We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,031: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there a few times recently and always a friendly welcome by all the staff. A very clean and well presented Hotel Food always reliable, would just like the menu to change occasionally. Each time I have stayed there (4 recently) it has always been the same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry M, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will look forward to sharing your review with the team, and I will pass on your feedback to our Head Chef regarding menu change. We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Carley Warren

gloucester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Heater not working in room 214. No central heating. It relies on worn out electric convector heater. Absolutely freezing in room but corridors warm as they are serviced by proper central heating radiators.. No spare electric heaters. Hoping to move to a warmer room or else we will have to leave the hotel. Told staff they said you will have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrymechan
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have been trying to contact you to discuss your review. We advised you to come to Reception whilst we arranged your complimentary room upgrade that we gave to you as a gesture of goodwill, because the heater is being serviced. So slightly confused by this review? If you would like to discuss this further...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight in early December, spacious room, balcony with view over estuary, lots of sea birds as tide goes in & out, excellent breakfast in conservatory also overlooking estuary and food cooked to order, very informal & level of service just right. Indoor pool also a bonus but quite small as are the changing rooms) Only negative comments were that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyWSM
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TonyWSM, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will look forward to sharing your feedback with our team Kind Regards Carley Warren

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a great location. Staff were very helpful especially Amanda. After some confusion with the room we booked not being available she showed us round a superior room in the South Lodge & also the Swift Suite which we opted for in the end. Excellent facilities, this suite would be great for a family so as there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJP1970
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SJP1970, Happy New Year!! Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will look forward to sharing your feedback with our team Kind Regards Carley Warren

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a deluxe room at a cost of 150 for the night, with hopes to having a chilled out new years eve.. how wrong were we! Arrived and wanted to book a table at the restaurant but were told it was fully booked due to a dinner and dance, obviously we expected it to be busy but this was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sfcoles
PassageHouse, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sfcoles, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you weren't able to book in our restaurant on New Year's Eve, but this is one of our biggest nights of the year so prebooking is essential. Our beds are known as 'zip and link' beds, where two singles join together to make a Kingsize bed. This allows us...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 6 nights over the Christmas period. Best bits first - The children loved the swimming pool, location was good (Exeter/Torbay close by), nice clean towels and bedding, friendly staff. However - the rooms were very dated and family room not suitable for 3 beds. None of the electrical items had PAC test labels on. The condensation on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoTJ2013
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights to visit the city and surroundings. In general everyone was friendly but Georgi is a very caring person, thank you. Just one thing to add, breakfast wasn't what we expected, we came to the restaurant and there was no one around to greet us, we looked for a table and after 5m decided to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Cavaco
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Parking conveniently outside the Hotel, checked in, & Room 107 was the next stop. We chose to Upgrade our room, so pleased we did. The view from our window was scenic. River, Trees Plants, Swans & other wildlife. A very efficient heater, a Queen sized bed, & usual Tea/Coffee supplied. Breakfast had a large choice, from Full English to Smoked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maldonian_9
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I grew up locally in Buckfastleigh , and recently returned to stay here over Christmas 2016. To visit my Mum. I own a travel company, and I work all over Europe and actually assess hotels for use by guests of my company. I am seriously struggling to understand how anyone is giving positive reviews of this place? I suspect either...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 years now with my wife and two children, every year is superb, excellent facilities and rooms are awesome, you won't be Disappointed, xmas is very festive here and lovely atmosphere, and it's right on the teignmouth estuary, 5 stars from me and after 4 years of really enjoying coming here, I thought I better put on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris-cornwal

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsteignton
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
10.6 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.1 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
199 reviews
11.4 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
599 reviews
6.2 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Teign estuary, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel offers a comfy-contemporary atmosphere for any business or leisure stay. With a total of 90 well appointed hotel bedrooms with en-suites and holiday apartments which have spectacular South Devon riverside views and a luxurious leisure suite with a Steam Room, Sauna and well appointed Gym. Our Beauty Salon offers a range of treatments, massages and aromatherapy. Centrally located between the busy city of Exeter and sea side town of Torquay, BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel is a unique location that ensures that you and your guests will enjoy the benefit of a delightful riverside setting as well as the unique accessibility whether they are travelling by road, rail, or air. All this makes BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel one of the most perfectly positioned venues in Devon. Situated just off the A380 and M5, our conference hotel in Devon is only 15 minutes from Exeter city centre and offers ample free parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel

Address: Hackney Lane, Kingsteignton TQ12 3QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingsteignton
Price Range: RM281 - RM553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Newton Abbot
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick one over looking the water”
 of 5 bubbles 862donaldw, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If staying for a while or on holiday it would be worth paying the extra for an estuary view.”
 of 5 bubbles 328lesleyl, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“205 had lovely views over the estuary, but was over the bar so could be noisy if the hotel had an event going on so check when booking”
 of 5 bubbles Mblacker, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No lift in the annexe rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 420JohnL420, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe room with view”
 of 5 bubbles Serendipity10_10, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay