We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (131)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (38)
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good9%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“drawing room”(18 reviews)
“large house”(6 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(25 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Concierge
Conference Facilities
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
340
41
19
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
340
41
19
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomlarge houseafternoon teafree standing bathhuge bathroomfour poster bedsilk roomon arrivalroaring firecountry housesteak nightferguson suitewee gemtop floorcooked to perfectionfirst classfollowing morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 422 reviews
Reviewed today

Our second stay at Durn House and the staff are so very nice. Matthew and his team cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. This is a wonderful house which has been restored with loving care and a fantastic...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 199Evelyn
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had been trying to get to Durn house for nearly 3 years as it looked amazing on the intranet........... easy to get to for us as it was only 1.5 hrs from home. Upon arrival, we entered the main entrance - looked around for...More

2  Thank Sandra H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Durn House is an attractive of old fashioned hotel not too far from Aberdeen. The bedrooms are huge and very attractive but fact that the bathroom was down the hall was a bit of a surprise, but again rather lovely. The restaurant was disappointing for...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a beautiful Georgian house sitting among trees and situated on the edge of the village of Portsoy. We believe a great deal of restoration has taken place but the descriptions on the website/booking site are a little hopeful. Our room was furnished beautifully...More

Thank GrantLiz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay here recently, the house is splendid. We found the staff friendly and helpful, our room was clean and nicely appointed. The main reason for this recommendation however is the food. We had phoned ahead to ask if they would be...More

2  Thank HC0064
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (131)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (38)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Angela M
27 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, We are currently investing is accessible entrances and bedrooms, but as this building is a Grade 2 listed Georgian Manor House, this process has unfortunately been previously delayed. Please do contact us for... More
0
Votes
frequenttraveller012
20 August 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, Just to give you a quick update - We strive to ensure that you have the most wonderful time at Durn House. This is why we are happy for you to bring along your 4 legged companion to enjoy your luxury stay, for an... More
1
Vote
frequenttraveller012
20 August 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DurnHouse | Property representative |
Hi there, Just to give you a quick update - We strive to ensure that you have the most wonderful time at Durn House. This is why we are happy for you to bring along your 4 legged companion to enjoy your luxury stay, for an... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room was perfect"
Read review
"Check location of room as there is no lift and the stairs are windy and steep."
Read review
"The Durn room had an amazing roll top bath and four poster bed"
Read review
"Durn room house an amazing bathroom and the bed is huge, very romantic."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing