We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gateshead Tavern & Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Gateshead Tavern & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Old type hotel dirty walls and smells cheep place to stay but for value it's ok would recommend only as place to stay overnight as I stayed just one night and will not be returning again only in a emergency

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah11234
GatesheadTavern, Manager at Gateshead Tavern & Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dan, we're disappointed to hear you found the place grubby and are wondering if you have stayed recently or this is based on a while ago? We're still working on the painting so not all are quite finished yet but they all have brand new beds, bedding, air conditioners and curtains which should have made for a comfortable stay.

Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is an old style motel that could do with a spring clean i.e. touch of paint new carpets etc. However the room I had was clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable enough. Although the motel is on a busy road the rooms are behind the hotel and well away from the road. It was very quiet. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
GatesheadTavern, Manager at Gateshead Tavern & Motel, responded to this review

Hi Keith, thanks for taking the time to review us. We're pleased you had a comfortable stay. As you pointed out we are actually nearly finished a refurbishment with new air conditioners, new carpet, new beds and paint to all rooms.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We drove up from Sydney to spend the day looking for motor homes around Newcastle and thought that we would book this motel as it had the tavern with meals. After paying for the room and upon opening the door to our accommodation, we were horrified. It had cigarette smoke aroma permeating throughout. It was dated and the walls were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I knew it was a budget hotel and I travel a lot but I was still surprised at how bad this was. Door wouldn't open with key so off to a bad start. Stains all over floor, very old dirty paint, chipped walls, thin walls and very noisy neighbours. staff are not helpful. They are the bar staff so are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days in late December 2015. First thing that met me was a very dirty room. The door to the bathroom was full of shoemarks but It took me 3 minutes to remove them all. Seem to be no cleaning.. The floor on the bathroom was sticky and awful. The rooms are pretty old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tronduns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This is very basic accommodation. Rooms are small but reverse cycle air-conditioned. The décor is aged, Curtains are faded and loosing their block out backing, bathroom is narrow, the tiles/grout aged but the shower is hot. The pub main bar is friendly and has everything. The food in the bistro was awful and the service terrible we waited over and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
Reviewed 26 December 2014 via mobile

We came to stay for a short period of time, a few days. While the room was a little small for a family of four, we found the beds comfy and the air conditioner worked quite well. The tavern is a cheerful place with very friendly staff. The bistro was closed, but a staff member went all out and cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amanda G
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Cheap and dated accommodation. Clean linen but that is all that is clean. Footwear necessary as floors are sticky and unclean. Kettle, crockery and cutlery vey dirty. No housekeeping - breakfast crockery etc left in room for the day - had cockroaches on return in the afternoon. Rat/mouse droppings in top of wardrobe. Took a long time for hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelo0613
Narrabri, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a "family" room which was so small we had to set our portacot up in the door way. The rooms are dated the pillows definatley need replacing. There was an ironing board but no iron. If your on a budget or need something close to the private hospital it is ok but 1 night stay only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SisDaffy
UK
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very basic cheap accommodation, we stayed in a number of cheap motels in a short space of time and this was by far the worse (although not as bad as one of the hostels we encountered!). We used Tripadvisor to select all the others and they all exceeded expectations, whereas at the time of booking this did not have any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkRF

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International
7.7 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
313 reviews
3.9 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
4.0 km away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
87 reviews
4.4 km away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

In your room
  • Air Conditioning

Additional Information about Gateshead Tavern & Motel

Address: 9 Pacific Hwy, Gateshead, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Gateshead
Amenities:
Price Range: RM248 - RM266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateshead Tavern & Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateshead Tavern & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateshead Tavern & Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose a room,,,,don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles karenm770, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay