We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forest Hotel

Booking.comUS$105*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$130*
US$105*
US$130*
US$130*
US$105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Forest Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

When to this hotel restaurant today and ordered a minute steak (for £12.50) for lunch, when the steak arrived I genuinely thought it was a prank. The steak had been hammered to about 2 mm in thickness and was no more than 4 inch in length, more of a minute (minuscule) than a minute steak! I have had many minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daamaro
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

This is the first criticism that we have had for this dish which fills a niche on our menu for guests who are looking for a smaller steak and it is extremely popular, we use a 4 oz single muscle rump. I am sorry that you did not feel it was large enough or take us up on our offer...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

My wife and i have a wonerful stay at the forest, the king size room we had was very spacious, clean & well appointed. The standard of the meal we had in the restaurant was supurb as were the staff especially Alicia who also served our first class breakfast.her warm smile and friendly manner nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianw1154
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would clone Alicia if it was possible, she is so lovely!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

On arriving at the hotel I checked into my room and went into the restaurant for dinner. I had eaten here before and was blown away the first time by the standard of food combined with the flawless service of the staff. My expectations were not disappointed. My room was lovely and spacious and impeccably clean. The breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, it really matters to us all and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Birmingham
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Used to love the food here but just had awful fish and chips. The fish had been baked and the batter was tough and inedible, petit pois and oven baked chips both from the freezer. It could have come from Sainsburys next door. Service wasn't good either. Won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh99
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

What a terrible title and one that I firmly disagree with, I have a wonderful team of hard working, passionate chefs striving to cook our customers great food. You have left not having enjoyed your meal but also left us feeling frustrated and disappointed as you did not give us the chance, while you were here, to rectify anything. It...

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We had an amazing day and we would like to thank the whole team for ensuring our wishes were followed and the day ran smoothly. The room itself was magical and the set up throughout the day was amazing. All three looks (ceremony, meal, evening party) were absolutely stunning and the room was just right for our guests and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyZ1000se
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My wife and I recently stayed here for two nights, a Thursday and a Friday. The staff were mostly young, enthusiastic, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Our only problem was with noise. The hotel is in a small commuter town, and directly opposite the railway station. A previous review on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephengeorge57
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Bank Holiday Monday evening meal was excellent. Delicious food served by extremely professional and helpful gentleman waiter. Nothing was too much trouble; he took time to explain everything we asked about in such a friendly and courteous manner. We noticed a discount on the bill and were informed it was a special offer for weekdays in August we knew nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley N
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your constructive review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit to us

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I recently visited The Forest with my girlfriend, and was extremely satisfied with the overall experience. We stayed in Room 7, which was well-appointed and benefited from a ceiling fan to ensure that we enjoyed an excellent night's sleep - if you are worried about the hotel's proximity to the railway across the road then don't be; we didn't hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunts_11
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I recently stayed at The Forest Hotel when my girlfriend and I spent the weekend in the area. First off, we found it very easy to get to, only being a short drive from Birmingham. We were greeted very warmly by Tracy the owner and shown to our very lovely room. It was really hot last Saturday and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie E
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to write about us

Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I have never stayed in the Forest Hotel and always presumed that it was fairly average but over many years I have had to arrange rooms for overseas visitors. The hotel was very convenient for my home, at the time, but initially I thought that I was 'short changing' my visitors when I arranged a room at the Forest Hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Xenathon13
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you have experienced all areas from bedrooms to the food and bar and appreciated the whole experience, I appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
1.8 km away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
805 reviews
4.0 km away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
2.3 km away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
Greswolde Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knowle
341 reviews
5.2 km away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Forest Restaurant
The Forest Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
12 bedroomed privately owned boutique hotel with a restaurant listed in Good Food Guide and Michelin serving modern european food in relaxed surroundings. Buzzy bar with an interesting wine list and 3 real ales. Great position for NEC and Birmingham International Airport, opposite Dorridge station with direct links to London Marylebone and Birmingham Moor Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Address: 25 Station Approach, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Price Range: RM567 - RM722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Forest Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 - ceiling fan very good”
Hunts_11, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 was ace!”
jamiee949, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 8 and 10 for noise, not sure about the other ones”
GBZASING, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Opposite Dorridge train station easy commute to Solihull, Birmingham, London”
BK1875, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 10 if you want a nice view.”
AndrewH937, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$105* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$130
TripAdvisorUS$105
Hotels.comUS$130
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates