We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Save
Share
Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula, Panjim 403004 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/06/21
eDreamsUS$32
Priceline
Trip.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (463)
Room & Suite (345)
Pool & Beach (80)

About

#4 of 15 hotels in Dona Paula
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Dona Paula, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat features 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, free parking is available.

Travellers looking for barbeque restaurants can head to Barbeque or Viva Goa.

If you are looking for something to do in the area, Dona Paula Beach and Viewpoint (0.9 mi) is a popular attraction that is within walking distance of Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat.

Enjoy your stay in Dona Paula!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
63Somewhat walkable
Grade: 63 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
729Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 301
  • 270
  • 106
  • 29
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Asif N wrote a review Dec 2020
Bengaluru, India12 contributions3 helpful votes
It was one of my favourite hotel once upon a time and I have stayed here almost every time as the same was very close to vaningum beach And chances casino. But now... I guess half of the hotel is taken back by the land owner and now they are operating in half of the space. Rooms are still good and bigger than any other no nearby hotel. But with half of the hotel is taken back by land owner the way to beach which used to be from their garden is also gone so u have to go by road. Breakfast which was like 5 star have become 1 star . Only saving grace is their staff who still trying to give their 100% . Team sandalwood you have to buck up and buck up fast. First impression is last impression. Really this time I was disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JAIDIP SIMARIA, Owner at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are a transparent company so have declared on our website, Our Price, services and operating procedures have changed. We are reorganizing ourselves after the Covid 19 setback. We assure you to that we will be back soon with the similar standard of Breakfast. Thank you for being loyal to Sandalwood.
Read more
hisunjeev wrote a review Nov 2020
New Delhi, India43 contributions46 helpful votes
The most ever pathetic and terrible hotel in my life ..very unprofessional service and management ...no trains staff and service . Must not be stayed as not recommended for stay at this property ever . Very unfortunate sms terrible stay for 3 nights at a property which is not worth of calling itself a hotel it is rather a railway platform of far off area without any service and professionalism. Not recommended for any sort of stay ...short or long
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JAIDIP SIMARIA, Owner at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We had restarted operations on 15th Nov and our trained staff could not reach back as promised by them due to Covid 19. We had to manage with other department staff and trainees. We are back on track as some of our staff have reached back. Apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Read more
Darshan D wrote a review May 2020
Mumbai, India2 contributions
Awesome food Great customer service. They even gave their own 4 wheeler to take my daughter to hospital, when she was feverish at night and a taxi wasn't available. Nice, clean rooms. Overall - a really good value for money accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
claroquesi wrote a review Mar 2020
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom38 contributions142 helpful votes
The photo's of this hotel very much over inflate the reality- thank goodness we only spent one night here. The room was tiny- you could barely move around the bed and the air conditioning did not work. The pool is also tiny and breakfast just felt "unclean". The nearby beach is not too bad, but we did get chased off the promenade by a guard, as these apparently belong to other hotels on the beach. There is nothing else to see or visit in the local area in walking distance. The only redeeming feature about this place is the low price of alcohol- a large Kingfisher at 125 rupees is good deal hotel wise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamran-Siddiqui, Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings From Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa ! We regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectation, however among your group we have all positive feedback. Still we would like to provide information on certain subject that you highlighted. we have various category of rooms available of different size. The guest book the room accordingly as per their requirements. The beach is small quiet and a clean beach which can be approach through a designated pathway which run through the other hotels property. Guest venturing outside the designated pathway, venture some times into other property and they have the right to restrict that moment. Its our endeavour always to provide guest with a best of the services and we appreciate that you taking the valuable time to write us. We hope that on your next visit we will find your holiday have more inline your requirements. Warm Regards.
Read more
Vinod V wrote a review Feb 2020
New Delhi, Delhi, India59 contributions8 helpful votes
It is a place with great location and beach. Nice restaurant and food. Breakfast buffet was well spread and great taste. Rooms was spacious, clean and ventilated. It is value for money. We would love to visit this place once again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$34 - US$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandalwood hotel and retreat
LOCATION
IndiaGoaNorth Goa DistrictPanjimDona Paula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Chances Casino and Club (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Azul, Laranja, and Bay 15.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Dona Paula.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.