We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Playa Orient Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Start your review of La Playa Orient Bay
 Click to rate
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was terrible! The commode cycled endlessly with a LOUD screech at the end of every filling cycle----no sleep possible. I reported the incident with no resolution. The bed was completely worn out----years past it's normal life span. So many nasty little bugs (I can forgive this a bit being a tropical location). Dirty!! please see the photos. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2-goodtimetravelers
Gurley, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is situated on a beautiful beach and has a wonderful fresh water pool to lounge in when you tire of the bay. Our room was very comfortable (though a little outdated) and provided all the necessities to provide a home away from home. The hotel is in the process of updating rooms and the new updated rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArtR0cks
Southern Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

La Playa did everything they could to make our one week stay a highlight trip. The friendly staff from reception, to restaurant, to the best beach bar in the Caribbean, to consistent house-keeping made our week a special memory. The Valentine Days specials in the restaurant were very good. This special hotel being located in the middle of Orient Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wistravelguy
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Powder sands, great water, scenic views, great facility!!! Bar is clean washrooms great,outdoor shower, plenty of area with shade as well, Lots of activity!!@ Must see !! Beautiful area thoroughly enjoyed this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canajian1
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a week at La Playa and had a wonderful time. Hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The room itself was just okay. We sprung for the higher priced room, in the hopes that it had been updated, but unfortunately it was not. Bed was fine, but decor was worn. Everything in the bathroom worked, but was dark...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanoaker
Owings Mills, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, the staff at La Playa is nothing short of amazing. We purchased a travel package through ORBITZ- and I am not exaggerating in the least when I say that they managed to get each part of the package wrong. My husband's airline ticket was reserved, and then "unreserved". They then booked him on a flight to Puerto Rico leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kashad2017
DirecteurLaPlaya, Responsable relations clients at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this review

Good Morning Sir, Thanks for your message, I would like to tell you that it was a pleasure to meet you and your wife, you are so nice (with all the incovenient you have with all your different bookings, you kept smiling all the time. I really appreciate the time you took to write this message Hope you had a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Paradise. Mid-winter suddenly becomes wonderful when you step off the plane at Princess Juliana Airport. This year, we ditched the rental car and took taxis. This was our sixth year at Orient Beach, fifth at La Playa/L'Hoste Hotel. We only stay five nights, for some stupid reason, and we find no desire to leave the area of the hotel anymore....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul H
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice size room but it needs to be update. Toilet had it's own room but was rusting and there was a few water damage in the kitchen area. The bathroom with the shower is big and beautiful.(No complaints). The towels are big and ask for two king size beds. There is a small curtain that divide the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CAtour2
DirecteurLaPlaya, Responsable commercial at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this review

Good morning, By answering our questionnaire, you have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay with us, and we thank you. We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we apologies for that. Your evaluations and comments are precious tools that help us continuously improve our services, particularly in this type of...

Kemptville, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jan. 26 - Feb. 2/17 Hotel was great! We were a bit nervous as we had not experienced a non-all inclusive Caribbean resort; but we had absolutely nothing to fear. Our room had a small bar sink, bar fridge, 2 burner counter top stove, utensils...We were a 45 second walk from the reception to an outside plaza/market that had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue_B_FD
DirecteurLaPlaya, Responsable relations clients at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We would like to thank you for the time spent completing our questionnaire following your stay with us. We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests. Your comments are precious to us and will help us do our utmost to fully satisfy your needs.We are looking...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at La Playa for 12 days in Dec/Jan. I selected this resort due to its location in Orient Bay. I wanted to be on the beach and be walking distance to other restaurants at night - nice restaurants, not just pizza/burger/snack places. I was a little concerned about whether the reviews for La Playa were still accurate given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisDMV
DirecteurLaPlaya, Responsable relations clients at La Playa Orient Bay, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you...

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (118)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Top Floor (21)
Viewed
Family Junior Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Premium Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.2 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
275 reviews
0.2 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
483 reviews
4.5 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,713 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Plantation
Hotel La Plantation
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
425 reviews
4.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Directly on the beach, the Hoste is a hotel offering 56 spacious Junior Suites and a Creole Hut « la Cabana ». The hotel is made up of small buildings (2 floors) with an outdoor freshwater swimming pool, a private beach area with sun loungers and a Bar Restaurant «La Playa" set in an exceptional location where you can enjoy breakfast by the sea the feet in the sand. On the beach you will find a small shop, a massage service for relaxation and a water sports center. Also available are sun loungers and parasols. ComplimentaryWiFi in all Rooms and the entire Hotel ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Playa Orient Bay

Address: 116 Parc de la Baie Orientale | BP 5146, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly L'Hoste Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Price Range: RM689 - RM1,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Orient Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and West Indies so you can book your La Playa Orient Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hoste Hotel Orient Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Playa Orient Bay staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from La Playa Orient Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in room 114----Yikes!”
 of 5 bubbles 2-goodtimetravelers, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“request a King bed if you want lots of room!”
 of 5 bubbles ArtR0cks, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The remodeled section of the hotel is extraordinary.”
 of 5 bubbles wistravelguy, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“first floor room is easier to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles CAtour2, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe all room balconies face towards the ocean; we could hear it but not see it!”
 of 5 bubbles Sue_B_FD, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5