub below. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. Be aware that the cost of your stay is taken from your ban k several days before your stay and returned to you several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin Y
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Your card would have been pre-authorised and not taken which is standard practice in hotels and B&Bs to prevent people booking, not turning up and not paying the cancellation fees. The cost for your hotel could have been charged against the pre-authorisation to avoid this...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

On arrival was shown to room by a nice friendly girl. Meanwhile down in the bar ordering dinner I started to get the feeling things were going down hill. They did not have the pie I wanted but another pie was offered and when it arrived appeared hot but on further inspection the meat inside was cold. On retiring I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferkevis
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on our inn. I am sorry that you were not delighted with every aspect of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff friendly. Had you requested more than four milks we would have gladly given you more (however this is typical for a double room). The...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoford
8.2 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
705 reviews
6.8 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
239 reviews
8.1 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
8.4 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
365 reviews
7.9 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan has been trading since 1740, welcoming travellers and providing a comfortable night's sleep. Our coaching inn retains some of that historical character whilst having modern bedrooms with en suites and provides a great base for visiting attractions in the area including Stonehenge, Avesbury, Longleat Safari Park, Wilton House and the Cathedral City of Salisbury. Whether you want to stop for some classic pub food, a delicious special or stay in our accommodation, you are always ensured of a warm welcome here at the Swan. We also have a large function rooms, two gardens including a lovely riverside garden with fishing rights, a traditional skittles alley and can cater for weddings, parties, christenings etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Stoford

Address: Warminster Road, Stoford, Salisbury SP2 0PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury > Stoford
Price Range: RM269 - RM676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan at Stoford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan at Stoford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 3”
 of 5 bubbles badger762015, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Advise against room 2”
 of 5 bubbles oebep, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher numbers not so near the busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles Philferry, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don.t eat in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 270christinec, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's old, I would guess all rooms have seen better days. The bed, was fine!”
 of 5 bubbles r0binellis, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5