We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Swan & Minster Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,692: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for three nights to kick off the Easter holidays and take full advantage of what little free time we have before our baby is born. We were both looking forward to our visit as the place looked beautiful and, on the whole, it did not disappoint. The grounds are gorgeous, breakfast and dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful property and particularly our food and friendly team. I have forwarded your comments regarding staffing at breakfast to Andrew, our Food & Beverage Manager for review. At the beginning of every sitting each staff member is allocated a...

Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a few times here , love the contrast between old and the new. Beautiful place very relaxing and great service usually......some disruption with improvements to bar and kitchen during our stay but will be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Kevin B Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so pleased you keep returning to our beautiful spot. Apologies for the disruptions during your visit, we have recently renovated our kitchen but it should not have affected your stay so please accept my sincere apologies for this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Very best...

Olney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is spread over a large area in different buildings. We had a very old beamed room over the dining room in one of the 2 older buildings. The room was very comfortable, perfectly equipped and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. In fact quite a few people in our group commented on how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KH3000
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear KH3000 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Old Swan & Minster Mill. I'm so pleased to read that you found your bed super comfortable and that you loved your bedroom in the Old Swan, I am, however, so sorry that you were...

Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent stay at the Old Swan - location is pure Cotswold, rooms in old building quirky but acceptable, food in the evening excellent , spa very new and has all you need for relaxing afternoon. Nice walk up to the church and hall ruins and then return alongside the Windrush

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjk49
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear pjk49 Thank you for your 5 star review and lovely comments on our high standard of food, spa and excellent location. Our staff work so hard to ensure all guests receive first class customer service, so thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon Kindest regards Dawn

Pontordawe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Relaxing and beautifully situated hotel thats a 20 min drive from Oxford. Excellent facilities and room with very friendly staff who would time and time again would go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure you have a great stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 471owainj
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear 471owainj Thank you so much for your kind words, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. It is interesting that you mentioned how the team went above and beyond time and time again which is fantastic to read as this is our company motto. I have forwarded your feedback to the whole team who...

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Old Swan and Minster Mill is a lovely hotel with great rooms, friendly and helpful staff and good food. Convenient for Oxford and more. If we go again will take tennis rackets. Easy parking and lovely walks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen Margaret J
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Helen Margaret J Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, please note we have a range of tennis rackets available at reception as well as badminton rackets and basketballs. We very much hope that your will return to see us again very soon. Kindest regards,...

Hail Wiston
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

an excellent hotel in wonderfull grounds, the staff were very good, the room we had was well appointed and clean with all that one could need. the staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. the only thing wrong was that we couldn't stay longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y375FKmikeb
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Y375FKmikeb What a superb review thank you so much. I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team who will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe you can stay longer next time! Very best wishes, Dawn

Oxford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a stunning property that allows you peace, comfort and luxury, Unexpectedly romantic and exceptionally high quality all round. Be aware that the restaurant and breakfast services are in a second building and depending where you are staying you might have to walk across the road but in such a sleepy village this is no hardship.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3995EBrebeccar
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear C3995EBrebeccar Thank you so much for your fantastic review and kind comments. I have passed on your feedback to the whole team who work so hard to ensure everything about our guests stay is special. Please do come back soon Kind Regards Dawn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at Old Swan & Minster Mill was a surprise getaway for my birthday that my boyfriend organised for me. When we arrived, I was just amaze about how beautiful and peaceful the place is. We went to check out, where kind receptionist explained to us everything, and strait away we had appointment in SPA. We had Ultimate Hero Package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka N
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Agnieszka N Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and what a fabulous five star review. It's always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay from the beginning to the end. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Very best wishes Dawn

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Liked The old Swan restaurant was expensive but good, The setting is lovely Disliked: The inn presents as 5 star but operates as 3. Dirty toilet on arrival, Complementary sloe gin drinks flask was near empty, the feature of this 'feature' room was an outside patio with a wood burner stove but no way of lighting it due to no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nejuleho
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear nejuleho Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Whilst we are pleased that you found the Restaurant and location lovely we are obviously concerned after reading your comments regarding the rest of your stay. I am sorry that you had a few issues with your bedroom and that you were...

869 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
23.3 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.0 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
347 reviews
7.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,601 reviews
4.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
790 reviews
37.3 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: RM614 - RM1,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a room close to the dining room, make sure you ask for this when booking as it could be a long, dark walk back to your room.”
KH3000, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for rooms in the newer building - better views over the gardens.”
pjk49, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A river room would be our choice again”
LynPaul546, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“De luxe rooms in the upstairs of the Minster Mill overlooking the river”
njanelondon, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only ate, did not stay.”
beverleypawson, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5