We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Heiden

Save
Share
Seeallee 8, Heiden 9410 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$222
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/12/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.comUS$267
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Being a guest at our hotel means one thing above all – enjoyment all day long! A stay at Hotel Heiden is an experience for all senses. Enjoy the culinary highlights of our outstanding regional cuisine, the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, the wonderful panoramic views far over Lake Constance, the stillness of each new day and the scents of the nearby forests and meadows. Immerse yourself in an Appenzellerland idyll.We look forward to welcoming you to your "home from home"!
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian and 2 more
373Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 163
  • 33
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alain D wrote a review Aug 2021
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland346 contributions151 helpful votes
Well, we liked the location with the fantastic view of the Bodensee, the nice wine recommendation for our dinner, the spacious bathroom and the nice spa area. We frankly disliked some staff behavior: without naming those individuals I was surprised to ask 3 times for the “ a la carte” menu, it seemed that one wanted to force the daily menu ( I guess for convenience) but it should be up to the guest to choose. Then while asking for a shower cap at the reception, the answer was: we don’t have such an item in our hotel! Really? 4* ? While we got a coffee machine in the room we also like tea, and we were expecting it would be easy to organize also one boiler for the room. The answer from the reception: it depends of the room category (needless to say that that person had no idea which room category we booked. The highest one! Still she wanted to send us to the kitchen to get some hot water! What a service!!! Luckily one person heard that discussion and intervened to bring us boiler and tea in the room. Thank you to him. And for that woman at the reception she should review how she communicates with hotel guests. On the hotel side, it lacks a bit of charme, just functional, nothing to be blown away. On the kitchen side, even if it showcases Michelin and Gault &Millau, our Chateaubriand (cooked as ordered) was not so warm once on the table and the veal the next day was below average, we didn’t finish our plates, we never heard an answer from the cook after our complain. So in all we got a mixed feeling from that place after our 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: See view is very nice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Erich Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear Alain D First of all I'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your weekend. I am sadened that beside the some positive remarks from your side, we have not been able to satisfy you completely. I am surprised about the answer with regards to shower caps- of course we do have them ready, but because of low usage we do not have them in the rooms. I shall take action on this point as well as on the communication in general. On hotel side, I am glad to inform you, that the hotel shall undergo major refurbishment early next year. I am convinced that you will like the "new" Hotel Heiden (you will be able to follow progress on www.hotelheiden.ch/zukunft soon. I do hope that you will give us a chance to prove that we can do better. Best regards Erich Dasen, GM
Read more
Jacinthe A wrote a review May 2021
Lucerne, Switzerland49 contributions69 helpful votes
We had a very nice short stay at Hotel Heiden. Our room was spacious and modern. It had a minibar, a coffee machine and two balcons. The dinner was simple yet very nice. The breakfast was great, a lot of good quality food. The wellness area was nice but a little overcrowded, probably due to the bad weather and COVID regulations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erich Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden
Responded 18 May 2021
Thanks a lot jacinthea2013 for staying with us and writing such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Erich Dasen, GM
Read more
Angoose77 wrote a review Apr 2021
Zurich, Switzerland93 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
The Hotel Heiden is a charming hotel. I loved the village of Heiden, and the hotel is only a few minutes' walk away. The rooms are well appointed, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. There are bicycles available for rent. The dinner option was very nice - maybe not top-class dining, but absolutely acceptable, especially considering the not-too-expensive price tag. The spa facilities are perfect - the swimming pool is a good size (which is rarely the case with hotel pools), and the sauna/steam room area is very nice. The only downside is the parking - you need to pay CHF 5 per night for parking, but there are not many parking spaces at the hotel, so you need to park down the road near the Kursaal. Not a big problem, and the parking fees are quite reasonable - but it would be more convenient for people e.g. with families if the parking would be closer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you want a view of Lake Constance/Bodensee, request a room with a lake view - otherwise, the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Erich Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden
Responded 3 Apr 2021
Dear Angoose77 Thanks for that lovely review and for staying with us. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. Indeed it would be nice to have all the parking spaces in front of the hotel, but then the view would not improve.... We do have 2 spaces for unloading/Loading in front of the hotel and all parking spaces are within 200m from the hotel.
Read more
saintlaurent wrote a review Mar 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
There are rooms with Lakeview (Lake Konstanz, Bodensee) and park view. The park view hotels are recommended if you would like to have afternoon sun. Regrettably, many park view rooms do not have a balcony. The rooms are nice and quiet. From the lobby and some parts of the restaurant you have a great Lakeview. This is a 4 star hotel but the service in its restaurant was not at all 4 star! For dinner during two nights we had to wait enormously long for getting served, because of COVID restrictions it was the only place to have dinner otherwise we could have gone some place else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: if you prefer afternoon/evening sun take park view rooms.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erich Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden
Responded 10 Mar 2021
Dear Yves00000 Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations in service. It is a fact, that due to covid every guest will have dinner at the hotel and most of them come at the same time, which makes it difficult for kitchen and service to have everything ready at the same time. Please bear with us a little bit. In "normal" times this will not happen and even now we are trying our best to improve on this situation. Best regards Erich Dasen, GM
Read more
Lucy O wrote a review Jul 2020
22 contributions7 helpful votes
We went as family including our dog and had a very nice stay in the hotel. The service was very good, everyone in the hotel very cordial and always with a smile in their face. The spa is not very big, but the variety of sauna was quite good. The installations were very clean and well prepared for the COVID restrictions. Superb swimming pool with a view to the Constance Lake. The most outstanding surprise was the 5-course dinner menu. The food was very tasty, with the right portion size (not too much not too few) and good presentation. It was our 1st time in Appenzell and the region is very beautiful with great food and interesting Swiss traditions. Appenzell is a must: very very cute village. So overall great experience and for sure we will come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Erich Dasen, General Manager at Hotel Heiden
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Dear Lucy O Thank you so much for this nice review. What a pleasure to learn that you have had a great stay and moreso have appreciated our services and the friendliness of the team. We are all looking forward to you coming back! Best regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$214 - US$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of AppenzellHeiden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Heiden
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Heiden?
Nearby attractions include Kirchturm Heiden (0.2 km), Witzweg (0.2 km), and Henry Dunant Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Heiden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Heiden?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Heiden?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Heiden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gasthaus zur Fernsicht, Restaurant Bo's, and Thai Ambiente.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Heiden?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Heiden have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Heiden offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Heiden located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Heiden.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Heiden?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Heiden?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Heiden offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.