We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalhousie Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalhousie Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalhousie Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,205: English reviews
Northants
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed at Dalhousie for my sisters wedding and the pros outwayed any cons , We had a fantastic room with beautiful views down to the falconry the bathroom and shower worked well the only complaint was the toilet seat was dodgy and the bathroom mastic was tired The room was extremely hot and trying to cool it down was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear David B Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time and do hope that you will join us again soon. We have resolved the toilet seat and mastic now so thank you for that also. I am so pleased that the team were again such an asset to our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Arrived early so our room naturally wasn't ready so thought we would have a coffee in the orangerie. When we came to pay we were surprised to see a £2 charge for a small piece of shortbread that came with the coffee. After a chat with the F&B manager it was sorted out. After this we got to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Steve D Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a lovely stay with us, I have passed on my sincere gratitude to the team members that you mentioned and the rest of the team who work behind the scenes to offer the service that we provide. We do indeed limit entry to the Aqueous Spa...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We really looked forward to staying in a castle! We found in fact we were staying in a tiny room, in a modern house in the grounds a five minute walk away. We didn't waste another night and lost the cost of the second night !! Also beware Edinburgh is a £45 cab ride away !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is most regretful that you were not made aware of the room type your agent had reserved for you prior to your arrival. Naturally, had we the availability within the castle we would have transferred your room regardless of the error. I do hope that when...

Boston, MA
Reviewed 11 October 2015

My husband and I stayed in one of the themed rooms. The room was huge with a beautiful view of the lawn. The castle is a sight to behold and it was fun walking around and seeing all of the well-kept rooms. The library is particularly nice. One of the touches we loved was the bagpiper playing when you enter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcysmom
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear marcysmom Thank you for your review - it is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to share your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to enjoy not just the wonderful castle, but also the amazing Rosslyn Chapel. We now provide special packages so that our guests can enjoy both...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This spectacular Castle and grounds is set a short distance away from the town of Bonneyrigg. Our room was a themed room (# 3 )and was on a lower floor so it was easy getting to and from. The room itself was good with a nice view out over the large lawn. The castle has all kinds of corridors on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunlovincanuck
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear sunlovincanuck Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is heartwarming and delightful to hear of your wonderful experience which I do hope that you will be able to experience again shortly. A very good day to you.

Tipp City
Reviewed 8 October 2015

The setting is beautiful, the service is very good. Our room was small but big enough for us. It was one of the original rooms in the castle. The dungeons were very interesting and dinner by candlelight in there was delightful. Very comfortable, very friendly over all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sueann R
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sueann R Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a lovely and romantic experience in our castle. The original rooms that we have are a delight to share, and whilst some are not of the size that we enjoy in the modern era, they have been carefully maintained and refurbished to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful, our room was fantastic and the surroundings are fabulous we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The only sting in the tail is we didn't check the bill on departure as we trusted that it would be correct, we were charged for glasses of wine and coffees that we didn't have, and we also didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jogillies
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear jogillies Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us although saddened to hear that we have not responded to you communication, I am currently looking into the matter and I have now made contact with you to resolve. I am delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and your...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

What else could you possibly want?! A beautiful castle in the middle of picturesque Scottish scenery, a relaxing spa, medieval decor, excellent and friendly staff and beautiful cuisine!! Never stayed in such a perfect hotel! We stayed for a couple getaway in the sir Walter Scott suite and was beautiful!! The meal in the dungeon was the best meal I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Gemma S Thank you so much for your amazing review - we are very grateful. I have passed on your feedback to the team and thanked them personally. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dalhousie Castle, hopefully very soon. A very good day to you.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

First of all let me say this castle is one of the most beautiful castles/hotel ive been in....set in it's own grounds it was truly lovely..however...we booked this as a very special "Silver wedding Anniversary" treat, you can imagine how excited i was to be staying in a castle....on our arrival ( around 2.30pm ) we were told our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie-G1968
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Annie-G1968 Thank you for your review. I have since wrote to you at the address provided however if you would be kind enough to contact me at the hotel so that I can discuss the matter further with you. Thank you very much in advance.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

I booked a spa day for 4 using a Itison voucher, we did not know what to except. We had a lovely massage and facial treatment experience, visually stunning afternoon tea served in The Orangery. The spa area is small but it was lovely. The castle and grounds are fabulous. The staff were really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sillysal123456
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sillysal123456 I am delighted to hear of your great experience within the Spa, please be sure to keep an eye on our facebook page for more great deals or sign up to our newsletter with exclusive offers and events. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle and Aqueous Spa soon. A very good day to you.

914 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (857)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (434)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,062 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Price Range: RM498 - RM1,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The lower castle suite is an experience like no other!!”
 of 5 bubbles Y9554PNstevel, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you stay in "castle rocks" close the doors after you & lock them, they don't lock after you like a hotel.”
  • Castle rocks.
 of 5 bubbles leesO9521AF, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Themed rooms but watch out for the Ghosts..”
 of 5 bubbles 974francisq, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a themed room with a view out back of the pasture/brook.”
 of 5 bubbles DH474, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our themed suite (Room 6) had a lovely view of the countryside out of one window.”
 of 5 bubbles holidayfairy_8, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5