Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Matrimonio  organizzato in spiaggia
Traveller (6845)
Blick von unserem Zimmer (Pool Terrace Room) oben m. Balkon
Room & Suite (1320)
Cba at the Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Dining (379)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 3 resorts in Pantai Cenang
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Malay
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,834 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Langkawi, the Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa garners high marks for its inviting atmosphere, complete with live music and well-appointed rooms boasting balconies. The staff's attentive service has won over guests, despite occasional service hiccups. Travelers commend the resort's cleanliness and prime location that offers easy beach access and proximity to local delights. While the amenities, especially the pools, enhance guest experiences, some suggest an upgrade in food options and facilities. Room views dazzle, yet a few guests note room amenities could be improved amidst renovations.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Pristine
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
5,834Reviews255Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,989
  • 1,819
  • 587
  • 239
  • 201
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
astonvillan wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rustic design of the chalets are charming and functional put provide you with all you need for a fabulous stay. We stayed in chalet 3205 overlooking the cascade pool at the far end of the resort. The bedroom is large and leads onto a large covered terrace overlooking the pool. The bathroom also incorporates a dressing room with wardrobes and luggage storage space (could have had a little more space for storing suitcases). At this end of the resort the beach is bordered by sand bags, probably to prevent erosion of the beach. The shelving of the beach is very gradual making it unsuitable for swimming. However if you walk down to the beach near the restaurants there are no sand bags and it is great for swimming. The sunsets were awesome at the far end of the beach despite the sand bags. We travelled in November and never had any problems finding a sunbed on the beach or around the pool.
The two restaurants are the Spice Market and CBA. Spice market served more local cuisine whilst CBA was more western style. Both served breakfast and evening meals. The buffet breakfast at CBA was accompanied by sparking wine which was a nice touch.
If you don't want to eat on the resort there are plenty of local restaurants nearby within walking distance. There is also a duty free shop about 20 minutes walk away which is great for stocking up with drinks which are cheaper than buying on the resort.
If you want to exchange foreign money use the local money changers rather than the one in the hotel as you will get a much better rate.
Overall this resort is highly recommended for a stay in Langkawi.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chalet 3205 has a view of the cascade pool and is also close to the beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gardkarlsen wrote a review Jan 2020
Stavanger, Norway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Meritus Pelangi many years ago and it was strange to return to the hotel. We stayed just for one night in December 2019 and when we checked in, we got room 707. They seem to make a deal out of driving you to the rooms in small golf buggies and we had to wait a couple of minutes for that. It is a large resort but it is not that big so we could easily just have walked over.

Room 707 was located on the upper level of our house (each entrance seems to have 4 rooms) and when entering you can see that the room is dominated by dark wood. The room is built in a traditional style with a high ceiling (just as the impressive lobby building) and apart from the bed, there was a sofa and table, a desk and chair and a TV mounted on the wall. The TV could have been larger if you ask me but then again we did not really turn it on. The room had a balcony with a view to Cenang beach!

The bathroom was larger that usual and contained a shower corner, toilet and basin but also the wardrobe, space for the suitcase and iron/ironing board. There were lots of amenities and shampoo/shower gel came in small plastic containers. The bathroom did not have proper windows which made it possible to hear the waves on the beach – but it also gave the mosquito easy access to the bathroom and that is never appreciated.

As mentioned, the room is basically on the beach and Cenang beach is white and wide and in many ways picture perfect. On the beach you can find Cba restaurant for sunset drinks and food. The resort also have a couple of pools of course. Breakfast was served both at Spice road (Asian and western breakfast) and at Cba (just western breakfast) and there was a great selection of basically all that you need.

Location of the hotel is good – it is at the end of the Cenang beach so expect to walk a few minutes to get to e.g the mall but with Grab you can easily get around on the beach for only a few ringgits.

Conclusion: a good resort hotel with rooms that are a bit dark and old school, but the bed was comfortable and the location is good. Absolutely a hotel to consider if you want a beach getaway and want to stay at Cenang beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
gavinxyz wrote a review Sept 2020
Penang Island, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is at the end of Cenang Beach which is more quiet. Around 15mins from Airport and Grabcar are available which cost around RM10-12 only. There are many Grabcar around also and transportation is not an issue. Walking to Cenang Mall is around 20mins which along the way have any eating places and convenience shops and shopping.
Staff here are very friendly and they really make sure the guests are comfortable and always check if the guests need anything. Special to the 2 ladies staff that help me to check-in earlier and provide me with the Lakeview Room. Very much appreciated.
Due to now is the pandemic period, no buffet breakfast is served but is a set breakfast. The CBA has western style while the Spice Market is local style. Tried both and I personally found the CBA is more friendly and there is a guy checking with all the guests if anyone need anything extra. At this point, the Lobby cafe, Pelangi Lounge, is offering takeaway too with price range from RM12 to 18, which is good value for those need a quick bite.
Although the room and facilities is not totally new, but most of them and very well-kept. You can see the beach and seaside is cleaning everyday and it is a huge private beach for the guests. Resort area is big but with buggy service if you do not want to walk. 2 Pools available and middle is 1 big lake and 1 small lake too.
Only have a few feedbacks and hope can be improved. The room on second floor, the staircase area is very dark and it may not suitable for elderly. The night light below the minibar counter in the room is not bright enough and have to on another light which make the room is too bright. I believe is using tube type will be better compare to light bulb. Used the Cascade Pool also and notice that the wood sun loungers there is a bit old and many ants around on the chairs and tables too. I am not sure if the hotel offer shuttle to Cenang area, if not maybe in future the hotel and set a few time in the evening to offer the guests with shuttle to Cenang Mall etc as the walking need around 20 to 30mins and it is very dark at night.
In short, had a great time at Pelangi and hope to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clement Paul, General Manager at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Dear gavinxyz, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments with regards to the lighting in rooms and sun loungers is duly noted and has been shared with our team to further improve. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to another memorable holiday in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mudcow wrote a review Sept 2020
Ferrara, Italy
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · The staff at the resort were excellent, of particular note were Mr Ong from reception and Norafiza the cleaner who did an incredible job. Norafiza achieved a perfect balance between cleaning effectively and not being invasive with the tidying.
Many of the photos online are out of date and some on Google paint a really bad picture. The "kids" pool is absolutely excellent although both pools suit children. The SOPs are properly enforced and not over the top as in some hotels.
The "takeaway" option for food is truly excellent value for money. It is 10RM for a club sandwich or 14RM for spaghetti bolognaise that you can enjoy on your balcony. Exactly the same dish will cost 3 times as much in the restaurant or even more if you have it delivered to your room. Feeding a family of 4 for 50RM is excellent value for a 5* resort.
The bar tariff is variable but the happy hour means that a "pint" (actually 500ml) of draught Carlsberg can be had for as little as 19Rm at the right time. Given that a chilled orange squash is 18RM this is excellent value for money.
The lake rooms are lovely, we had 2102 and 2013 and the children loved feeding the fish in the lake. Suitable fish food can be purchased from the supermarket 200m down the road from the hotel. Interconnecting rooms are only available on the ground floor and due to the wooden construction there is some noise from above. This was only a minor issue on one night when there appeared to be a number of athletic children in the room above but thankfully they went to bed at about the same time as our kids.

Disliked · Check in was initially a complete muck around, I had been nervous before as interconnecting rooms were essential but even 4 hours before check in the hotel had refused to say whether or not they would meet this request. Sadly the lady "assisting" us was little help demanding that my 2 year old complete a form declaring that he hadn't been overseas in the last 14 days. Had he been then he would have been in a quarantine station and not a resort in Langkawi! After being messed around a little and all the forms disappearing without completion (while I was having to move my car to the other side of the resort) Mr Ong stepped in. He was the consummate professional and glided us through check in and to our rooms.
The breakfast charge of 75RM per person per day through booking.com is crazy. We added breakfast on an ad hoc basis on 2 days, each day it was 80RM for the 4 of us as our children are young rather than the 300RM that booking.com wanted! The breakfast was reasonable, homemade hash browns were nice and there are Asian or Western options depending upon which restaurant you go to. The Western option seemed to be much more popular.
Sadly the crazy golf and mini-farm were closed to "avoid crowding".
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms are only on the ground floor of lake rooms so be prepared for some noise...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clement Paul, General Manager at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Responded 5 Sept 2020
Dear mudcow, Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed feedback. Your comments with regards to the arrival process as well as breakfast rates displayed on booking.com are duly noted and will be shared with our respective team members to rectify and improve. Unfortunately the requests for adjoining rooms and bed types are subject to availability, therefore we were not able to confirm or deny upon enquiry. The information with regards to guest declaration is a requirement with the new norm check in procedures therefore all guests and children are required to have these filled by parents and guardians. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip W wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although it is a nice hotel with a nice location right on the beach, walking distance into Pentai Cenang.
When you charge a certain price for a room then that comes with high expectations which in our opinion simply were not met. We were early to check in (12pm) so perhaps we were handed one of the substandard rooms. As we encountered a number of problems with the room itself. Nothing major and nothing to cause major problems but overall you would not expect in a 5 star hotel and not all in the one room at the same time.
In my opinion the chalet rooms are nice but outdated and need freshening up.
In our room the TV was broken and wouldn't turn on so we had to get someone in to fix it, the toilet wouldn't stop flushing when you pressed it. The toilet seat didn't fit the toilet bowl so it felt like it was broken every time somebody sat on it. The rain shower dripped on you when you were having a normal shower which was annoying, the fridge didn't cool items down and was more of a chiller.
Like I say nothing major but when you add them all up it is not worth what we paid, We also asked for some extra bed sheets and we had to ask several times to get them, I think they arrived on our 3rd night. Often we asked to have the room cleaned while we were out as we have kids and they nap at a certain time but we would return and the room had not been cleaned which again wasn't major but in a 5 star hotel these things are addressed.
We had breakfast in both CBA and Spice Market
Maybe it was the time of year (Chinese New Year) but it was incredibly busy in the Spice Market and not very comfortable to sit and enjoy breakfast, rather than being Asian focused we found a lot of the food to be geared towards Chinese tastes as many of the guests were from China.
CBA was a much nicer setting on the beach and we were able to sit and enjoy our breakfast with a sea view, we found the food to be cold though when it was placed in those breakfast trays that are supposed to keep the food warm so we stuck to cold food such as cereals, fruit and youghurt and freshly cooked eggs and omelettes which were nice. The bubbles with breakfast is a nice touch and if you are a champagne/sparkling wine drinker then you will enjoy this included with your breakfast.
We had a few nights in CBA and the staff and the drinks were great, we ate here at the beach BBQ on our first night and it was 168 ringit per person which was massively overpriced considering what was actually served up. The staff at CBA were great though and really friendly and helpful as were the live band who played each night. We enjoyed this place the most in the hotel.
Nice pool for the kids with a dinosaur theme and the gym was good and seemed to be well maintained, although no hand towels for wiping down the equipment.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday and Langkawi as a place is stunning, especially for sunset and beach lovers, however we feel that Meritus Pelangi Resort is way overpriced for what it is and I would suggest looking at alternative places but that is just my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wanazainal wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
And i mean it! 3D2N is not enough! We traveled with youngest, 2 months old to eldest 78 years old and all take care off! A warm and cosy place, not overpopulated. Mostly old couples and family with young kids. Where do we begin? For the sake of the kids, the pool, definitely caught our eyes. We can laze for 1/2 a day just by the pool or by the beach, clean and soft sand.
Buggy rides to our "home" just a call away. The kids loved the in house animal farm, though it can get noisy with all the squawking from the birds across our room. Rooms are well lit, and you can opt to use fan or aircon which is a plus point as the aircon will make some noise in the middle of the night.
Had breakfast at the same place for both mornings, asian and western dishes. Tasty and hearty, quite a spread to fuel up for the day. Fresh watermelon juice was superb, also the availability of a few self serve coffee machines.
Downside, the flooring of our room was sooo slippery, i believe they polished it before we came in? So the bedroom slippers was of no use because we can literally glide or moon walk to and fro. The kids tripped a few times while just walking 🤷
In all, will definitely come again in the future and try other facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Depends where you wanna be, we stayed at rooms 2200s with the lake view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Euswary Shanchi... K wrote a review Jun 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I travelled with my family on June 2020 and stayed for 3 days 2 nights. We booked 3 rooms. 2 lake view and 1 garden terrace view.

Upon arrival, we were greated by friendly staffs and we were allowed to check in super early. We reached around 1pm to register and drop off baggage but we were able to check in right away which was a much needed perk as we drove from KL to Kuala Perlis hence we are super thankful for being able to check in early, get some rest and move on with the rest of the activities for the day.

The registration was fast and they provided us with complimentary drinks. We were also given free upgrade for 2 of our rooms from lake view to pool view which was amazing and great. Thanks Meritus! :) The staffs were very helpful, friendly and polite.

The rooms were beautiful! The pool side room had direct access to the pool. I've requested the 2 lake view rooms to be side by side and the staff has provided us with connecting rooms in the upgraded room which was very convenient for my parents and my siblings. The garden terrace room was private and quiet hence it was very suitable for my husband and I. The room was spacious and the toilet was huge. The bed and pillow was comfortable and the view were calming. Our rooms were at the opposite ends with the lobby being in the middle. Internally the hotel is huge and can be explored. They provide buggy services for transportation and commute of guests whose rooms are further in.

The hotel located right at the Cenang beach hence we had direct access to the beach. Due to the Covid, the pools were still off limit. The access to beach was amazing with the view and the decorations. There is a restaurant called CBA which plays live bands in the evening. It was very beautiful and we enjoyed our beach time. We are provided with beach towels and there are showers in the pool area for us to wash up after the beach. It was an easy access, very convenient and beautiful scenery.

Breakfast was ala carte due to Covid. We were greated by friendly, attentive staffs. The restaurant was beautiful.

My mother accidentally misplaced her hand phone which was found by another guest and they staffs kept it safe. They ensured proper verification was done to ensure it was my mother's phone before giving it to her which is great as this shows they are particular and does through check rather than blindly giving it away.

The check out process was fast as well and once again the friendly staffs were very helpful with the baggage and everything.

I was not looking forward to check out because this was such a beautiful place and experience and it makes us want to come back once again. It helped us to relax from our hectic schedule and provide us calming serene feeling.

Thank you Meritus for the lovely experience and amazing premise! We'll be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joseph Wong wrote a review Oct 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me & my wife stayed here for 5 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Requested for room decoration and it was fullfilled with room upgrade to Lake View. Service was superb. I was greeted the moment I arrived & stepped out from my taxi. We were escorted to the lobby lounge and all check-in procedures was done there while we are sitting without having to queue at the front desk. Very good & strict Covid S.O.P is observed at all times without inconveniencing the guest. Room is spacious & clean with a spacious balcony. The bathroom was spacious too. This resort is huge with very beautiful landscaped garden. We felt so relaxed by just walking around the resort compound and also lazing at our balcony with birds chirping and squirrels running around. Wifi is reasonable with a speed of 10 mbps but very weak signal at the Spice Market Restaurant. Breakfast at at the restaurant was excellent. Food is delicious with halal variety of western and asian dishes. Restaurant staffs are very efficient in getting you a seat and to clear your plates everytime. Infact all the hotel staffs (every dept) are so efficient, friendly and well trained. You can be assured you will always be greeted at all times everywhere in the hotel. This hotel is so perfect that I can't find anything to complained about. There is so much thing to praise about this hotel and their staff and the list is too long to be written here.
Lastly, special thanks to the GE Manager Ms Maygie Gui for all the arrangement done hence creating such a memorable anniversary and unforgettable holiday for us. I truly appreciate all your effort and to the rest of the staffs.. thank you to all of you. You guys are excellent !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clement Paul, General Manager at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear Josephwong74, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments will be shared with our team. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the Resort and its services and we look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations in the near future. Thank you once again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laineyloo1966 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hailsham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here between city stops for a bit of relaxation. The location and setting were stunning, beautiful long, wide white sandy beach, which most of the time was not busy with people. We had been upgraded to a lakeside chalet which overlooked a lovely lake with central fountains. The room was a good size with a large bathroom, and the bed was enormous. Large balcony provided a lovely spot to watch the local wildlife. We saw hornbills, monitor lizards and monkeys all from our balcony! Staff were all very helpful and cheerful. We did not use the hotel restaurants as they were more expensive than the ones just outside the hotel, although they were still good value compared to UK prices. Would definitely go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Lakeside or seaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
arnie321 wrote a review Sept 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As a regular traveller to Langkawi this was our first trip since COVID-19 and the relaxation of travel restrictions in Malaysia. The hotel is operating within the government restrictions placing some restaurants and the swimming pool out of bounds. Despite the low occupancy numbers in this hotel check was not available until 1500hrs unless I opted for a twin bed room, this meant a 3 hour wait having arrived from KL at 1200hrs. 48hrs before check in the hotel reservations team told me early check in was available. The check in staff led me to believe I’d be upgraded to a beach front room for the inconvenience, 3 hours later we where booked into a garden terrace. Breakfast was an absolute joke even though the restaurant was not busy the staff could not grip the service ordering from a menu set of Asian, Continental, American or Vegetarian, it took 15 minutes for the coffee to arrive in a dirty cup and 55 minutes for the food, really unacceptable. The staff would not allow any menu items to be swapped out and simply refused to allow me to have mushrooms with my Asian breakfast set. The bill for the non included breakfast beverage sparkling water RM20 was the most rapid thing during our breakfast experience-delivered in minutes.
The CBA beach bar was also not ready for post lockdown guests with many cocktail menu items unavailable, strawberry daiquiri “cannot no strawberries” mojito ? “cannot no mint” All in all the Pelangi seemed poorly prepared to receive guests post MCO (Malaysia lockdown) I hope to see marked improvement when I return late July.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clement Paul, General Manager at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Responded 5 Sept 2020
Dear arnie321, Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed feedback. Your comments will be shared with our team to further improve. Check in is 1500hrs however if the rooms are ready and available we are more than happy to allow early check in but at this instance only a twin bedded room was available therefore we offered this option to your good self. Please be assured that measures have been put in place since your initial visit early June. The cocktail requested was an item out of the menu, therefore due to limitations we were not able to provide as per your request however if we had ingredients at hand, our team is more than happy to oblige. We believe you have been back since June to stay with us and trust you had a memorable stay. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back to a further improved holiday experience. Thank you once again for your feedback , every constructive comment gives us opportunity to learn and improve further in terms of service and product.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Bobi Filipčev
Skopje, Republic of North Macedonia65 contributions59 helpful votes
Not sure exactly. We stayed at a refurbished ocean view bungalow/suite building number 13, very close to the pool, restaurants and lobby. I believe that the bigger ones with separate bedrooms were very close. Hope you find this answer helpful
Answer from DJW64
Oxford, United Kingdom196 contributions241 helpful votes
We only are breakfast here which was very good and to a very good standard. There are plenty of restaurants nearby which are very good but depending on your definition of 5 star when we are talking about Malaysian restaurants and market stalls may not be quite like a restaurant in Mayfair in London but we certainly enjoyed the food, especially the Happy restaurant which is very near the Pelangi Beach.
diannefmelbourne asked a question Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia212 contributions104 helpful votes
Is there an adult only pool and if so where is it situated within the grounds?
Answer from gaza26
Cheltenham, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
As of l June 2023, no adult only pool. But the main pool has an water park for kids right next to it, so the kids tend to be at that pool. So there were generally no kids in the Cascades pool but, there wasn't a definitive adults only pool. It was a lovely resort!
evon Y wrote a tip 5 Jul
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"most of its swimming pool are closed. the reception team are very mean and racist"
Read full review
mohammad k wrote a tip Jun 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you don't want your money to be stolen don't come to this hotel, they open the safe and replace the 100$ to 1$ , I got stealed for 1300$"
Read full review
Edgar wrote a tip May 2024
Mumbai, India80 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use grab for transportation, it's fast & cheap. Eat at the Pentai Tengah strip, avoid the Cenang restaurants. "
Read full review
Carole P wrote a tip May 2024
Sydney29 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room with an island view……it’s the best view of all the rooms"
Read full review
Liane G wrote a tip Apr 2024
Aalborg, Denmark104 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Grab works perfect in Malaysia. Malaysia is a wonderful country to visit. We don’t see many Europeans.. please don’t hesitate to come."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pantai Cenang area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 791 - RM 1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
meritus pelangi beach resort & spa, langkawi hotel pantai cenang, meritus pelangi beach resort and spa, langkawi, meritus pelangi beach langkawi, meritus pelangi beach resort langkawi, pelangi beach resort langkawi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa
LOCATION
MalaysiaKedahLangkawi DistrictLangkawiPantai Cenang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
355
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PELANGI BEACH RESORT & SPA, LANGKAWI (R̶M̶ ̶9̶6̶1̶) RM 810: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 7,279 Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Which popular attractions are close to Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Nearby attractions include Langkawi Wildlife Park (8.0 km), Langkawi Night Market (6.7 km), and Eagle Square (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Conveniently located restaurants include Al Medan Syria Restaurant, Gallo Nero Italian Restaurant, and Haroo+.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi have airport transportation?
Yes, Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Indonesian, and Malay.
All Pantai Cenang HotelsPantai Cenang Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pantai CenangHotels near Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire