We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Black Bull Inn

    Northside, Matfen NE20 0RP, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in MatfenSee available hotels in Matfen
    Traveller (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Overview
    • Excellent81%
    • Very good9%
    • Average0%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (13 reviews)
    “sunday lunch” (6 reviews)
    “warm welcome” (7 reviews)
    Public Wifi
    Free Parking
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (76)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 76 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Visited with a group of friends on a Hadrian's Wall walk. Lovely food in a fantastic setting. Then stood at bar having drink with owner who was so friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. A couple of friends arrived at 10.30 and he offered to quickly cook...More

    Thank Woods833
    Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 5 days ago

    Thanks for your lovely review. Your party was a delight to serve and were a great addition to our Thursday dining club! I hope the weather (snow) wasn’t too atrocious and we’re pleased you made the walk successfully. Call again next time you’re up this...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Called in at The Black Bull for Sunday lunch yesterday, 3rd December 2017, first time there. Quite small inside, look larger from the outside. Real fires which given it was a cold day were welcomed. Good range of beers and a very well presented and...More

    Thank Steve_Ellwood_13
    Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your very positive review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you call in again soon. Alison

    Reviewed 26 September 2017

    Highly recommended! Go out of your way for Sunday lunch at this pub! Although we booked a table for 9 and arrived with 10 full-grown people, our extra person was readily accommodated by a local giving up his regular table with great good humour. The...More

    Thank suecassidyburgin
    Response from Alison C, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 3 October 2017

    Thanks for that positive review. We enjoyed your table’s company very much. Do call again.

    Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

    We dropped in here at the weekend, hoping for evening food. Unfortunately, they had just changed to winter hours a few days before, and were not doing food that evening. However, the landlord and landlady, Nige and Ali, couldn't have been more friendly and helpful,...More

    Thank foxale
    Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 19 September 2017

    Thanks for that lovely review and sorry you missed out on our food. That is the challenge of being a "hidden gem" I suppose. Do call back again when you're next up proper North. We'd love to see Ellie's ears again! Ali

    Reviewed 7 September 2017

    I have eaten fabulous meals in restaurants, pubs and cafes before but never felt compelled to write a review….that is until I sampled the delights on offer during the Black Bull's 'Spanish night' last Thursday. The food was amazing, cooked fresh, locally sourced (or locally...More

    Thank yfullwood
    Response from Ali_Patta, Owner at Black Bull InnResponded 8 September 2017

    Thank you so much for your positive review. I am really pleased you enjoyed our experiments in Spanish food - we had another customer in that night who regularly travels extensively through Spain and was also really impressed by the authentic nature of the food....More

    Jesmond Dene House
    1,171 reviews
    #4 of 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
    22.9 km
     
    Battlesteads Hotel
    1,183 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Wark
    17.7 km
     
    Walwick Hall
    153 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Humshaugh
    13 km
     
    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,182 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
    21.7 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Northumberland >
    • Matfen
    • Also Known As
    • Black Bull Hotel Matfen
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (10)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Robin Hood Inn
    237 reviews
    4.05 km away
    Queens Head Inn
    94 reviews
    2.72 km away
    Errington Arms
    271 reviews
    5.38 km away
    Vallum Restaurant & Chef’s Room
    213 reviews
    4.10 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Go Ape at Matfen Hall
    110 reviews
    .90 km away
    Belsay Hall and Gardens
    484 reviews
    8.47 km away
    Corbridge Roman Town
    364 reviews
    8.56 km away
    Shepherds Dene
    10 reviews
    10.42 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Neil H
    23 March 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Alison C | Property representative |
    We are very dog friendly and have lots of equine visitors in summer. By "pet", what species do you mean? I wouldn't fancy meeting your pet tarantula or rat... 😨 Cheers Alison
    0
    Votes
    Vanessa A
    3 November 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Alison C | Property representative |
    Sorry Vanessa, we do not have rooms here. Thanks for the enquiry.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Not applicable to our visit - we did not stay overnight but just visited the pub which is recommended."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing