We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenferrie Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Glenferrie Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Exceptional value for money. Very close to Kirribilli Wharf and within walking distance to Kirribilli Village, Luna Park and Milsons Point Station. Plenty of bathrooms so not an issue for rooms without an ensuite. Breakfast thrown in with a hot and cold buffet and even pancakes. Beautiful gardens and breakout areas. Not disability friendly unfortunately.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elna M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved the look of the building and the location so first impressions were perfect. We got a shock when we found that there were only shared bathroom , showers and toilets avaliable down the hall and they were unisex add well. In the end I didn't mind having to go to a common shower and toilet but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana K
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hana, Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate the feedback. We do try in all our advertising to clearly state that most of our rooms are shared bathrooms. We do have some ensuite rooms and if you do choose to come back we suggest booking one of these rooms if the shared facilities are not your cup of...

Basehor, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was a beautiful surprise. After being price shocked trying to find a place to stay in Sydney, I was skeptical about this hotel because it seemed reasonable and nice. I was not disappointed. The bed was comfortable, the hotel was quiet, and the whole place kind of felt like I had somehow cheated and found a much nicer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottheMama123
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NottheMama, It is so absolutely lovely to read your review. I will share this with all the staff and sincerely appreciate your comments. We love to heard when a guest has a great stay and we really look forward to you coming back again. Sincerely Thank you JC Branch

Taree, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this guest house because it was pet friendly. It had a large back garden in which our dog could roam. Our room was on the ground floor and was dark and basic in furnishings. The room was quiet at night. Staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussielins
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really great for what we needed. Great location close to train or ferry. Wasn't sure what to expect with shared bathroom but pleasantly surprised. Looks like it's been recently upgraded. Breakfast was great value and the place had a nice family feel. Only negative - the place needs regular thorough vacuuming in and under beds etc. would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the Glenferrie Lodge was very nice. The location is great, very close to some great views across to the opera house, skyline and harbour bridge, and also very close to the train station and ferry terminal. The surroundings are nice, very quite with some restaurants and shops nearby. The room itself was clean, unfortunately it was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteffiLovesTraveling
The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, basic hotel in wonderful location. Some of the rooms have shared facilities but I have always found them to be clean and I never had to wait. The single bedrooms are a bit small, but the bed is comfy and the towels are clean. Breakfast comes at an additional 10 dollars but is included if you book directly through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MvA2708
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MvA2708, Thank you sincerely for your lovely review. We absolutely appreciate you being a regular customer and also understanding exactly what we are about. Yes we are not a luxury establishment but do not try to be. We want to ensure that our guests have a comfortable night's sleep and a great breakfast which as you mentioned is free...

Chermside
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 12 very clean and tidy. Staff very nice even when we needed assistance at 1.00am in the morning to enter our room our cards were not working. Good breakfast for $ 10. Will stayed again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
jcbranch, General Manager at Glenferrie Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Charles, Thank you for your kind review. I'm sorry that your key malfunctioned. it's not common as we use RFID key's and they are better than the old magnetic stripe style. However it's good that the staff were able to help you. Ps if you book direct breakfast is included for free. Sincerely JC Branch

Da Nang, Vietnam
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First time in Australia, first time in Sydney, so I booked an affordable funky place. I didn't realise I'd booked a room with a shared bathroom,,my fault not Glennferries.. Anyway I arrived reception guy was great and threw in a breakfast without me even asking.. I'll come back to the breakfast later. My room was very small in an annex,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filmandmusic
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Glenferrie Lodge is the perfect location for travelling around central Sydney. There is a ferry and bus stop right outside the hotel, and another wharf and train station just 10 minutes' walk away, right next to Luna Park. The rooms and grounds are well-maintained. Fabulous offerings for breakfast, and a decent playground and garden for kids to play in while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tezzybear

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (with Balcony and Shared Bathroom) (23)
Viewed
Double Room (with Shared Bathroom) (20)
Viewed
Family Budget Room (with Shared Bathroom) (22)
Viewed
Family Room (with Private Bathroom) (34)
Viewed
Queen Room (with Balcony and Shared Bathroom) (34)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Single Standard (with Shared Bathroom) (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Room (with Shared Bathroom) (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirribilli
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,269 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glenferrie Sydney offers quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation on the shores of Sydney Harbour, a minute's walk from the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge and a stone's throw from the Sydney home of the Prime Minister in one of the most beautiful suburbs of Sydney. The Sydney central business district is a 6 minute ferry ride away, so guests can enjoy being in the city without the cost of staying there.All bathrooms and amenities are shared; wifi is free; a full hot buffet breakfast is included in the tariff for all rooms. With its beautiful, leafy garden, Glenferrie is an ideal place to stay if you are travelling with a pet or if you simply want to relax and read or have a quiet breakfast outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenferrie Lodge

Address: 12a Carabella St, Kirribilli, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney > Kirribilli
Price Range: RM303 - RM599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenferrie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Glenferrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenferrie Hotel Kirribilli
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenferrie Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Glenferrie Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A bit more expensive but the front rooms with balconies worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles 488elnam, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Würde nächstes Mal ein zimmer in einer der oberen Etagen wählen”
 of 5 bubbles SteffiLovesTraveling, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You'd have to do more research give them a ring”
 of 5 bubbles filmandmusic, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great if you don't have a nose! its cheap & noisy, just like being in a backpacking hostel!”
 of 5 bubbles 7BFW, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try for the balcony rooms, they're more spacious and there's lots of comfy seats about to sit and enjoy the street view.”
 of 5 bubbles ozfran, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5