We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nepenthe B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nepenthe B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We ´ve spent a few ninghts here ..in fact the most worst road to get somewhere in costa rica is definitely here! That s the black point.. But.. The room is Nice.. What we didn t like that much is the kind of breakfast where u have to sit at a table with other guests..sometimes, we love just to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martina Z
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Definitely spring for the 4x4 if you're coming here. Also recommend staying in the lower level Cabinas as they're more private and have the best views. Agustin the manager was super helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area (the best being right on the property!). His wife runs the spa and my girlfriend got one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beataffinity
Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend, his friends were staying at a hotel in the same town but it was full so the owner booked us a room here. It's even more in the middle of nowhere then the town of El Castillo. Up a really terrible road. It is over priced for the location. We got there after dark and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StacyJ1990
Nepenthe_ByB, Gerente at Nepenthe B&B, responded to this review

Hi Stacy First of all I´m sorry for the inconvenients during your short stay at Nepenthe. We try hard everyday to please all of our guests, but there are things we can´t control, like the road condition and the rain. Nevertheless we disagree with you in a couple of things: - We don´t feel the place is overpriced considering the...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 February 2015

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The adventure is getting there - the last 2 km is a steep and bumpy dirt road. Once there the cabins are clean and reasonably equipped. We saw a misty view of the lake, but otherwise our 3 days were spent in the rain clouds - I am sure the view would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfloyd48
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Reviewed 30 January 2015

We had a change in itinerary and ended up booking here for a night. We would have loved to have been able to stay longer. The pool area was beautiful. The home cooked breakfast was lovely. The cottage was very nice but the real selling point was the view from the front porch area. I had one of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellygurza
Austria
Reviewed 17 December 2014

Wonderful location, however we advice to take one of the lower bungalows - those are more secluded & relaxing than the rooms in the main building. The massages there are excellent & very relaxing. The restaurant added to the hotel (a few meters down the hill) is a very good and excellent restaurant. All homemade, local and fresh (run by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no_name_given_here
Pasadena, California
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Nepenthe is a hidden gem tucked away in the hills with a magnificent view. The road is a bit rough but it is so worth it. If you are traveling at night be aware that is very difficult to see the sign that leads up to this place so get good directions; we passed it twice. This B&B only has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egchora
NorCal
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Our return to Nepenthe for a relaxing vacation was wonderful. Agustin was a great host as usual. Welcome us with open arms and could not wait to help us in our adventures. We stayed in the main house with the spectacular views and had a great time. The breakfasts were tasty with fresh eggs from the chickens on the property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Havsurf
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewed 27 October 2014

You really need a 4x4 to get there but it is allllll worth it. This is probably the best view we ever seen.... Breathtaking isn't even enough to describe it. You have a great close view of the volcano and the arenal lake. The sound of the mountains and rainforest is so calming you forget everything around you. Cabins were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle V
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Nepenthe is a relaxing and welcoming B&B that has a spectacular view and is located right on the edge of the rain forest which enabled us to see a large variety of monkeys, birds and butterflies from the comfort of hammock chairs. Agustin is a knowledgable and hospitable host who helped us plan and book several excursions in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie L

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Cabin (56)
Viewed
Hot Tub (19)
Viewed
Main House Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.9 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
634 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
198 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#3 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
197 reviews
10.6 km away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,199 reviews
2.3 km away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nepenthe Bed and Breakfast is Beautifull piece of paradise located in the little town of El Castillo of La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Surrounded by the rain forest and exuberant wild life, you can appreciate the magnificent Arenal Volcano and the mistic Arenal Lake, enjoy beautifull sunsets from our infinity edge pool or relax in the jacuzzi or with a Massage in The Blue Lagoon Spa after a day of adventures and fun in the area. ** Also, the Phoenix Restaurant at Nepenthe is located on the grounds of Nepenthe and serve a daily dinner menu with handmade food and fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nepenthe B&B

Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos | 100 m este y 1.5km sur de la Escuela, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Price Range: RM444 - RM595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nepenthe B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nepenthe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nepenthe B&B staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Diamond Bar, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nepenthe B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1-3 open directly to the pool and view. Room 3 adjacent to kitchen, some noise in morning may disturb light sleepers.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeB496, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Cabinas for privacy perhaps but the single rooms wonderful also.”
 of 5 bubbles Q1609PSdonnam, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Unless I am coming to stay, take the end room of the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles mikebQ4881KN, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have a great view, rooms 1 & 2 are closest to the pool.”
  • Right off the patio
 of 5 bubbles 136deannah, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Anything with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles Birdman27000, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5